We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
$199
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$204
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$182
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$132
$91
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$184
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$251
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$294
$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,067)
Filter reviews
3,067 results
Traveler rating
2,228
527
172
92
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,228
527
172
92
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsradii restaurantpark loungeclub deluxepatrick's cathedralfitzroy gardensking roomspa roomnespresso machineluxury hotelbeautiful hotelroom servicewedding nighthuge bathroomparliament housetop endcollins streethigh tea
Filter
Updating list...
2,300 - 2,305 of 3,067 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had booked an overnight stay in a King room. We were given a twin room with a connecting twin room. We phoned down to rectify this. It took 25 minutes for someone to call us back, then they wanted to convert the room from twin to king while we were at dinner (5 hours away!). We asked them to fix straight away, then went downstairs for a coffee. Felt that the least they could have arranged was free coffee (coffee at the PH is $6.00 per coffee - asked for strong, got barely there). TV kept losing reception. Also connecting door was not locked until we mentioned it. Also disappointing was mould in the grouting of the shower. Definitely do not expect this in a 'five star' hotel. We have stayed at the PH previously a few years ago with no problems at all, however, am feeling reluctant to do so again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanialmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Tanialmm,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
I was disappointed to read you were inconvenienced upon check in, and not compensated whilst waiting for your room to be converted. This in conjunction with other issues you have noted will be shared with the team at the hotel.
Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused on this occasion, I have passed on your comments to assist us improve our service standards and facilities.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed two nights and it was thoroughly enjoyable. Marked down only by the fact the main dining room is being refurbished so the lounge off reception is doubling up. No complaints this is top quality as you would expect in a Hyatt Hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDoctor1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear TheDoctor1941,
It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your two night stay at our property. Unfortunately Radii Restaurant was closed for one week in January due some annual maintenance that was undertaken, and I apologize for any inconvenience caused.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne next time you visit Melbourne, so you can experience our signature restaurant, radii.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

we checked into the PHM for 1 night in a club king suite. upon driving into the hotel the concierge desk was attentive but certainly not "on fire" they were, polite yet slightly casual. there was no doorman, which I found highly unusual in an establishment of this calibre?? the parking and doorman issues aside we were magnificently checked in with great care and thorough professionalism. All the fine points well explained with additional insightful directions to our pre arranged luncheon at Ezard restaurant. Our room 732 was nothing short of extraordinary, spacious, luxurious and stylishly appointed. We enjoyed an amazingly grand space including, lounge room, dressing and change room, huge bath tub with a TV in bathroom. There is a generous selection of teas, a Nespresso coffee system as well as complimentary bottled water. The bathroom toiletries were indulgent and not like any I have experienced in Australian 5-6 star properties. The shower had a multi faceted and directional stream arrangement with multiple heads, this was genius~!!! The turndown service was personable and warm. The regency club at this Hyatt is the best in in Australia. Evelyn our host was warm, gracious and delightful, truly professional. The quality of the bed linen continued this wonderful experience and the whole evening I felt as though I floated on clouds of dreamy marshmallow such a contented and satisfying sleep. We woke from our stupendous slumber and meandered down to breakfast. Unfortunately some of the gloss gets peeled away at this point. When shown to our table, we were asked what we would like to drink. We ordered a tea and a coffee, these were not easily forthcoming, sadly we needed to wait 15mins and ask three times?? An other oversight was that there was a final call of breakfast offerings whereby a young lady swept around the restaurant advising that the buffet was about to be cleared. My advice to this high end establishment, don't do that, it is... cheap, mean and nasty offering no largesse at all. . Patrons at this place have parted with some decent coin so no one should be rushed or to be made to feel like an inconvenience. Please by all means shut the doors at 10:30am, but care for, soothe and appreciate those inside....they are the reason you have a job!!!! In conclusion this is an extraordinary hotel with a few inexperienced staff dotted throughout; however the glamour, style, design and appointment of this hotel is simply world class. Keep training your staff that the customer is truly .....KING/QUEEN!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claude c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Princeofnylon,
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the guest room facilities and the Park Lounge whilst staying at our property this month. You have highlighted a few valuable points that will be shared with the team to assist improve our customer service throughout the hotel.
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we look forward to seeing you again when you are in Melbourne next time.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Park Hyatt's location worked well for us. It is convenient to all the city's attractions yet it's somewhat tucked away from the main action. The hotel's design is a bit retro, with cherry wood and marble in abundance throughout the common areas and rooms, yet it works extremely well. Our rooms, perhaps upgraded by our travel agent, were extremely large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was among the best we've encountered. Service was generally very good, though the main restaurant was closed for renovation during our visit and the dinner service provided in the lobby area wasn't quite as strong as we'd expect from such a wonderful hotel. All in all, this was a great choice.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank JLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear JLTP,
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed our property location, along with our spacious guest rooms. Unfortunately Radii Restaurant was closed for one week in January due some annual maintenance that was undertaken - I apologize for any inconvenience caused.
I do hope Park Hyatt Melbourne can accommodate you during your next visit to Melbourne, and you can experience our signature restaurant, Radii.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent a week here, over Christmas in a Club floor room overlooking the MCG. The room itself was lovely with plenty of space, a huge walk-in wardrobe and bathroom with separate shower and bath. Special features included a working log-effect gas fire in the sitting area and a TV in the bathroom.

The Club lounge was delightful with the best team in the hotel. On learning one of us needed gluten-free options, they organised a special plate of sandwiches or salads for each evening's cocktail hour and were absolutely charming. We were very touched by the care they took to make sure they could point out which of the various treats on offer were gluten-free.

The breakfasts were a mix of buffet with made to order egg options at the egg station. For me, this is the perfect combination. You don't have to wait as long as a table service and can supervise how the eggs, omelettes, etc are made. We enjoyed reasonable service here, though the waiting staff were not as friendly as in the Club lounge. The chefs however, were very friendly and responsive.

We were surprised at how little effort had gone into creating a Christmas atmosphere, given everyone staying over that period was away from home. A few trees in the public rooms, Christmas music in the lifts for 2 days and that was it apart from a small but beautifully presented plate of Christmas themed treats delivered to the room on Christmas Day.

What rather spoilt the whole experience was the inability of requests to be carried through. We ordered a gluten-free picnic to take to the Test match (knowing there might be nothing on offer in the ground), but this request was lost, and the initial response to this failure was fairly inadequate, quite spoiling the hour or so leading up to going to the Boxing Day test match, which was the reason for our visit to Melbourne. In the end, after some stiff communication, they made up (and comp'ed) an enormous picnic basket and drove it over to the ground mid morning. However, while well-intentioned, this didn't really meet the requirements. Like most stadia, the MCG does not allow alcohol, glassware, knives etc into the ground. So all this had to be removed, leaving us to eat our picnic items with our fingers. You try and eat sloppy salads, creme caramels, etc without utensils.... We then had to carry this enormous basket back to the hotel on foot. So A for intent and E for thoughtfulness. You'd think a hotel within 15 minutes walking distance of the MCG would know how to cater for someone attending a match there.

For day 2, we asked them to provide far less food in a small cool bag with plastic cutlery - but we got another wicker basket, no cutlery and more sloppy salads...

These and a couple of other failures to follow through on simple requests (like please bring down the luggage) were the only blemishes on an otherwise delightful experience, so I would probably return, especially, if they have made a note to take more care...

Room Tip: High up is best
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear BerkhamstedJules,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback following your stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful property, and once again we apologize for the miscommunication whilst you were staying at the hotel. We have taken this matter seriously, and spoken with the relevant employees in regards to the communications breakdown.
Thank you for staying with us during the Ashes series, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews