We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“You'll Love this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You'll Love this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Absolutely stunning. We stayed four nights at the start of the year. Check in was a breeze, despite the fact that there was a trainee. The concierge was polite and very helpful. The room was very spacious with a lounging area and huge comfortable bed. I especially enjoyed the spa bath, closet and vanity. This is the sort of room you don't want to leave! We had room service one night and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room overlooked a picturesque cathedral across the road which added to the atmosphere. This hotel is just amazing and my favorite in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Hwak89,
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere of this property, and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    411
    119
    65
    30
See reviews for
289
951
139
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Best hotel in Melbourne by far. The attention to detail was exceptional, little touches make all the difference to a stay. Our room was large with an amazing view (see photo) also great being able to open windows in the room. We found the location perfect, easy walk to the shops or trams and as the hotel is surrounded by trees and gardens it was very tranquil. We enjoyed the use of the spa, gym, pool and club lounge and found everything perfect. Would highly recommend this hotel we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Fiona C,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at our property. I am pleased to hear you made use of our hotel facilities and enjoyed the spacious guest rooms. The hotel is certainly located in a beautiful part of the city, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had our first stay recently at the Park Hyatt. I was struck by the shiny beauty of this hotel and it immediately instilled a feeling of opulence as we entered. Unfortunately the service we received spoiled this first impression and left us feeling disappointed. We were not greeted when we entered and noone offered to take our bag. The check in receptionist was snooty and rude and almost had me in tears. I told her it was our first time at the hotel but she made no effort to make us feel welcome. She mistakenly informed me in a rude manner that my package included one breakfast, not two, and that if I wanted to add an extra breakfast it would be almost $100 more?? I then told her to forget about the breakfast then as I did not want to eat on my own! Mysteriously, a letter was slipped under our door after midnight informing us that, as advertised online, the package did, in fact, include 2 breakfasts (without any apology, however for the treatment that occurred at reception). More about the check in experience, the receptionist had directed us to the 9th floor and our cards only led us to the 9th floor, although our room was on the 11th floor. So we had to make an extra trip back to reception to have that fixed.
Disappointly, although we had paid for a more expensive club level room, we were in a dingy dark room overlooking offices next door, even though I had requested a view of the cathedral.
On the positive side, the bed was extremely comfortable and large, the bathroom beautiful and the room itself lovely and quiet. The club lounge was lovely and we were able to see a view over Melbourne whilst sipping wine and eating canapes. The staff member in the club lounge was lovely and friendly. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the service and meal were great.
I am not normally a negative person but I was upset about the argument with the 'package' and the overall lack of care from staff. I am struggling with some health issues and we went into the city for a break so it was not a nice way to start the experience. I didn't ask to see the manager at the time as I was stressed and did not want any further conflict. I hope that they rectify and better train their staff so that this does not happen again. When I compare the experience to our last visit to the Intercontinental in Melbourne, the staff their could not have done more to make us feel welcome and to treat us with respect. I think I know where I will be returning for our next night out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuzzyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear JuzzyK,
I appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback. The customer service and the lack of communication you experienced whilst checking into property is a concern and I must apologize. I am pleased you enjoyed our Park Lounge facilities and do not hope this incident has ruined your perception of this beautiful hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne, and providing that opulent service during your next visit.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The rooms at the Park Hyatt are extremely spacious and luxurious, this was the highlight for us, as well as the location.
Unfortunately I have a few grumbles about the staff.
1. Check in staff (male) unfortunately was a little 'snooty'. I asked a simple question about a pre-arranged bottle of champagne and was told he knew nothing about it. I detailed the name of the staff I arranged it with and the date, and the order was found, but was offered no apology.
2. Upon arrival in the room there were no champagne glasses, although I asked for a specific number of glasses and confirmed it at the front desk. We waited more than 30 mins before heading down and asking for them. To which the staff member mentioned above replied 'well I certainly can't give them to you'. Which is not what I had asked anyway.
3. Twice I was given a package for a guest with the same surname as me. I handed it back both times. Then the package was left in my room! On the second day of my stay a member of staff came to my door with a note, it was asking me to call reception urgently. Simulatenously, the phone rang in my room. It was about the package again.

Aside from the above, the hotel is high quality. But my first impression was spoilt by the staff member.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Harvey2468,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at our property. We appreciate your comments in regards to the service issues you experienced, and I will address them with the team at the hotel. Should you wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to call me.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne.

Yours Sincerely

Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I took my daughter to wait outside this supposedly first class hotel to see Justin Bieber. There were around 20 girls also waiting. Security and Hotel Staff yelled at them, pushed them and talked down to them constantly. The girls were not screaming, and not doing anything wrong, in fact, they obeyed the over zealous staff immediately. They remained behind barriers and posed no safety issues. When taking my daughter into the hotel to get something to eat, a hotel staff member infringed my personal space and said I could go, but not the kids!!! I told him my kids were hungry and I would be feeding them - he argued with me, and finally relented. I did not expect to be abused like that - what incentive does that give anyone to stay at this hotel - none!

The café was hosted by rude staff = the food was overpriced, cold (it should have been hot) and service was dreadfully slow - in fact I had to go up to the desk to ask if we could order after 30 minutes

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Francine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear FrancineD,
Thank you for your recent comments. We were concerned to hear your feedback which referred to our associates being disrespectful to visitors. The period you refer to was a challenging one, with at times in excess of a hundred young people attempting to access the hotel through various areas. Our main priority was the safety and security of all residents and visitors. If our approach caused offence or appeared rude in any way we sincerely apologise.
Regards
Brett Sweetman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The room I stayed in had a beautiful view of St. Patricks Cathedral. The room was large spacious and very elegant with a large marble bathroom. The bathroom also had a large spa with a television built into the wall. Had an amazing sleep. Best sleep I've had at any hotel. The pool is amazing, as well as the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danis467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear danis467

Thank you for your feedback. I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and found the services and facilities to your satisfaction. I am also glad that you had a most restful sleep on one of our ‘Hyatt’ beds and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Robert Dawson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,613 reviews
352 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,747 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The rooms are large and tastefully furnished - a very easy hotel to either relax or return to after a busy business day. The facilities are wonderful whether it be the executive lounge or large swimming pool.
The only drawback is the distance from normal city activities like city businesses, shopping or restaurants but it is closer to theatre and the MCG if you are a football fanatic.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear RonWamberal

Thank you for passing on your feedback. I was extremely pleased to learn of your most positive experience and that you were also able to enjoy the Health Club and Lounge facilities during your stay. We look forward to your return to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Robert Dawson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Park Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing