We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, well appointed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra
Ranked #69 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well located, well appointed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a very well located suite of apartments right in the heart of South Yarra just five minutes (I timed it) walk to South Yarra station which itself has a very frequent train service - 7 mins to Flinders Street and the City Loop beyond.

Chapel Street and attractions are close by and basically it's a very nice area without the price tag of the CBD.

The suite was large and comfortable. I would put it no higher than three and a half stars overall but that's not a criticism. The bathroom was a bit dated.

You will have read reviews about train noise : the apartments do back onto the six-line rail corridor south of South Yarra station which also sees some noisy V-line diesels running on it, but I really do think their recent double glazing has eliminated any disturbance.

My only negative about the placewas the VERY high price, and very slow speed, of the internet. Overall though I would have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thankyou for your positive review of Medina Executive South Yarra.
The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay & our fabulous location.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time your in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    335
    127
    40
    20
See reviews for
279
212
57
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The good:
- location - nice and close to everywhere
- free parking
- adequately equipped kitchen
- the staff - helpful and friendly!
- we were street side and couldn't hear any trains

The bad:
- the "gym" and leisure facilities are pretty poor
- the dryer is far too old and shrunk most things that went in (things we put in the dryer regularly)
- expensive internet
- the bathroom definitely in need of an update

The ugly:
- strong smell of smoke in passage ways was pretty disgusting

Would I recommend or stay again?
- yes - but would also look around at what else is available for the same price and possibly consider something else

Room Tip: We stayed street side and had no issue with trains or traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonder2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thankyou for your review of your stay at the Medina Executive South Yarra.

The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, our fabulous location & our well equipped apartments. I was disappointed to hear you smelt strong smoke in the corridors as we are a non smoking hotel. I trust this was reported to reception and follow up was made immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed over three nights commencing 20-23 October. Great location if you don't have a car (and if you are not bothered by train noise) and cooking facilities great but that's really as good as it gets. Despite being sold on windows being double glazed and being told we would be located on the "quiet side" of the hotel, was most displeased to find windows were not in fact "double glazed" at all (just another sliding door over the top) and we were located rail side of hotel due to bedding requirements. (The booking clerk should have been honest with us at the outset) Needless to say we didn't sleep much of the 3 night stay... Was also less than impressed by cleanliness. Food and stains on lounge rendering one side unsittable and dirty finger prints all over walls. Also mould on shower ceiling. Since when were top sheets a thing of the past on beds??? Either way, the main room quilt was too small to be comfortable and pillows were terrible. Spare blanket was the size of a cot blanket for a queen bed and the other room blanket had a noticeable burn hole and tear ..nice! On the up side the beds were comfortable though. To add insult to injury the female staff member reception tried to argue about the double glazing on check-out and then advised there was a one and a half percent surcharge for a standard credit card! Overall for the price, have stayed in much better places! This hotel has a lot of potential but could be so much better if the housekeeping and Maintenance were up to standard.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamsfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thankyou for your review of Medina Executive South Yarra.

I was disappointed to hear your comments regarding our recent install of soundproofing on all of our back facing apartment bedrooms. This was professionally installed by a recognised Australian company who completed vigorous testing prior to the install. We have had many great comments about the install and I am sorry you did not feel the same.
With regard to your comments on housekeeping & maintenance issues these have been followed up with the team this morning.

If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights. We had a street level & street facing apartment. Requested a street facing apartment as we had read the train line side can be noisy. Our request was met. Rooms were modern, big & clean. Two good quality flat screen TV's made our stay as a family easier. We all found our beds to be very comfortable. Bathroom & kitchen facilities were clean, shower was great. Whilst we did find car park a little snug we didnt have any issues parking our car. Kids loved the pool & steam room. Pool was not heated on arrival but this was fixed during our stay. Located 5min walk from South Yarra train & tram stop. Took 10mins on tram to city. Close to supermarkets, cafes etc. Would stay here again and would request a street facing room. Couldn't hear the trains from our apartment but it was noisy at the back of the building next to train line. Our apartment was opposite reception which did cause a little bit of noise but we still slept very well.

Room Tip: Request a street facing room if your a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLHAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely review of your recent stay in our 2 bedroom apartment. The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location & the kids got use of our indoor plunge pool.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive South Yarra next time your in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked this on-line with no fuss and no problems used the Entertainment Card for discounted rate. Easy to find, great location, easy walk to Toorak Rd for restaurants & supermarket. Great apartment, clean and very comfortable. Even though its right on the train track - we never heard the trains at night due to the window being double glazed. Safe car park. Good value. We ate at a great Thai restaurant - Golden Triangle - short walk from the Medina - yummy food. Can recommend staying here. Wouldn't bother with the coffee at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGypsy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you weren't disturbed by any train noise due to our recent install of soundproofing.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive South Yarra next time your in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked 10days at this location with our move back from Singapore to Melbourne. It was located in a great location and we liked going down to the local restaurants which were only a short walk away, The train is in easy access and driving into the city was also simple. The 1 bedroom room was very nicely appointed and bed very comfortable. We also often cooked in the kitchen which we found well setup for this. The staff were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to check in early when we arrived from Singapore, which was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rascalscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities we offer!
The team are delighted you found their services friendly and helpful and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Kind Regards
Zarah White
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just spent four days at this lovely hotel in Sth Yarra. We were upgraded without asking for an upgrade and had a lovely two bedroom apartment. Just a short walk to Toorak rd for the tram or the train to the city. We had a well equppied kitchen so after a trip to Prahran Mkt (another great find) we opted to eat in for two nights. Our only gripe was the shower which whilst over the bath wasnt too bad, however water pressure was terrible, a good shower can be a make or break deal!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shm000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review.
The team and I are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the hotels great location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina South Yarra.
Kind Regards
Zarah White
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#85 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Chapel Street
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#72 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra
Address: 52 Darling St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive South Yarra)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive South Yarra Hotel Melbourne
Medina Executive South Yarra Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing