We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as nice as many other boutique-y, non-chain hotels Ive stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not as nice as many other boutique-y, non-chain hotels Ive stayed in”
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Well, first off, although the staff were perfectly pleasant, I have to admit that the staff at the Lindrum were not as friendly and welcoming as a) they could have been and b) Ive come to expect when in Australia (usually Sydney) where I find that there is generally an excellent service focus and attitude.
This hotel was not expensive but it certainly wasnt cheap - for the money, I think the room, though big, was pretty basic. Yes, it had everything I needed, and yes, the toiletries are good, the bed is comfy, there is a decent desk if you want to work, the shower is good. It ticks all the right boxes, but it has no soul/personality/style; whatever those 'things' are that distinguish a non-chain, boutique hotel from every other hotel. Yes, the lobby area and bar are nice and there is a pool table in there, which is quite cool. But to be honest, this hotel does not differentiate itself enough for me to spend the money to stay there again. Don't get me wrong; it is a perfectly good hotel. Can't really find any fault with it. But frankly, I'll stay at the Sheraton or somewhere and work on collecting some more SPG points instead....
I also had terrible trouble connecting to the internet both in my room (wired) and lobby (wifi) but free; it kept dropping out. The (nice) lady at the bar suggested it might be an issue with my laptop but it wasn't - I didnt have the problem anywhere else in Sydney during the rest of my trip.
Nice club sandwich though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_G.UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    307
    63
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
471
53
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2010

A lovely boutique hotel, very courteous and helpful staff. Lovely rooms - ours did not have much of a view but the rooms are beautifully apppointed. The lounge and bar areas are elegant and cosy. Breakfast was sensational. One downside is that there is no parking on site - you park in a public car park down the street and entry into the hotel is up a few stairs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbouranianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Why I'd stay at the Lindrum again:
-the toiletries, tried to find this particular fragrance of Natio elsewhere but couldn't.
-the coziness of the rooms.
-DVD player
-Mini bar has Koko black chockies in it YUM
-Nice and small hotel, no need to use the elevator.
-Raindrop shower
-Stylish textiles

Why I wouldn't stay again:
-Staff aren't really professional hotel staff. I've stayed three times and the most genuine and friendly interaction I had with the front desk was with the night auditor who is gone I think..
-The restaurant wasn't value for money.
-The view if you're not in a deluxe room. It's crap.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurajaynemelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

The room (Deluxe) and bathroom are huge, very clean and the bed was very confortable. Good location. Regular staff.
Nice, quiet and stylish place.
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franbrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Stylish old building with beautifully renovated modern rooms. Good location to walk to all the attractions. Staff only average - seemed somewhat disinterested. Several staff playing pool loudly near reception so guests felt like they were intruding on the staff's clubhouse. Good food and a really good hotel; just need to get the staff focussed on their service role. This is not a high rise hotel with city views if that is what you are looking for. But if you want a stylish, boutique hotel, this is one of the best.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
361 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in February 2010. As mentioned by others: don’t expect a view. But otherwise it is a very nice hotel in a historic building on an excellent location to explore the city. The rooms are spacious, good desk to work. Free internet access. Many restaurants in the surroundings. Walking distance to South Bank for evening dinner. A public parking garage is next door where you get a discount on parking (16 AUS dollar per 24 hrs) when your ticket has been validated by the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This hotel has one major issue, it is jammed between a car park and an office block. While most rooms have large windows, they in the majority back right onto the surrounding buildings leaving you likely never to open your curtains. We paid to upgrade to one of the rooms at the front which had a nice outlook, but there are a very limited number of these rooms. The rooms themselves are nicely fitted out and the staff were friendly. Location is also very good for central access to the city. However, for the relatively high price, a view of a car park is not great.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,245 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,458 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
892 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
7,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 26 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing