We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Im very fussy but this is Excellent & I will stay there again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #47 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Im very fussy but this is Excellent & I will stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Firstly people who get on this site & virtually write one or two sentences whether good or bad are not doing any favors for people who want a decent review due to certain requirements. Im very fussy when it comes to hotels. I require 4 things. A non smoking hotel, properly cleaned rooms, windows or balcony doors to open for fresh air and location. I got all of this from Medina in Queen St. I booked 2 rooms, 2 months in advance. I was floor 16 with my friend and we had rooms 101 & 104 (studio Queen Rooms) they had small kitchenetts with the usual mimi bar but to have a microwave was a bonus. They were very clean. And due to the fact I have sinus problems I cannot sleep in a room with aircon all the time with no fresh air. The fact they had a window I could open for fresh air was a big tick for me. The location is fantastic, 1 block over and 1 block down to the Bourke St mall. Westpac ATM was on an opposite corner, along with a 24hr convienience store across the street. And a taxi rank the moment you stepped out the door of the hotel. Straight across the street & about 10mtrs further was Hardware Lane. This was filled with cafe and resturants and a wonderful bar underground called Charlies. At the end of this lane to the right side was a fantastic cafe called "That Place" it did wonderful breakfasts and lunches which consist of free range eggs and mornington baked beans! The food was local and fresh. From our rooms at night we did hear the odd bit of noise from the street but nothing from the hotel. No noise from the lifts or the other rooms. Harry at the front desk was always polite and very helpfull. My friend was sick at one stage and he informed me of the nearest chemist the next block away. Roughly 4 block over and you have hit Flinders St with the Central Stationa and Trams. I highly recommend the Medina Grand, Queen St Melbourne and this is my choice for a 4-41/2 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bunn107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    818
    231
    61
    34
See reviews for
510
608
87
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Good central location. Bad points: Room was very small. Staff were not very helpful. Could hear the noises from next room and street.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxzoomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham, West Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed here for 5 days with 7 girlfriends in 2 x 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom apts. As mentioned in previous posts the location is excellent and the apartments are a decent size. The staff at reception were helpful and overall the experience was positive. The one issue was the showers had no water pressure and it was difficult to keep an even temperature when standing under the trickle- it was mostly cold if I'm honest! As you can appreciate when there are 8 of us trying to get ready to go out this was a nightmare as we could only shower in one bathroom in each apt at a time. I also had a room next to the lift. This wasn't a problem for me as living up north I am used to constant noise from industrial a/c. You would have to be a very light sleeper for it to be a nuisance. I would stay here again if it was a good price but probably not with a group as the shower issue wasn't fun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L.Northam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed for three nights in a one bedroom apartment (Oct 2010). The apartment was spacious, clean and furniture was in good condition, not particularly exciting but decent for the money paid

Pros - Great central CBD location and also quiet. Apartment was spacious enough for two people. Good value for money

Cons - Shower over bath (plastic bath that didn’t feel very strong when you were standing on it). Pool area was not very appealing. Check in was a little slow.

I would recommend this accommodation for groups of friends if you need central accommodation but aren’t going to spend much time there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deltasmelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

The Medina Grand serviced apartments in Queen Street are only a 5 minute walk from the Bourke Street Mall, making this an ideal choice for business or leisure travellers. The rooms are modern (bathrooms a little dated, but very clean and functional), tastefully decorated and very large, with a well-supplied kitchen.
The rooms fronting Queen Street have private balconies.
Check-in was fast and efficient, and, although there is no onsite restaurant, food can be delivered direct to the apartment. Also, the breakfast at the cafe next door is highly recommended and can be charged to your room (get a voucher from reception). One minor downside was that there were no full block-out curtains or blinds in the bedroom, which made it awkward to sleep in after sunrise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneysider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

I spent 2 weeks at the Medina on a business trip. The hotel is well located and the apartments are roomy and well set out . The staff were always helpful and cheery. Two drawbacks were that I found it difficult to sleep beyond sunrise most mornings because there were no block out curtains on most of the windows; and there is no onsite food. No restaurant and no room service. There is an offsite delivery service but the food quality wasn't good. There are plenty of cafes open during the day and quite a few restaurants at night, but for a solo female travelling on business, the food options upon returning from work late at night were limited.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

This was a great place to stay, with easy access to all of Melbourne's main attractions. The staff were very helpful and there are loads of places to eat at within easy walking distance. It's particularly useful that there are several home delivery menus in the apartment, and it is possible to order for delivery directly to the apartment. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGuru71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#38 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing