We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Hotel, Nice Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #46 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Nice Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is a good place to stay but a little cramped. The Medina Grande Melbourne is centrally located downtown within walking distance of the Queen Vicrtorian Market, lots of eating places and the Crown casino. We walked everywhere we wanted to visit easily. The rooms were a little on the small side but were nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philco214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. More than 85% of our rooms are spacious One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments and I would be more than happy to assist you in choosing a room that meets your needs for space on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in the near future.

Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    820
    231
    61
    34
See reviews for
511
612
87
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We found the rooms dingy--OK if this were listed as a 3* or 3-1/2*, but not really 4*. We were given a 1-bedroom on the 6th floor. The website says 1-bedrooms have washing machines, but it turned out there was one outside the room in an alcove; and the blackout curtain didn't close properly. The rooms were small, dusty, and the carpet didn't look too good. Comfortable bed, though. The hotel did make good recovery. After complaining, we were comped breakfast (3 mornings) and promised a better room for the next 2 nights. The second room was considerably larger and seemed cleaner (but still a bit worn and stained), on the 12th floor (and with washing machine in room). Some of the gym equipment was broken. Upon checkout, they had charged for some of the breakfasts, but this was cleared up instantly

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taipeipeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Medina Grand Melbourne.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with the relevant department to improve our overall guest experience.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stay here twice a year on business so have been very familiar with this hotel over the last 5 years. The one-bedroom apartments are spacious and give one a sense of home, being able to stretch out in the lounge or the bedroom. I would not recommend the studio rooms which are tiny and barely functional.

There is a heated indoor pool and small gym, which has been handy for those cold rainy Melbourne days. It's not the newest property around, but has all the basic necessities to make a 3-4 day business trip tolerable. Probably why I've stuck with it over the last half a decade.

One thing they did not provide was a room service hot cooked breakfast or lunch, something I'm hoping will be remedied with their new bar/restaurant...

Room Tip: Avoid the studio rooms at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate your ongoing loyalty. We also thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. I can confirm that our new restaurant will be providing room service breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in the near future.


Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Location excellent - very central and within easy walking distance to Southern Cross station (about 15 mins).
Reception staff great - very helpful and tried hard to be of assistance.
BUT:
Not double glazed so street noise very obvious at night.
Booked studio unit and was very disappointed to find room very small and tired looking. Room smelt on arrival and needed to open windows and air. A/C noisy and needed to turn off at night which made room incredibly stuffy. Blanket ripped.
Upgraded to 1 bedroom unit - significantly better size and facilities and would strongly recommend this option.

Room Tip: Opt of 1 bedroom at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank White4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback regarding our central location, friendly reception team and our one bedroom apartments. I also apologise for the inconvenience caused by the street noise you heard from your studio room, it is not feedback we usually get from our guests as our accommodation rooms run from the 6th floor to the 21st floor and usually have a significant buffer from the street.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Great location. Very helpful reception and other staff.

Apartments clean & reasonably equipped. One of the double bedrooms was a bit small, the other had no natural light. No twin beds so one of us had to sleep in main lounge area - but at least it was a proper bed!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FushiaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback regarding our location and friendly team. For future visits, please advise us of your requirements for additional bedding options.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in the near future.


Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed on June long weekend with a group for a shopping/footy trip in Melbourne. We accommodated 5 of us in a 3 bedroom apartment with a lot of space for us all. Living area was huge, views fantastic. Location is excellent for shopping and getting to Ethihad stadium. Only problem with the area is that this particular part of Melbourne is very quiet out of business hours. We will return again next year!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. I am also pleased to advise you that our restaurant/bar is now open on the ground floor which provides a terrific atmosphere to dine in or just have a drink before the footy.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in the near future.


Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waratah, NSW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We just spent 3 nights in a studio room at the Medina. The location was great, a short walk to the Bourke St mall and close to trams. There were plenty of resturants close by too. The staff were very helpful and gave clear instructions of where to get the trams and to buy the tram tickets. We arrived early and they were able to let us in a room straight away.
The room size was smaller than I expected, but was big enough for the 2 of us. The room was equipped withn microwave and had a seperate sink for filling the kettle.
We overlooked Little Bourke St and it was quiet, did not hear traffic or other guests.
We really enjoyed it here and thought it was goos value compared to some of the other budget hotels. I think would be a good place to bring the kids and stay in a 2 bed aprt.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waratahers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback regarding our location, our team and our nice quiet rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in a 2 Bedroom Apartment with you family in the near future.


Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing