We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens, but not the finest”

Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.76*
and up
Melbourne City Afternoon Tour with Punting at the Gardens
More Info
$166.66*
and up
Aboriginal Melbourne Tour: Royal Botanic Gardens, Melbourne Museum and Koorie...
More Info
$78.95*
and up
Spirit of Melbourne Dinner Cruise
Ranked #1 of 424 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Melbourne's inner-city oasis. More than 10,000 plant species from around the world are presented in a kaleidoscope of colour and texture. Sweeping lawns, tranquil lakes and majestic trees are home to an amazing range of wildlife.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, but not the finest”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Coming from Perth, we have a beautiful Kings Park overlooking the entire city. Making comparisons with Melbourne, I feel the distance of this park from the CBD lets it down slightly, and it isn't the most accessible of parks (for example is not 24 hours). The restaurants are overpriced and the toilet facilities were dirty. The lakes at this time were not clean and had algae blooms. I did enjoy the gardens tea rooms, which served beautiful scones with lovely thick clotted cream at a reasonable price. There isn't a huge variety of plant species, but it is worth visiting on a nice sunny afternoon

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank timothyholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,354
    1,822
    219
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great gardens”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

These gardens are magnificent and desrved a visit. Each area is individually designed and a great credit to Melbourne City Council The coffe shop too was well supplied with nice light menu and grat coffeearticles. This is a must visit when in Melbourne

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gonski9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Don't try and take it all in”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Who needs views and carriage rides when you've got a plant palette like this? A tip from a Melburnite who visits the gardens every couple of years-Don't try and take it all in at once. Pick a route that'll take you through half a dozen plant collections, with a stop for tea and scones on the way. My favourite ramble is from the Herbarium through the multi-layered Australian rainforest walk, with its towering Queensland Kauri and Southern Mahogany. As a eucy lover, the Eucalypt lawn is disappointing and in need of some succession planning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulaHWithoutAnAlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
957 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Great vista”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great for either a leisurely stroll, brisk walk or a run. Plenty of good cafes nearby for a pit stop or BYO picnic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had not been to the gardens for years. Not sure why we decided to go but we had a great time. Then a few months later we had family visiting from the UK so we met them in the children's garden. I would encourage anyone with small children to visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Molly_the_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing