We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“restrained elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“restrained elegance”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My Wife,Daughter and I stayed at the Park Hyatt on Anzac Night.
We were upgraded to a park suite,which was lovely.
Check in was friendly and efficient and all staff interactions were friendy and efficient..
We went and ate Vietnamese in Victoria st which was a short tram ride away.
Breakfast included some of the best pastries in a 5 star hotel in Melbourne.
We really enjoyed the amenities in the bathroom.
Really good nights sleep the bed was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martykatlillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Martykatlilian,
It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time at Park Hyatt Melbourne over the ANZAC Day weekend. Your comments regarding the service and facilities are much appreciated and will be shared with the team.
I look forward to seeing you at our hotel again when you next visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,824
    458
    138
    78
    35
See reviews for
346
1,098
158
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
268 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here many years ago before the kids and still just as good now.

We had the kids with us this time and enjoyed it just as much.

The rooms we had were on the 14th floor and nice and large with very good quality amenities.

The pool a real hit with the family. Nice location at the top end of the city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear GriffinFamily4,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay.
I was pleased to hear the family enjoyed the hotel facilities, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne for your next ‘weekend getaway’.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This place is in dire need of a refresh. It looks like it's still stuck in the 1980s, complete with cheesy saxophone tunes playing in the lobby. The furniture look very tired, but to their credit, their rooms are big. Interestingly, this is also the only Park Hyatt property I've stayed at that didn't have a welcome card in the room, which you get even at some Regencies.

At arrival, everyone just ignored us and our bags as we entered the hotel. At check-in, the agent looked like she couldn't be more eager to get rid of us, and didn't bother explaining the diamond benefits like the lounge and breakfast. At check-out, I wanted to tell them how disappointed I was, but the front desk agent also seemed eager to end the transaction. And of course, my points didn't post properly and I had to call Gold Passport to get it fixed.

Breakfast at the Radii restaurant felt like we were in Las Vegas or a budget Asian hotel, complete with the neon lights. Service was awful, even though the restaurant wasn't crowded. We were taken to our tables by the manager and told to help ourselves to the buffet, but he didn't bother taking our coffee orders and just walked away. We tried to get the attention of some of the other servers to get our coffee orders in, but they seemed more interested in clearing the tables of other guests who'd already left. Eventually got the manager's attention after 20 minutes.

After two nights, all that was quite enough. We cut short our stay and moved to the Grand Hyatt, which looked far fresher and had a much friendlier crew, even if their rooms were smaller.

Finally, some kudos. A big shout out to Evelyn and Mina at the lounge, who couldn't have been nicer. Kudos also to the chef at the egg station every morning, who was exceedingly friendly and took to serving customers himself when everyone else went missing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kinsgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Kinsgp,
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback following your recent stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
I was disappointing to hear the property did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated and has been shared with the hotel team.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I got upgraded to a big suite which was spectacular. Overall the hotel is beautiful, well maintained however its a bit out of the way so had to take cabs everywhere rather than walking which I prefer when I am away so moved to the Grand Hyatt which has more of a central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Zeal34,
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to read you enjoyed our property.
I was disappointed to read the location was not convenient for your stay. Our property is located on the fringe of the city (only 1.5 km from the City Centre) with train and tram access easily accessible. Should you wish to enjoy a quieter location, our property is well located.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Room is big and luxurious.. Very comfortable bed even though pillow was way too soft, but the staff was helpful when we requested a firmer pillow. Check in was smooth and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Amenities exceeded normal. The only thing that bothered me was that the air-conditioner was situated facing the bed, so the wind was blowing straight to my face. Overall was a good stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuLiaNi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear JuLiaNi87,
It was pleasing to read you enjoyed our big and luxurious guest rooms, along with the hotel facilities.
Thank you for your comments regarding our property, I look forward to you returning to Park Hyatt Melbourne next time you visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in a corner room, impressed with the size of the room and the bathroom area is huge.
Negative would be just the usual - cleaning. Mirror in room, mould in shower. Most 5 star establishments let themselves down by putting strict time limits on cleaning staff and paying them peanuts and paying some wanna be celebrity chef big bucks to design a menu that a small percent of guests enjoy. Where as every guest is in a room that they expect to be 100% clean

The room service menu was really average, big focus on breakfast and some overly elaborate and fiddley "small bites" that I'd guess aren't high on order turnover

Pool is great, big sun deck area, breakfast was really good only thing is I've never had b&b in a hotel anywhere in the world only to be told it's extra for a full breakfast More choice for gluten free would be great - change your muesli to untoasted raw carmens muesli

The hotel has maintained it's deco feel over the years and for a hotel of its age is still well maintained

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumof1fromGlenIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mumof1fromGlenIris,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful property, however your comments regarding the cleanliness are disappointing. I thank you for bringing this to our attention, for our immediate action.
I thank you for your suggestions, I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne again.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

From check in to check out this hotel is excellent. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, there's a well equipped gym, the staff warm and helpful and the breakfast enjoyable. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeTSMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear LeeTSMI,
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
I appreciate you sharing your comments, and forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,334 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,030 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Park Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing