We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and spacious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #48 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central and spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was in a great location and we had a decent sized 2bdrm apartment. Shared with my partner and 2 singles, we were pleasantly surprised to find that each room was separate from the living area had their own en suites.
It was a generally comfortable set up and very handy having a fully kitchen.
A few issues though: The beds were quite hard; The housekeepers were really late (up to around 4pm) and often forgot to replace towels, coffee etc (had to keep calling reception for things to be done); If someone was showering, the water would run scolding hot or freezing cold if the taps were turned on anywhere else in the apartment (kitchen, other en suite, toilet); The water pressure wasn't that great and the heated pool was quite cold.
The restaurant downstairs was great, reasonably priced, decent food, had friendly staff and room service was quick.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are less noisy but no point in paying heaps more for levels 17 + as are mostly the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    842
    235
    63
    37
See reviews for
517
633
89
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't say anything better about these serviced apartments situated right in the city centre! They are amazing, spacious and affordable! And check out the cafe/restaurant down stairs- perfect for a light meal and amazing cocktails (they taste like the cocktails in Europe)- next Melbourne trip will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hospitality_critic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria T, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Hospitality_critic89,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful review. The team and I are glad that we could provide you with the perfect setting for your ‘girls weekend away’.

I totally agree, that the restaurant (Queen Street Rescue) provide meals and beverages that rival their counterparts in Europe, rest assured that I will pass on this wonderful feedback to the restaurant team.

On your next trip to Melbourne we hope to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne.

Many Thanks

Alexandria Tibbetts
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel and would recommend it for those wishing an apartment rather than a small hotel room. It was a spacious one bedroom apartment but still had all the facilities and customer service of a hotel. Well appointed and situated right in the CBD.

Room Tip: Adina has great views from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria T, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mary D,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!

Myself and the team are pleased to read that not only you enjoyed the location of the hotel, but our Apartments created the perfect setting for you to enjoy your recent trip to Melbourne. We strive to provide our valued guests a “home away from home” combined with all the luxuries of staying in a fully serviced hotel.

On behalf of the team and myself we look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne soon!

Many Thanks

Alexandria Tibbetts
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in Adina Melbourne on the 4th of July for 3 days..Very good location.easy access to cbd, tram n taxi (infront of the hotel). nice room, very comfty bed. very good hotel except for the shower very slow not enough pressure. friendly staff. over all i enjoyed my stay. will recommend to all

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Ganda23,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

The team and I are pleased with to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the location, room and bed. Great feedback in relation to the team being friendly, as the team strives to create a great experience for all guests.

Part of our commitment to save valuable resources includes our showers being fitted with water saving shower heads. I will be sharing this feedback during our upcoming team meeting and will be addressing with the relevant departments.

If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at adina Melbounre on the 8th of July. After check out I noticed my bank balance had a "pending payment" of $50 for adina. I called & asked why, they informed me it was a "security deposit" and it would be back into account on Friday.
It's now Sunday & it still hasn't been cleared.
Not good enough, I was not told at check-in or check-out that they would be holding a security deposit. I needed that money for the school holidays. Will not be staying there again or recommending it to anyone. Oh, and the bath/shower was dirty & the mini bar was empty..very unhappy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessjyejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Jessjyejosh,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne. I am disappointed to read that you did not receive the service that we expect of our team and that we pride ourselves on.

The pre-authorisation taken on check in is held with your bank for a set number of working days depending on the bank and is held for security against any incidental charges you may accrue during your stay.

We appreciate the time taken to provide us with your comments. I will be sharing this feedback during our upcoming team meeting and will be addressing with the relevant departments.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I returned after a long absence for a weeks work in Melbourne - this place fits the bill with easy access to CBD, tram, taxi at the doorstep - warm cosy room cleaned with environmentally friendly chemical free products. Can't believe this place is so quiet and great curtains helped me sleep. a real winner with a discounted last minute rate. Lounge kitchen and dining room with mini desk allowed me to relax and work hard.

I suggest if you need a CBD location that this will fit the bill.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2010Walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria T, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear 2010Walkabout,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!

Myself and the team are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, after a long absence from the glorious city that is Melbourne. We are pleased to read that not only you enjoyed the location of the hotel but our Apartment offerings, as we aim to provide our guests with a ‘home away from home’. I have shared your positive feedback in relation to the high level of cleanliness that our housekeeping team strives daily to achieve.

On behalf of the team and myself we look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne soon!

Many Thanks

Alexandria Tibbetts
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here with some friends recently and it was perfect for our purposes - close to the CBD and anywhere else we took a tram which wasn't far. We didn't spend much time in the apartments, we had two. It was always clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Packyourbags6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria T, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Packyourbags6,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!

Myself and the team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Melbourne and that you got an opportunity to explore and experience all that Melbourne has to offer from the central CBD location of the hotel.

I have shared your positive feedback in relation to the helpful and friendly interactions received by our team and the cleanliness of our Apartments with all departments involved.

On behalf of the team and myself we look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne soon!

Many Thanks

Alexandria Tibbetts
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#63 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#40 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing