We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Melbourne at it's best”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed at the Park Hyatt Melbourne just as an overnighter during the final few days of the AUS Open Tennis. Not only was the room spectacular, but also got to catch a glimpse of a few sports stars staying at the hotel.

Certainly the best hotel I have stayed at in the Melbourne precinct. Great location, great service and I will be back.

Room Tip: Loved the Hyatt Club room. Very spacious and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmills_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear mmills_qld,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am pleased you enjoyed our spacious Club King Room along with the hotel facilities.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne, when you next visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,876
    465
    142
    78
    36
See reviews for
354
1,126
163
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Beautiful spacious room, loved the layout and great view.Welcoming staff and great room service. A very relaxing weekend, breakfast in our room was wonderful. Great location and restaurants just a few minutes walk away, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Jane J,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next weekend getaway.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Park Hyatt Melbourne smells like a duty free perfume lounge and I think that underlies the psyche of the management. On arrival I refused to sign a document that I could simply no ridiculous fsmall c because of a ridiculously small font siz,. It doesn't matter how old the reader is, but the X and Y crew has to allow us baby boomers to shell out our money in a user friendly manner,

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear David H,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your check in experience last week. I understand a "larger font" registration card (printed on A4 paper) was provided to you following your request, and assisted you greatly. We have taken note for your future bookings at the hotel, and also briefed our staff on how to assist guests in such situations.
Thank you for your time to discuss this with me during your visit at our property.
Regards
Brett Sweetman - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Truly majestic and above 5 Stars!!! Royal interiors and fresh & live feelings everywhere. Courteous staff and delicious food. Plenty of International Tennis Players choose this during AO games and I felt very elite with them around :) Would love to visit with family next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanbhag_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotal Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Shanbhag_RS,
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne. I appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

In early December, we went to Melbourne for a weekend getaway. I chose the Park Hyatt as I wanted a luxurious and relaxing weekend away in a grand suite with all the bells and whistles. After having been in Tokyo for 6 months, I was in need of space and a soft bed! We weren't disappointed. We arrived unexpectedly early in the morning and the checkin staff were great...although a room wasn't available straight away, the lady called my mobile as promised about an hour later while we were out having breakfast. The room was amazing. Most importantly the bed was huge and soft and we both had the best sleeps. Room service was very nice. The cappuccino was not of a Melbourne standard though and was very milky. We had a truly lovely time at the hotel and we will definitely be back. The only negatives which I noticed was that at no point did any staff help with luggage while getting into or out of the taxi, or at checkin. This service was noticeably absent at checkin when we had to leave our bags while we went to breakfast. We were told we could check them in at the bell hop outside and then carried them out ourselves as no help was organized. I found this very odd, and not what i would expect of a top hotel. Even though we only had weekender bags, I expect at a 5 star hotel to have to fight staff off from trying to take even the smallest of bags. On the flip side though the staff were extremely helpful in using CCTV footage to track a taxi that a mobile phone was left in which we managed to get back! Also, checkin could do with more staff as the was always a queue. I found the staff at the front desk very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glenn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Glenn C,
It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your weekend getaway at Park Hyatt Melbourne and you were able to relax and unwind.
I have noted your comments in regards to our Bell Desk baggage service, and I will share your comments with the relevant staff. This is below the required service standards of our property, and I will discuss this with the team
We certainly appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the future.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed after we had our 2nd daughter. We have stayed before just as a couple but also stayed with children. It is a great hotel in a quite city position in close proximity to most things. Staff are excellent and food is first class.
Enjoyable stay and if you are use to 5 star accommodation this will tick all the boxes for you. Funny enough our new PM (Tony Abbott) stayed there when we were there. So if the PM stays there its gotta be good!
Thanks and will certainly return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Elissa S,
I am pleased to hear your family enjoyed their stay at our property.
I will pass on your comments to our appreciative staff, and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Coolum, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had a "weekend escape" by myself a couple of weeks back. Same as a few other reviewers I arrived and was told my room wasn't ready. It was 1:30 and check in at 2. So I came back at 2 and still wasn't ready. It wasn't the best first impression. 20 minutes later I was finally told my room was ready after just sitting....and waiting.
I had the most amazing room, a suite over looking the driveway and a partial view of the Cathedral. A tv in the bathroom was a highlight, and a gorgeous big spa bath.
The Day Spa was incredible, well run and the staff were lovely - I went back both days I loved it so much.
The location is fantastic, tram stop and train station only 4 minutes walk and you can pretty much get anywhere. Public transport in Melbourne in very cheap too. I also walked into the city as it was only 15 minutes walk.
There have been other comments on the staff not smiling, I noticed the same thing. They were informative and helpful but didn't seem overly happy. There also didn't seem to be a great amount of staff, always had to que to ask a question etc. There only ever seemed to be 1 person on reception with often 2 or 3 people waiting.
I dined in the hotel a couple of times, was disapointed in the deserts but the entrees and mains were enjoyable at the restaurant.
The courtyard was lovely to have lunch and read a newspaper and get some fresh air.

Overall I will definitely stay again. I'll bring the whole family next time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neats777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Neats777,
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property, and took advantage of our great location.
You have raised some valuable points that I will share with the team, to further assist us in exceeding our guests expectations.
Thank you for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Park Hyatt Melbourne soon.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,413 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,257 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
984 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Park Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing