We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medina, Good, but maybe not Grand...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #44 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Medina, Good, but maybe not Grand...”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in October on our tour of Australia, we arrived after an 11 hour train journey from Sydney, and check in was quick and easy... no porter facility, so we hauled our cases up to our apartment, which was OK... the apartment was spacious, clean and had everything, we needed... and was ... well.. OK.. nothing was really stand out.. but then again, nothing really to complain about... we needed to use the washer / dryer whilst we were staying and used in the mornings, as it was so noisy, we thought it would keep everyone on the floor awake... Housekeeping forgot us on the 2nd day, but, since it was only a quick empty bins and make beds we did not mind... If you want a a good hotel, in a good location, at a reasonable rate.. (for the area) then you could do worse... but Medina.. you could do so much better....

Room Tip: Go for a front facing room with balcony overlooking front of hotel on high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lockeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    886
    242
    66
    38
See reviews for
541
667
95
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I spent a week in this hotel, after changing from another Medina nearby, due to substandard service, and this Hotel has restored my faith in the Medina brand.

On checkin, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and gave me directions to a nearby supermarket, so I could stock up for the week ahead.

The room I was in, was on the 19th floor, it was a good size, with a HUGE bedroom, and all the necessities. The kitchen was well equipped, Clean modern furniture throughout the apartment, and large flat screen TV's in the lounge, and bedroom.
The bed was very comfortable and clean. An alarm clock with an iPhone dock was also very handy.

Whilst there, I noted that one of the lifts always stopped about 3 inches too high for the floor (so you had to step down when exiting). I reported this to the staff, and it was rectified immediately.

The location was great. Close to everything. Taxi's at the door if you need them, and many shops, and restaurants, all within a 2 minute walk.

Great place to stay if working in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly, and the location is just perfect as we went shopping both days and could walk everywhere. Our 1 bedroom apartment was on the 10th floor, it was very spacious and clean except for the large very obvious stain on the carpet. As a motel owner myself, this would not be acceptable in our small 3 star motel, so was very surprised to find this in a 4 star hotel. When my daughter and I went to bed, we found the bottom sheets on both beds did not go right down the end, so our feet were touching the mattress protector and mattress, (not a good feeling). Our room was 'serviced', but no very good. We had to request toilet paper and tissues and the sink/toilet was not touched at all. Apart from these few things, the room was great. Spacious, comfortable and a balcony with a pretty good view as well. Loved being able to open the door to get some fresh air. I was also impressed by how quiet the room was, especially at night. For being in the city centre on a Saturday night, we didn't hear a thing and had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights during the spring racing carnival and found the hotel really good overall with a few little issues.

We were in a room without a balcony (which we knew from the start) - but it would have been nice to have a room with one - as you wouldn't end up with a view of an alleyway like we did (which also contained all of the recycling and rubbish bins which were emptied nice and early in the morning).

The cleaners weren't particularly good - came home one day to find a random bag of rubbish in the middle of our bedroom (luckily it was our rubbish) but obviously the cleaner had put it down and forgotten it!

The swipe cards were useless! - took around 5 attempts each time we tried to get into our room and the lift reader wasn't much better. We eventually got where we were going, but it required a bit of patience!

Overall the hotel was nice - we had a simple 1 bedroom apartment which was really large and spacious and well set out. The kitchen was fully stocked and had all cooking facilities, and there was a washing machine in the bathroom which was very useful. The bed was large and comfy but the curtains weren't great so it was light pretty early. The bathroom was ok - shower was nice enough and there was a very small bath.

Location was brilliant - walked to Etihad Stadium and Southern Cross and Flinders Street Stations as well as the Casino (bit more of a walk, but a $10 taxi if you are feeling lazy) and right around the corner from Burke Street Mall and 5 mins from Melbourne Central Mall. Really nice little restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel (which also provides room service).

Room Tip: Go for a balcony - from looking up out our windows it looks like no-one in the alley side of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Location is very convenient but the hotel is slightly less than mediocre. Room carpet was quite dirty. Staff were all barely courteous. Expected more for the price. The only good thing was the attached cafe. Served a good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed in a studio suite for 2 nights. Was surprised at the small size of the room, but I guess they dont advertise it as an "apartment" as such, just a suite. It is really the size of a very small hotel room. Having said that, it was comfortable for my needs (business trip) and definitely in an excellent location, close to shopping, eateries and Hardware Lane with it's pubs and eateries. I do get miffed about excessive wireless internet charges and surcharges for credit card payments, but I guess a lot of hotels do this now.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a one bedroom suite if you are even remotely thinking this may be an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location. You are quite right, our Studio Rooms are similar to a hotel style room. Our One Bedroom Apartments are 60m2, our Two Bedroom Apartments are 85m2 and our Three Bedroom Apartments are 140m2. Our apartments are perfect for both a short and long stays where home style conveniences are at your fingertips.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne and hope that you will experience our larger rooms.
Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My family stayed at this Hotel which is very spacious and comfortable and so convenient to everything, trams, Queen Victoria Markets, City. Cabs are right outside the door and there are convenience stores all around. I found the hotel exceptionally quiet for right in the city and our apartment had its own little balcony which was nice for fresh air. One downside was the lounge doesn't have blockout curtains and there is a door which goes into the bedroom which is opaque and the light streams into the bedroom throughout the night. We changed rooms and they gave us a lovely room. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We were on the 12th floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room without the opaque door into the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighte you enjoyed your stay.
We are also delighted to advise you that we are undertaking an upgrade of our hotel that includes block out curtains as well as many other items like carpet, beds sofas.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4,707 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
1,660 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing