We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #7 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and it really is a five star place. Service is excellent, breakfast was superb, location is ideal for central Melbourne. It's not a cheap hotel, but you get what you pay for. It's quiet, and very private, and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. The hotel oozes quality, but I'd recommend it more for business travellers than for holidaymakers. The only thing that I thought let it down was the spa, which just isn't as top rate as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Quinox
Thank you for passing on your feedback. I was very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay recently. However, have noted your comments regarding the Park Club Health & Day Spa and would welcome any further comments, if you would like to email me at melbourne.park@hyatt.com so that we can rectify any inconsistencies. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Yours sincerely, Robert Dawson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    471
    144
    79
    38
See reviews for
365
1,148
163
704
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a couple of nights here after two at the IC - the Park Hyatt is definitely a step up in quality. Superb Spa Deluxe room, with a bathroom the size of a small apartment. Sadly we did not have a chance to play tennis on the rooftop court. The pool was beautiful though a little chilly. The club lounge is worth the extra, friendly staff. We also had a complimentary formal "afternoon tea" here - we were amused that this included free sparkling wine but the actual tea was extra!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Vaux
Thank you for passing on your feedback. I was certainly pleased to learn that you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel’s services and facilities. Your comments regarding the pool temperature have been forwarded to our Engineering department to ensure an optimum temperature is maintained at all times. With regards to the High tea, could I ask you to email me at melbourne.park@hyatt.com with your stay details, so that we can further investigate this? I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Yours sincerely, Robert Dawson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Could not fault the Park Hyatt Melbourne, exceptional service for our stay. Quick check-in and check-out, Valet Parking available. Best buffet breakfast in Melbourne. Rooms are exceptional. Definately will not disappoint.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Andrew T

Thank you for passing on your feedback. I am extremely pleased to read that the hotels services and facilities were to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely, Robert Dawson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Had visited Melbourne a few times before but this was the first time staying here and will say we will stay here again next time we visit Melbourne.
Everything from concierge to the room was perfect and could not fault. The decor of the hotel was luxurious yet warm and comfortable, staff was so very helpful, room service was above what I would expect in Australia, and the cocktails in the bar were well made. I loved the touch of the surprise complimentary sparkling wine and chocolates at arrival in both rooms we had (2 couples in our party).
The location of the hotel is perfect, just outside of the cbd, but still walking distance to most things. Set amongst parkland made it so tranquil compared to staying right in the cbd.
This hotel lives up to the park Hyatt name, be sure to stay here and not the grand Hyatt in the city for this hotel can not be compared to any other hotel in Melbourne.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Julia Z

Thank you for passing on your feedback. I was most pleased to learn that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return when you are next in Melbourne.

Yours sincerely, Robert Dawson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stayed here for 2 nights. A few days prior to arriving I asked if I could be put in a higher floor room. I wasn't. Other members of my conference party were (so I know there were rooms available).

I found the air con to be stuffy. I called reception/concierge and it took over an hour for someone to arrive. The engineer confirmed there was an issue but as I was leaving I couldn't be bothered to change rooms (not that was offered to me).

Despite telling reception, they offered nothing. So I'll do the same and offer you "nothing" in my rating.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank clackers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear clackers2000

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that you had some concerns during your recent stay at our hotel. I would very much like an opportunity to further investigate your comments and ask that you email us at melbourne.park@hyatt.com with your stay details. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely, Robert Dawson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Having stayed here before I had high expectations for our stay and we were not disappointed!

On this occasion, I stayed here with a friend as we were attending a function on site, upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff at valet parking. Our twin room wasn’t ready upon arrival so we were given another room, within minutes of arriving at our room our luggage arrived and housekeeping arrived to split the bed to accommodate twin beds we had requested.

The room was spacious, clean and had nice views. My favourite was the Nespresso coffee machine, made me feel like I was at home. The bathroom was luxurious, with a corner bath with TV, massage jets in the shower, and all the complementary little extras.

Cocktails at the Radii bar were great, with so many to choose from the bartender helped us with our selection.

The room service was quick, and we loved the cheerfulness of the staff member who came to deliver our hot chips at 1.30am. All staff that we dealt with during our stay were friendly, professional and happy to assist with anything that we needed.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear shazm77

Thank you for passing on your feedback. I am very pleased to learn that the high standards of service we strive for are appreciated by our guests. Positive comments such as yours encourage our colleagues to work even harder to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely, Robert Dawson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

You are definitely stepping into another realm when you stay here. From your initial greeting to your check in, they definitely give their guests first class treatment. Every little request, they deliver - we had trouble with the toner in the business center and since it was a weekend, they wouldn't be able to get any toner until Monday. We just sent the document to the front desk, which they printed off and delivered to our room. The food is fantastic, the service is fantastic. The only thing about this location is that, if you don't have a car to get around the city, then you're kind of out of luck because you're not within walking distance to many of the attractions, though you are about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the free tram and probably a 10 minute walk to the nearest restaurant (other than the Radii).

Room Tip: I always recommend calling in to book (if possible). You may be able to get some free upgrades or e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Jamie A

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. Whilst I can see you enjoyed most aspects of the hotels facilities to your satisfaction, I was disappointed to learn that the Business Centre printer had run out of toner. I assure you that this has been addressed to ensure this type of incident does not happen again in future, my apologies for the inconvenience. We hope you have the opportunity to return in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely, Robert Dawson – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,468 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
2,286 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,028 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Park Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing