We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New facilities, great views but wonky elevators”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #49 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“New facilities, great views but wonky elevators”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I usually stay at my 'local', the Mantra which is around the corner but they were fully booked. I have stayed in Adina before but you know how preferences are. The apartments are spacious in Adina and all the facilities are near new. The location is really good if you need to be near the courts. The gm is spacious and the pool is almost always quiet.
They were servicing the elevators when i was there, which i think should have been done ages ago. Their elevator doors open even before it arrives on the actual floor. I witnessed a couple of people trip over when alighting the elevators, so i became the elevator prefect and warned guests whenever i shared the elevator.

The concierge staff are proactive and efficient. The front desk staff seemed tired, courteous but tired.

On to the food, i ate at their restaurant and if I had the energy, i would eat somewhere else. The menu looks good but the actual execution of the food is, just adequate. My wagyu burger was dry, my greek cheese was dry. And their ice cream tasted like no frills brand ice cream. Service was great though but just not impressive food.

Get a high floor on this hotel as the views would be amazing and you get less traffic noise.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    871
    240
    65
    39
See reviews for
532
661
94
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We checked into the Adina on a Thursday afternoon - the staff were friendly and efficient. When we got into our room we unfortunately noticed that there was a half-drunk Coke can in the fridge, a drinking glass missing, and a lamp broken. We dropped past reception on our way out and they were very quick to fix the issues.

Other than that the room and hotel in general were nice and clean. My partner reported good gym and pool/sauna facilities.

Noise from below was barely noticeable (we were on the 11th floor), and we slept extremely well as the queen bed was actually a queen bed - not just two singles pushed together!! A very nice change.

Downstairs the hotel has a restaurant attached called Queen Street Rescue, which also services the hotel for room service. The menu is modern Australian with some snacks, pizzas, pastas, main dishes, desserts, and an extensive breakfast menu. We ordered room service once and found them to be very quick and the food good.

Overall the staff were very courteous, the room comfortable, and a fantastic central location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our third time staying at this property...
Cannot complain, rooms are always ready to check in whatever time we arrive.
For 6 girls, it is ideal and we all get a single bed each....
everything is convenient, eg 7-11, bottle shop across the road and a cafe on the ground floor of the hotel which seemed to always be open day or night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieAdelaide_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked directly with the hotel and were given a 3 bedroom premium apartment as requested. Situated on the 20th floor, the room had spectacular views over the city. The room was very clean and well appointed. The room was serviced daily in a prompt and efficient manner. Can highly recommend the QSR restaurant located on the ground floor. The food quality is very high and the prices very reasonable. Room service is available but this can be very slow. There is no additional charge for this. We did order on one occasion and the food arrived piping hot. The bill is charged back to your room. The reception staff very courteous and obliging on all occasions that we had to deal with them. Great central location. We will certainly choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my first trip to Melbourne; if I return, I shall stay here again.
We stayed in a two bed apartment. It was well equipped with usual kitchen appliances and had complementary tea/milk etc.
The bedrooms/living room were spacious and airy, beds were comfortable, bedding of good quality.
I was impressed with the original artwork on the walls.
The location of this hotel is very good; most places can be accessed on foot. The tram is fairly close by, as are interesting alleys, cafes etc
The staff are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boubelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I only stayed here for one night only on a Friday and was very impressed. The apartment had a large, spacious bedroom, a kitchen area, lounge and bathroom. The decor was modern and the bed was very large and comfortable. There was an LED TV in both the lounge and bedroom. The hotel itself seemed very well looked after and the staff I came across were very curtious and polite.
I also loved the location. It was only a 10 min walk to Southbank or Swanston St - although the immediate area had pubs, bars and restaurants etc.

I didn't get to try the bar/restaurant on the ground floor, but it seemed popular with guests. The outdoor area in particular seemed like a nice place to relax with a drink.

I'd definitely look to stay here next time I'm in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnydayz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed at the Adina (formerly Medina Grand) many times for business & pleasure. Great location, within walking distance to everything - shopping, transport, sights. Great value considering the apt. size space, secure parking underneath. Modern, comfortable furnishings & all you need in the kitchen. Have stayed in both 1 & 2 bedroomed, 2 bathroom apartments, great for the family. Quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justcarols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,593 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#44 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing