We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean room but needs some attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #46 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, clean room but needs some attention to detail”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at the Medina for three days whilst attending a conference. The studio room was small but fine, clean and neat - however the windows were absolutely filthy so it wasn't much to look out of. I was also disappointed that the Medina information folder was tatty and falling out of the binders, and the information out of date (one night I decided on room delivery, and when I went to use the service they list as providing a number of delivery options - I was told upon calling reception that it was no longer available and the only option was the downstairs restaurant or pizza). Also, the room clock hadn't been changed to daylight savings time - small but still annoying as it was what I was relying on for my morning alarm. Front of house staff was a bit mixed - some were very friendly and helpful (they arranged a doctor's appointment for me quickly when I needed it) - others a bit apathetic. Restaurant next door was nice - very easy and quick breakfast and dinner option, billed to the room. Location was fantastic, quick walk down Little Bourke Street to GPO and Mall, and great little restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback.

We have taken your feedback very seriously in relation to cleanliness of our windows and the consistency of our service.

Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please do n ot hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    884
    242
    66
    38
See reviews for
540
666
95
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After reading a lot of mixed reviews of this place I was pleasantly surprised to find an excellent 2 bedroom apartment that was clean, modern and with plenty of utensils in the kitchen. The rooms are comfortable and definitely worth the money. This hotel does have specials so you shouldn't have to pay full price. The balconies are a bit scary but the higher floors would be better with regard to noise.

The hotel is convenient to most places in the CBD so it is handy for restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and transport

The cafe next door does good breakfasts.

I would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Cant hear the traffic noise on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy56Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Meina Grand Melbourne.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend boys trip (5 guys) to Melbourne and stayed for the 1st time at the 'Marseille' end of town at the Medina Grand Hotel/Apartments.

We had a 3 bedroom (5 individual beds) apartment on the 18th flor with terrific viws from the 2 balconies of the city and Northern hills.

I had booked the place on a reduced sale rate which was very reasonable considering the costs were being split 5 ways. The actual rack rate, if you ever pay these anymore, seems a little steep.

The accommodation was spacious and modern with a terrific amount of glasses/mugs/cups and plates etc.. The 2 bathrooms were clean and housekeeping very thorough cleaning the used glasses and looking after 5 blokes for a football weekend trip.

Could only reccommend the place for a small group aspecially with Hardware lane just over the opposite side of Queen street offering an abundance of breaky/lunch/dinner and bar options.

Will be back again particularly if I can get the rate for $450-500/night again.

Only 2 issues really. 1. The key card entry system is a little tempramental and takes a deal of finesse to get access to the room. 2. Balconies are not for the faint hearted. Pretty high up with shallow balconies and doors that open outwards onto them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blairmacd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Delighted you enjoyed your boys weekend away.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next come to Melbourne.

Best regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed twice here, a year apart. It had improved both in the rooms and service over the year. Apartment style hotel. Reception staff okay but not particularly efficient. The attached cafe was surprisingly good and service there was excellent. Ordered room service pizza from there and was very good and breakfasts too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you are finding us improving. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the QSR Restaurant.
We will certainly address your comments about reception efficiency.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year or sooner.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The rooms were clean enough, however the cleaner filled the provided shampoo and soap up with water instead of replacing them after the first night and just put our dirty cups back in the cupboard unwashed. Didn’t trust anything after that, so just slept and left each day even though we booked the small apartment with kitchenette.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smith255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

This is certainly not the level of cleanliness that we pride ourselves on. We pride ourselves on presenting perfectly clean and refreshed rooms everyday.

I can assure you we have taken your feedback very seriously and investigated the incident with all concerned.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a great hotel. Well located, huge room (1-bedroom), modern and very well equipped.

The room would be ideal for a family as it really was very spacious and had kitchen, washing machine etc.

Very close to both business district and the Bourke Street mall, Collins Street etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Medina Grand Melbourne. You are absolutely correct, we are perfect for the family travelling, the guests that are looking for a longer stay and anyone who is after a spacious fully equipped apartment plus all the facilities of a hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne when you are next in town.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights , the hotel service apartment with two rooms is like away home with all the facilities available.From cooking to washing cloths ,very handly for those travel with friends and young children. the staff there is great and very helpful. We especially like the location. There are great western foods just a few minutes walk from the hotel. China town is just three blocks away from the hotel. I would recommended those who go on free and easy holidays in Melbourne to book this hotel. Value for money. Not to forget, the hotel have gym, indoor swimming pool and sonar room. The hotel does not have free wifi is a minus point of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipcss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel. We are very proud of what Medina Grand Melbourne has to offer and we are delighted that you enjoyed it all, from the facilities, services, location and not to mention our fabulous team.

Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne.

.Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4,703 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
1,653 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Toga Hotels, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing