We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Melbourne!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve at the Park Hyatt for the second time after trying another top Melbourne hotel in 2011. The Park Hyatt is a high quality, beautifully appointed hotel a 3 minute walk to Collins or Bourke Sts, the heart of the CBD. We stayed in a suite, beautifully appointed, spacious with a world class bathroom. The reception staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. Breakfast in Radii restaurant was most enjoyable with a wide range of choices. The Park Hyatt is no budget hotel but you do have to pay a price for luxury and quality in my opinion and it would be hard to find a better luxury hotel in Melbourne. We will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,201 - 2,207 of 2,776 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hyatt Melbourne twice over Christmas and New Year whilst visiting family. We had a King club room for 6 nights and after a short side trip stayed in a King Room. The King Club room was a huge open plan sitting and bedroom. There was a separate walk in wardrobe attached to the spacious bathroom. We made full use of this space for Christmas shopping and presents. The King Club room had a view of the Melbourne Cricket ground. The room decor, dark wood and art deco was beautiful but designed for soft lighting. The public spaces in the Hotel are luxurious and ostentatious, dark marble floors with a complex interlocking circles pattern and a lot of sculpture. The location is quite secluded, close to a large church, Parliament and the Treasury Gardens it is less noisy than other central Melbourne Hotels. It is still within a couple of minutes walk of Collins and Bourke Street where there are numerous shops, restaurants and theatres. The Club Room only serves continental breakfast on Sunday's, it's elegant and old fashioned with an excellent view. On other days breakfast in the Lobby Restaurant had good food but very indifferent service with long waits for coffee and butter which on several days only arrived after several follow ups. I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the Christmas period and know that the best staff aren't always available but the consistent confusion here was worse than I would expect. We used the pool and the gym which were spacious and had good changing facilities. We also stayed in a King Room, this didn't have the huge space of the Club room but still had a separate wardrobe. It was absolutely comfortable for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornimouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was another return visit. It's hard to put my finger on what it is that doesn't quite work at this hotel for me, but I always leave feeling not particularly happy about it. I have stayed here several times (reviewed twice) and feel the same way each time. On the plus side, the rooms are great; the bathrooms wonderful; the rooms and public areas are meticulously clean and well maintained; the staff are professional and polite ... and perhaps that's it: they are professional and polite, but not friendly - especially when compared with the Park Hyatt Dubai (my favourite) and the Park Hyatt Washington. If that's all I have to complain about, it's not much is it? :)

I travel to Melbourne regularly for work, and I don't think I'll go to the Park Hyatt again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beautiful, stunning art deco architecture tucked away in a secluded spot in the city of Melbourne. Hidden gem. Service was generally excellent. We stayed for a little less than a week and found it extremely relaxing and enjoyable. Luxurious appointments. The incredible size of some of the rooms makes you feel special.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Check in time is 2pm, we arrived around 1pm and our room was not available, then at 220pm when we returned our room was still not ready, it was not until 320pm when I had to again approach the staff at concierge that our room was changed and we were given our room key. The room was the same, however the view was not. (I was told the view was good, you could only see the centre of the hotel, not any of Melbourne) Then on top of that I had to ring again and ask for our bags to be delivered to the room, this is substandard compared to other 5 star hotels I have stayed at. The simplest of things, seemed so hard. Never again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, albeit they being really rather negative! Of course I was not thrilled to read what you wrote and would like to apologise for the issues you encountered while staying here. I note your saying that you will never return. That said, should you decide to, then I would insist you contact me directly so that I can assist you with your accommodation requirements. It would be a pleasure.

I trust you are well and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The good:
Superb beds, perfect temperature, sublime views, fast room service, attentive staff, great pillows (and I'm married to the fussiest pillow user ever!), all the amenities you need.

The bad:
Our room faced a young family and the noise travel between doors that directly faced each other was terrible. On the upside management were very fast to address the culprits when I rang (note for parents: I love children but I don't need to hear you screaming at yours at 5am!)

The ugly:
Absolutely nothing!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tandarook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice spacious rooms, good decor, excellent service and a great location. Enjoyed my visit - no issues. The only suggestion is that the hotel could do with a all day coffee-shop - the lounge is a poor compromise. Anyway, that was not a problem as Melboune is full of great cafe's and the one across the road (Spring Street) does an awsome breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms with the spa option are nice and only marginally more expensive, The rooms on the higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Softlanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,697 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 162 in Melbourne
8,275 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $223 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing