We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.96*
and up
Melbourne City Afternoon Tour with Punting at the Gardens
Ranked #1 of 410 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Melbourne's inner-city oasis. More than 10,000 plant species from around the world are presented in a kaleidoscope of colour and texture. Sweeping lawns, tranquil lakes and majestic trees are home to an amazing range of wildlife.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I love the Botanic Gardens. It feels like the hustle and bustle of the city melts away as soon as you enter the gardens. Go for a walk, sit on the grass and read a book, have a picnic with friends. During the summer months, go along and watch a movie at the Moonlight Cinema in the evening. The choices are endless!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,116
    1,754
    212
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
204 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“The colours of Autumn”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Was there in June 2012 and each time I visit Melbourne, a visit to this park is a must. Extensively and well laid out, you can spend hours walking along and admiring the colours of autumn. Its very centrally located in Melbourne, close to the CBD, and on any given day, you will have school kids visiting it as part of their outdoor excursions. One of my favourite spots in Melbourne where I walk, sit idly under a tree, write my memoirs, or simply shut my eyes and do a lot of soul searching, introspection or quiet meditation. A visit here can absolutely refresh your thoughts, and I would recommend it to all visitors who visit this beautiful city.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zenobia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“green green green”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

extremely well maintained gardens with amazing old trees and greenerry so close to the city skylines. oh so peaceful with people looking very relaxed and birds and yes bees also.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jay255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“peacefull”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

once you step into the gardens you forget just how close the city and hussle and bussle really is, very peacefull and relaxing..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Spend 3 hours there - please!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Exquisite is the ONLY word you could use.About the only complaint is that dogs (on leash) are permitted. The one near our picnic sounded like IT had too much Shiraz.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Medici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing