We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne
Ranked #63 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights whilst in Melbourne for a wedding. I have mixed feelings about his property.

Whilst the location was really good (I note one of the last reviewers states "way too far to walk to Toorak Road and Chapel St" - it's literally 350 meters to Toorak Road and 800 meters to Chapel St!), service was excellent and the facilities good, the cleanliness and maintenance of the apartment really let the place down.

It's a fairly common problem with mid-range, self-contained, high-turnover apartments in big cities: the housekeeping staff aren't given enough time per apartment to really do a good job. As a result, the apartment was 'ready' but not properly cleaned and it was very obvious that many corners were being cut to get the rooms turned over quickly and that maintenance was not carried out regularly:

- TV cabinet, both wardrobes, kitchen shelves, top of fridge, laundry cabinet louvre doors, bedside cabinets, under the beds etc very dusty and grimey (especially the shelves under the TV, you could see where a cloth had been run over about 1/3 of the shelf but no one had ever bent down to clean it properly, the dust was thick enough to pull together into a large ball - all results of rushed services)
- Bathroom tile grout was mouldy (and not necessarily ingrained mould, easily removable with bleach and a grout brush)
- Balcony was filthy - cigarette ash, leaves and general dirt, outdoor furniture dirty; clearly never cleaned properly
- Greasy, dirty fingerprints all over the TV screen and base, most of the hung pictures, backs of doors, telephone and virtually all the surfaces
- Windows in balcony doors were absolutely filthy - outside clearly not cleaned in months
- Mould under the sink strainer - again, easily removed with bleach and a brush
- Many of the knobs on cupboards and drawers loose, broken or in need or replacing
- Sticker from someone's water bottle stuck on the bedroom window, obviously no one has bothered pulling back the curtains to dust/clean window!
- Back missing off both TV remotes
- Balcony door latch broken
- Handle missing off dishwasher door
- Infrared device on TV (for Movielink remote) hanging off with exposed wires
- Carpet very stained
- Scuffs all over walls and skirtings

I could go on. Housekeepers are clearly under too much pressure to turn over too many rooms per shift resulting in many cut corners. The result is these sorts of careless oversights and things getting old, dirty and broken quickly.

I was going to say - at >$330 per night (we paid) for these apartments, the standard is incommensurate with the price - but, good housekeeping shouldn't be dependent on price. At any price you should expect a clean room (with no dust bunnies or mouldy tiles!)

Again - the service from Front Desk and the Housekeeper (Level 3) was excellent. The location of the property is great, facilities good and really it was good value for money. Just more attention-to-detail with the housekeeping is needed, from management/Exec. H/K - I'm sure the housekeepers themselves do a good job, they just need more time in the big apartments.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cnoire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear cnoire84,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, without feedback we are unable to improve on our service shortfalls.

I would like to assure all of our future guests that this is not the standard of Adina Apartments South Yarra.

Please contact me on +61 3 9926 0000 to further discuss this review.

Many Thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 885 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great location for Run For The Kids. Fridge didn't work in one of the rooms I booked. Wasn't fixed. 50 cent discount received for loss of food. Probably won't stay there again. No discount for multiple room bookings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Louise F,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback.

Please contact me on +61 3 9926 0000 to further discuss this feedback.

Many Thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

It was just about alright for a couple of nights but certainly NO Luxury. Basic facilities, noisy environment due to to train line next to the building and NO in Room Internet ( Unless paid ) which put me off completely.

The Chinese Receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear mikeinbangkok,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I have taken your comments about the internet back to our provider. For future stays, please be aware that we offer 30 minutes per day for free in the foyer.

It was fantastic to read about the reception team being ‘friendly and helpful’

mikeinbangkok, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Melbourne.

Many Thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

it was way too far to walk to toorak road & chapel street
it was ok place to stay but was not what i expected before i arrived
the pictures on the web page shows a nicer looking apartment
i won't stay again


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Karyn B,

Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed we did not live up to your expectations.

Please contact me on +61 3 9926 0000 to discuss your stay in more detail.

Many Thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 2 year wedding anniversary in April 2014, we have previously stayed here for our actual wedding in April 2012. The location is superb for anyone wanting to visit restaurants, bars and shops in the area - or in our case getting married.

They gave us a room on the basement which we thought was ridiculous since it was our anniversary, they didn't seem to care. They shouldn't even have rooms on the basement which don't have any windows looking out onto the street, except a 1m x 2m courtyard with 3 metre high walls. The basement and apartments on that floor stink of chlorine and wet laundry - other guests on our floor even noticed this too.

The rooms need major improvement with a lot of signs of wear and tear: door and cupboard handles are all lose, light fittings hanging out of ceiling, light globes not working, scuff marks on walls and toilet roll holder falling out, apartment cordless phone batteries flat. Doors to the ever-so-small courtyard do not lock and the wood on them rotting. This is definitely not a 4 star hotel and needs major and urgent improvements.

The 1st night we were awoken around 5-6am with the sound of the neighbouring apartment's smoke detector beeping every 30 seconds to indicate the battery was flat as most people know. Noise echoed throughout ceiling/walls and was extremely loud for both of us. Called reception at around 7am to report issue they said they would fix it straight away. It continued up until 11.30am when we called reception again, they said they were unable to replace batteries because neighbouring apartment had their 'Do Not Disturb' sign on, how ironic because we had ours on too yet were disturbed by smoke detector beeps. This raises 3 things:

1) Are other guests so incompetent they cannot even rip it down or get someone to come and replace batteries?
2) Hotel staff clearly have no consideration for guests staying to let this issue go on for 4.5 hours.
3) Hotel clearly does not have a contractor that maintains their fire services including smoke detectors, as we all know batteries should be replaced yearly or bi-yearly at least especially in a block of serviced apartments.

This is a very disappointing second stay at Adina South Yarra, I don't think we will be continuing our future anniversaries at this particular hotel. Very disappointing indeed Adina.

Room Tip: Find another serviced apartment in the area until Adina improve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bretr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Bretr,

Thank you for your feedback, without feedback we are unable to improve on our service shortfalls.

I would like to assure all our future guests that this is not the norm for Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, as you can see by the below testimonials.

Bretr, can you please contact me on +61 3 9926 0000 to discuss this matter in more detail.

Many Thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

bathroom not suitable for a disabled person and too far to walk to Toorak Road if disabled
staff were friendly and kitchen was all you could want.
the unit was pleasant
over the Easter weekend there was very little room cleaniness

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Judith L,

Thank you for taking the time providing us with your feedback.

I was great to read about the ‘friendly’ team on reception. Our apartments with full kitchens enable you to make home cooked meals while travelling.

Judith L, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra in the future.

Many Thanks

Damian

Damian Gear
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a really well positioned hotel with easy access to transport and shops. Staff are super friendly and accommodating, Tracy was outstanding. Rooms have all you could want in terms of cooking if you want to and washing/driying clothes, Beds dont come with a top sheet which is odd , and it was quite hot during my stay so I asked if I could have a top sheet and this was no problem. Housekeeping could be more diligent, and wifi really expensive. Overall though a great place to stay in Melbourne in a really lovely neighbourhood

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra! I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. The team work really hard to provide fantastic service to all of our guests so I will make sure your feedback is passed along to them and to Tracey in particular. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne!

Kind Regards,

Claire Davidson
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#95 of 162 in Melbourne
974 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#85 of 162 in Melbourne
340 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne

Address: 52 Darling St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $96 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive South Yarra Hotel Melbourne
Medina Executive South Yarra Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing