We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our first day here we received excellent customer service from the luggage desk out front (Billy) and the receptionist in the spa. We arrived at noon and our room wasn't ready yet, so we used the spa showers to freshen up a bit after our long flight from the US. Fantastic showers, lockers, steam room, etc. Our room was upgraded, which is always nice. We ran into some confusion when trying to book a second night as the front desk told us that they were full up, however Hyatt Gold Passport told us it was available. Odd! Overall, we loved the accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Jennifer E
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay, we are glad you enjoyed all aspect of the hotels service and facilities and that we met your expectations. Sorry we were not able to accommodate you for the second night. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    411
    118
    65
    30
See reviews for
289
948
138
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A night at the Park Hyatt was a birthday present from my son and his partner. All I can say is wow, loved it.

The room was huge, very clean with some surprises. Made my day finding a bottle of sparkling wine & chocolates with a personal note of welcome and the TV hidden above the bath tub behind glass. Service was excellent, as we left for dinner the cleaning lady treated us with a big smile and hello which you could tell she mean't. When we returned an hour later our room had been tidied and the bed turned down, excellent touch.

Bed was a very comfortable king and the view of the city just spectacular. Within easy reach of the CBD and sports venues. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Karen S
Thank you for your support of Park Hyatt Melbourne and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms superior.
Breakfast at Radii was very adequate.
The downside was the service.
I am a centurion and none of my benefits were explained to me on check in.
I ordered a bottle of champagne to drink before we were to go out and one hour later despite a few phone calls it did not arrive, yet it still appeared on my bill the next morning!
Also my paper was not delivered in the morning.
The location is beautiful but a decent walk from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear kittycat621
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It was pleasing to read you found most aspects ot the hotels service and facilities to your satisfaction. Our sincere apologies for the champagne incident and the team has been addressed in recifying our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel ranks with some of the most beautiful in the world. From the exquisite lobby with its inlaid marble patterns to its public rooms, it reflects luxury and taste. The rooms are not only beautifully decorated and furnished, but also large and comfortable, with all necessary amenities at hand, and the service is first-rate. The front desk staff was for us especially accommodating, taking the time to answer questions, offering advice and making dinner and other reservations efficiently and satisfactorily. The hotel easily arranged for connecting rooms so we could communicate with our adult daughters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Leonard R
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay, we are glad you enjoyed every aspect of the hotels service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the future.
Kind regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Impeccable service, great stay. Loved the amenities in the room such as great bathtub with tv, all the little toiletry extras, spacious room and view. The bed was amazingly soft and comfortable. Wish they had wi-if included. We had a special rate so can't comment on the usual rates but probably wouldn't think it was excellent value if we had to pay anymore. Close to CBD. Despite it being a rainy, cold weekend, we had no problem walking to the hot spots in CBD. Would say here again at a discounted rate, not full price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feletin_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Feletin_Foodie
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Park Hyatt Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The location and gracious room were excellent. I wish we could say same for the front desk staff; though the staff in the Club level lounge were superb. We enjoyed breakfast at Radii (and in Club lounge when that was open for breakfast (NOT everyday, though continental breakfast at Radii is covered in Club program). I am still confused about how the Club level is on 19, but does not seem to be 19 floors off the ground.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear SeasonedBiz Traveler
Thank you for your valuable comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering authentic hospitality and apologize that your expectations were not met during check in. Your comments have been shared with the team to recify the inconsistency. The Club Lounge is located on the Level 19 and the lobby is Level 7 and below the lobby at Level 5 are the event spaces that also have a entry. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent one night here with a 'before the game package'. I love everything about this hotel. It is on the outskirts of the CBD, the entrance is beautiful and staff were very friendly. We had a spa room and wow, it was so big, so much space, not just the bedroom but also the bathroom. The room was beautiful. The package included valet parking which we used and a voucher for drinks in the bar and buffet breakfast the next day. The breakfast was fresh with lots of variety and chefs cooking eggs anyway you like it. Yes it was expensive, but what 5 star hotel isn't? In terms of quality, we will return. It was a really pleasant night away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Kazm76
Thank your for your comments and we are glad you had a wonderful stay with us at Park Hyatt Melbourne. We llook forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,833 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Park Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing