We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #37 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My family stayed at this Hotel which is very spacious and comfortable and so convenient to everything, trams, Queen Victoria Markets, City. Cabs are right outside the door and there are convenience stores all around. I found the hotel exceptionally quiet for right in the city and our apartment had its own little balcony which was nice for fresh air. One downside was the lounge doesn't have blockout curtains and there is a door which goes into the bedroom which is opaque and the light streams into the bedroom throughout the night. We changed rooms and they gave us a lovely room. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We were on the 12th floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room without the opaque door into the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighte you enjoyed your stay.
We are also delighted to advise you that we are undertaking an upgrade of our hotel that includes block out curtains as well as many other items like carpet, beds sofas.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    751
    195
    47
    27
See reviews for
458
552
74
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A good hotel centrally located one block from the main shopping precinct. Apartments have windows that open which I like - much better than stuffy air conditioned rooms at night. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I was there on a Saturday night during the spring racing carnival (Derby Day) so the night life was quite energetic and with a night club across the road, it was abit noisy around 2.30am - shut the windows... Nice staff on reception - very well trained and very pleasant and engaging.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for this fantastic feedback.

You have pointed out all the elements we strive to provide. Well located, clean and comfortable rooms with well trained, friendly and engaged team.

Thank you again and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were a large group of 20 staying in 3-4 per room. Our room was a two bedroom twin share. Lovely spacious rooms with a good kitchen and laundry facilities.
My room was however close to the lift which was a little noisy.
Our room key also failed a few times along with others in our group.
Probably just trivial matters however they can be frustrating! Overall very close to the fantastic Queen Victoria Markets which is handy to by lovely food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed the fantastic central location and the spacious rooms.

I am sorry that your group has issues with our swipe card security.

I look forward to you returning to Medina Grand Melbourne in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with a friend, end of October. We were only down from Sydney for a weekend of shopping and it was so nice at the end of each day to be able to come back to a nice clean room and relax. Everything about our room was comfortable, especially the beds. The location was quite central (and quiet) and the staff were all friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinarobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for recommending our hotel.

We are delighted you found our beds very comfortable. They are brand new and we are having some terrific feedback about them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne on your next shopping trip.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We visited Melbourne for a wedding - unfortunately the day before the Melbourne Cup. The apartment for 7 nights was good. It was cheaper than a hotel room, but much bigger and well maintained. We didn't use the facilities apart from the gym, which was of a high standard. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back so you can experience all our facilities and the great things out central location has to offer.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have stayed in a number if Melbourne Appt Hotels and the Medina is the best by far. The sound quality was excellent I didn't really hear much corridor noise let along running water from rooms close by which has been my experience at other hotels. It is a fully functioning appt, with full size kitchen very well equipped and separate bathroom rather than an en suite, the bedroom area was separate from the lounge by a door and a sliding door could keep everything shut down, and felt like a small house. The staff were great and their green strategies helped me feel better about not using too much carbon footprint.
The restaurant that offers room service called Medina rescue was a wide range of freshly cooked foods and wide range of drinks, plus great retro atmosphere for singles like me.
The lap pool is not too hot and I couldn't make the sauna go hot , however it did not impact on the trip at all
All in all ill be back

Room Tip: Consider getting food for self catering outside of the convenience store across the road which is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks so much for the great feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and it is our aim to provide a great experience to each of our guests.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights while in Melbourne for business, in a 1 bedroom apartment. It was pretty spacious for just 1 person. Very comfy bed. The bathroom was massive with a hidden internal laundry. I didn't use the kitchen much, however it was fully equipped for making meals. Although the laundry facilities were very handy, there was no clothes line or anything to hang the wet clothes up on, so ended up removing all the towels and using the towel racks, which was a bit inconvenient.
Other than that, everything else was fine. The location is great during the day, however quite dodgy at night, so I took alot of taxis at night (even for short distances). There are great little cafes and bakeries close by, but its pretty dead up that end of town at night.
I'd recommend Medina Grand for a good alternative to a hotel if you're staying for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Melbourne.

We are very proud of our apartments and all the facilities they have to offer including fully equipped kitchens and laundries complete with dryers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Flinders Street
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing