We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel Medina Grand Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #46 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average Hotel Medina Grand Melbourne”
Reviewed October 23, 2008

My girlfriend and I recently stayed in this hotel which was a Saturday night, it was on a hot day of about 28 degrees. We had checked in and then showed to our room. The room was comfortable and clean but it was very hot in there. Tried turning on the air-conditionder and still nothing. We called reception to tell them and they said they will send someone up. We went to get a bite to eat and was gone for 15 minutes and returned and the room was still hot. Called reception again and the man said that someone has already been to your room and fixed it and I said no they have not. We then got a knock on our door saying did you know that the air-conditioner is broken and we said no. They offered us 2 small portable fans and we said it is quite hot could you please move us to another room? They said we only have 2 bedroom apartments left and that this is not possible, had to offer them extra money then the man said he will see what he can do. After waiting for 45mins I called reception and asked what was happening and they said that they are going to move us to another room and that they new all along that the air-conditioner was broken. Eventually moved into a simaler room. We checked out the next morning and we had to wait for the manager as he wanted to talk to us, he asked us if we had anyone else in our room and did we use the dishwasher and I had no clue what he was talking about but we felt very offended and I will never stay or recommend this hotel to anyone. The guy at reception was even laughing over the phone like a smart [--]when we tried to sort the air-conditioning problem. Not nice service at all.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Charls25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    897
    244
    67
    41
See reviews for
556
675
97
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

The Medina Grand is a great hotel, with excellent friendly staff and close location to the Victoria Markets and main city shopping area. We stayed here for 5 nights and our room was smart and very modern looking. The mini-apartment room was great minus the broken leg on the table. If you stay here you must check out Hardware Lane which is a 2 minute walk down the road - it is packed full with great littler restaurants and the atmosphere on Friday through to Sunday nights is great with live music and candle lit tables.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank perthy_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We booked a three bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment and was totally happy with our room. All the bedrooms were large with their own TV's. The bathrooms were also of a very good size and we had a separate laundry. Everything was very modern and clean and lounge/kitchen/dining was huge with big floor to ceiling windows.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and I thought this the hotel was in a great location with lots of cafes nearby and just two blocks away from Bourke Street mall.

  • Liked — The size of our apartment, it was modern and clean
  • Disliked — At the time there were roadworks directly outside which restricted taxis from pulling up but this was over a temporary glitch.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alchsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was very impressed by the layout of the room, very tasteful and spacious despite only having asked for the most basic of rooms.

Good location, and very quiet. Would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Inflexible Checkout TIme
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathrakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom corner apartment in March. It was great --- nice, comfortable, king-sized bed, ultra-quiet room and the best location!

Hardware Lane is just a 2 minute walk away. I had the best spaghetti marinara I've ever eaten. But I just love Melbourne.

The only thing I thought could have been better is the included extras in the bathroom. Only the basics were included, and for the money we were paying, I expected a little more than just shampoo, conditioner and soap. The hair-dryer was also poor but reception were able to get a better one for me to borrow.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No little extras
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights. The hotel is in a great location and close for shopping and trams/trains. The other positives were: large well equipped units; staff very friendly and helpful; good security; great noodle place across the road! Now, the not so good was: pillows harder than rock and this was a comment made by all four staying at the time - made sleeping so hard; main bedroom very noisy at night as near nightclubs and you hear all the drunks leaving; couldn't get adequate information from the front desk on trams; ultra limited cable (Discover and 2 Fox sports channels) even though it is listed on all website as having full cable. Hard to say if we would stay again. Loved the size of the units and location but was sleep deprived after the two nights.

  • Liked — Location and size of units
  • Disliked — Noise and horrendous pillows - like rock
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank GillyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2008

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the Medina Grand Melbourne for two nights. The room was quite spacious. The kitchen utensils and dishwasher had been well used but were still clean and in good working order. There was a 4 seat dining table, the lounge was clean and there was a good size TV. The shower was a step up into the bath arrangement. The vanity in the bathroom was huge and there was a washing machine and dryer in this room as well. The air-conditioning worked very well. The room was very clean. My room had no real view as can be seen from the photos. My two main complaints are 1. no heavy curtains in the room – only sheers and there are office buildings which can see into the room and 2. I found the bed and pillows quite hard. .

The location was the best part of the hotel. An easy walk to Bourke St Mall and city shopping or to Crown Casino, Southbank area and the Yarra River. The restaurants on Hardware Lane are also just down the road. It was convenient for catching public transport.

I arrived an hour earlier than check in and my room was ready. Check in and out was very fast and efficient. The staff on reception were also very helpful.

Overall a nice hotel as a base to see Melbourne.

  • Liked — location, everything was very clean
  • Disliked — hard pillow, bed and sheer curtains
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kangalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,517 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
4,808 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing