We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable apartment, superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne
Ranked #63 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights on a family vacation in Melb. and was satisfied with the Medina service. I had the top floor Penthouse (2 bedroom) apartment. Despite some of the comments from prior guests, I did not notice any noise from the train. The apartment was comfortable, well appointed and clean. The beds were not as comfortable as in other Medina apartments that I have stayed in the past. We asked for extra blankets and got it delivered quickly. The apartment had 2 balconies. There is free wifi in the hotel lobby, but it seemed like a chargeable service in the apartment - I used my wireless wifi service on the iPad so did not need it. The best feature of staying in this Medina was that it was a short 5 minute walk to all the cafes and transport options on Toorak Road. They also offer free parking which was handy as we had a rental car throughout the stay.

Room Tip: Pack your trainers as there are some lovely walks by the Yarra River and the Botanical Gardens close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shehanwije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thankyou for your great review of your recent stay at Medina Executive South Yarra.

The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our fabulous location to the restaurants, cafe's & public transport along Toorak Road.
All our beds were replaced with brand new when we completed our recent refurbishment in April of this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time your in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 948 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Room was alright, although did have dirty towels in bathroom. Bed was comfortable however that's about the best of it. Upon check in was charged approx $250 for the bond, then was required to pay full accommodation on top of that, little but steep for one nights accommodation. Check in staff were less than helpful nor friendly, however the lady who checked us out was great. If you can stay elsewhere I would recommend that!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thankyou for your review of your stay at Medina Executive South Yarra.

Just to clarify for travellers we do take a pre authorisation on a credit card on your arrival however it never exceeds $100.00 on top of your accommodation charges.

If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please dont hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a very well located suite of apartments right in the heart of South Yarra just five minutes (I timed it) walk to South Yarra station which itself has a very frequent train service - 7 mins to Flinders Street and the City Loop beyond.

Chapel Street and attractions are close by and basically it's a very nice area without the price tag of the CBD.

The suite was large and comfortable. I would put it no higher than three and a half stars overall but that's not a criticism. The bathroom was a bit dated.

You will have read reviews about train noise : the apartments do back onto the six-line rail corridor south of South Yarra station which also sees some noisy V-line diesels running on it, but I really do think their recent double glazing has eliminated any disturbance.

My only negative about the placewas the VERY high price, and very slow speed, of the internet. Overall though I would have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thankyou for your positive review of Medina Executive South Yarra.
The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay & our fabulous location.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time your in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The good:
- location - nice and close to everywhere
- free parking
- adequately equipped kitchen
- the staff - helpful and friendly!
- we were street side and couldn't hear any trains

The bad:
- the "gym" and leisure facilities are pretty poor
- the dryer is far too old and shrunk most things that went in (things we put in the dryer regularly)
- expensive internet
- the bathroom definitely in need of an update

The ugly:
- strong smell of smoke in passage ways was pretty disgusting

Would I recommend or stay again?
- yes - but would also look around at what else is available for the same price and possibly consider something else

Room Tip: We stayed street side and had no issue with trains or traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonder2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thankyou for your review of your stay at the Medina Executive South Yarra.

The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, our fabulous location & our well equipped apartments. I was disappointed to hear you smelt strong smoke in the corridors as we are a non smoking hotel. I trust this was reported to reception and follow up was made immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed over three nights commencing 20-23 October. Great location if you don't have a car (and if you are not bothered by train noise) and cooking facilities great but that's really as good as it gets. Despite being sold on windows being double glazed and being told we would be located on the "quiet side" of the hotel, was most displeased to find windows were not in fact "double glazed" at all (just another sliding door over the top) and we were located rail side of hotel due to bedding requirements. (The booking clerk should have been honest with us at the outset) Needless to say we didn't sleep much of the 3 night stay... Was also less than impressed by cleanliness. Food and stains on lounge rendering one side unsittable and dirty finger prints all over walls. Also mould on shower ceiling. Since when were top sheets a thing of the past on beds??? Either way, the main room quilt was too small to be comfortable and pillows were terrible. Spare blanket was the size of a cot blanket for a queen bed and the other room blanket had a noticeable burn hole and tear ..nice! On the up side the beds were comfortable though. To add insult to injury the female staff member reception tried to argue about the double glazing on check-out and then advised there was a one and a half percent surcharge for a standard credit card! Overall for the price, have stayed in much better places! This hotel has a lot of potential but could be so much better if the housekeeping and Maintenance were up to standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamsfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thankyou for your review of Medina Executive South Yarra.

I was disappointed to hear your comments regarding our recent install of soundproofing on all of our back facing apartment bedrooms. This was professionally installed by a recognised Australian company who completed vigorous testing prior to the install. We have had many great comments about the install and I am sorry you did not feel the same.
With regard to your comments on housekeeping & maintenance issues these have been followed up with the team this morning.

If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights. We had a street level & street facing apartment. Requested a street facing apartment as we had read the train line side can be noisy. Our request was met. Rooms were modern, big & clean. Two good quality flat screen TV's made our stay as a family easier. We all found our beds to be very comfortable. Bathroom & kitchen facilities were clean, shower was great. Whilst we did find car park a little snug we didnt have any issues parking our car. Kids loved the pool & steam room. Pool was not heated on arrival but this was fixed during our stay. Located 5min walk from South Yarra train & tram stop. Took 10mins on tram to city. Close to supermarkets, cafes etc. Would stay here again and would request a street facing room. Couldn't hear the trains from our apartment but it was noisy at the back of the building next to train line. Our apartment was opposite reception which did cause a little bit of noise but we still slept very well.

Room Tip: Request a street facing room if your a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLHAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thankyou for your lovely review of your recent stay in our 2 bedroom apartment. The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location & the kids got use of our indoor plunge pool.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive South Yarra next time your in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked this on-line with no fuss and no problems used the Entertainment Card for discounted rate. Easy to find, great location, easy walk to Toorak Rd for restaurants & supermarket. Great apartment, clean and very comfortable. Even though its right on the train track - we never heard the trains at night due to the window being double glazed. Safe car park. Good value. We ate at a great Thai restaurant - Golden Triangle - short walk from the Medina - yummy food. Can recommend staying here. Wouldn't bother with the coffee at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieGypsy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thankyou for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you weren't disturbed by any train noise due to our recent install of soundproofing.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive South Yarra next time your in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#61 of 161 in Melbourne
469 reviews
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#80 of 161 in Melbourne
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
3,618 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne

Address: 52 Darling St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $102 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive South Yarra Hotel Melbourne
Medina Executive South Yarra Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing