We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little extras that make Hotel Lindrum special.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #17 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's the little extras that make Hotel Lindrum special.”
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Booked 2 standard rooms for my sister's wedding. The Hotel Lindrum feels quite intimate and special when you first walk in. It has a small footprint and feels more like a boutique hotel than 1 owned by a large hotel chain. The Lobby doubles up as a bar. There is free wifi on the ground floor and there are 2 lounge areas as well as a small restaurant and a large pool table where you can play pool for free. The 2 rooms booked were on the 1st floor and the suite was on the 3rd. Having booked 1 room for myself and the other for the groom and bestman to stay ( as he couldn't stay with the bride before the wedding - the bride was in the suite upstairs), the staff really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Our little wedding party demanded extra swipe cards, ergonomic pillows, CDs, DVDs and the staff kept the bar open for us till late into the night of the wedding. I love how there aren't a million guests running around the hotel like other large chains and the study desk, dvd player and sound system in the room really made it feel like a home away from home. I loved the high ceilings which made the room feel so airy and the fluffy white robes. What was cool was the room had free internet and the hotel provided free cables as well to hook up the laptop. Another little touch is they provide stationery such as pens, paper, highlighter and a ruler. I know all this sounds like no big deal but it is the little touches that a hotel provides that I remember long after I have checked out. Well done Hotel Lindrum. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA7578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    312
    66
    11
    4
See reviews for
63
480
57
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

My wife and I were chased away from the Great Barrier Reef by a cyclone in March, 2009. We flew to Melbourne and had a wonderful time at the Lindrum Hotel. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff is courteous and very helpful. There are laptop computers available for travelers to use in the hotel rooms. The free tram passes directly in front of the hotel. Great dining is available in the hotel and within a few blocks of the hotel. The Australian Open Tennis Facility is within walking distance. It is an ideal hotel location in Melbourne.

Dr. Glendon Bogdon
7577 South Joshua Court
Franklin, WI 53132
USA

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallaby2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Near the end of a 7-week trip through French Polynesia, New Zealand and Australia, I spent a week in Melbourne. All along the way, my travel agent had booked me into very tourist group-oriented hotels, centrally located and mostly okay, but not very luxe.
I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into Hotel Lindrum. Very chic lobby, friendly, helpful staff, and the room was spacious (12-foot ceilings), well-appointed and very clean.
The hotel amenities, and its location on Flinders St., right across from the City Circle tram and near beautiful parks, made for a truly great week. It was the first time I really relaxed, and the boutique atmosphere of the Lindrum made it possible.
I look forward to returning to Melbourne in the near future, and the Lindrum will definitely be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

My Husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel Lindrum and were extremely pleased with our choice. We arrived at the Lindrum after a swift pickup and drop off by Jetbus (more about that later) and were received into the cosy interior of the Lindrum. Upon arrival there is a large wooden door - which is not completely obvious. Entry is into a central area combining a 'reception' area, bar, lounge and the Felt Restaurant off to the side. First impressions count and the Lindrum performed well. The feel of the lobby area is cosy and warm (not implying that it is small and pokey), the lines are minimal without being austere and comforting without being down home....
The staff were very pleasant and we were checked in quickly and eficiently by the lovely Blair.
We then made our way up to the room (in a lift - I believe a previous review said there was no lift - this was not the case). We were booked into a Junior Suite and once again, were happy with our choice. The room was spacious and while open plan in design, had a clearly defined lounge area and sleeping area. The bathroom was very nice and had a bath, rainshower and normal shower head (to keep everyone happy).
The room decor is very tasteful - there is not a brightly coloured bedspread in sight (thank God)! Soothing tones of chocolate, cream, white and the odd splash of colour from a red throw cushion or ottoman at the end of the bed. The timber floors add a great deal of warmth to the room - these feature in the bathroom too!
Very comfortable bed - and not too much noise from surrounding rooms or street areas.
There are no views to speak of - but this is not a hotel that would be chosen for views anyway - so we were not at all perturbed by this. Rooms had blinds and curtains for keeping out light at night - so no worries on this front either.
We had breakfast in house both mornings (as part of our rate) and were very happy the first morning - might have been a different chef the next day - as the breakfast wasn't a patch on the day before (this based on poached eggs that were overcooked and the same with the hash browns).... However - still nothing to warrant a mention to the staff. Great coffee both days and polite, efficient service.
The bar area was great for an afternoon drink (or two....), the full size billiards table also provides some entertainment. There was a gas fireplace in the bar area (which was lit at all times during our stay), coming from the tropical North, we loved the novelty factor of this and spent lots of time huddled around with wine in hand. Kai at the bar was lovely - we did not get to take him up on his offer of a wicked mojito - maybe next time?
Reception also kindly organised our on-line check in for our departing flight and printed out our boarding passes. A late check out was possible and we were welcome to stay in the bar area while waiting for our pickup to take us back to the airport.
Location wise - the Lindrum is great - close to everything as well as being close to transport routes to get you anywhere else you might want to be (the Lindrum is a short stroll to the wonderful Movida restaurant which has to be one of Melbournes greatest eating experiences...... Do not try and go here however without a booking - we booked a few months in advance and felt terribly smug as group after group of hopefuls were turned away).
Broadband internet is available in room, with wireless available in the lobby area (the Hotel apparently have laptops they can loan you if you are not travelling with your own).
I would most definitely recommend the Hotel Lindrum and will stay there again on our next trip to Melbourne. A wonderful hotel that felt very comfortable - chic without trying to hard, contemporary - without being likely to date in a hurry - a boutique hotel packed full of charm and personality.

* As an aside to the Hotel, used the Jetbus service to and from the airport, we were very happy with this service and had no difficulty with late pickups etc. A very efficient and cost effective service *

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussienard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2009

The location is sensational, so close to everything Melbourne has too offer. The staff were so attentive and prepared to help in anyway possible. The rooms were beautifully decorated, and quiet - very peaceful accommodation. Room service was generous, the restaurant great. Everything in this hotel was spot on. Overall, a very relaxing stay in a beautiful part of the city. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knoxNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin,Texas
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

loved The Lindrum,great staff,friendly.They did all they could to keep up with us .We are foodies and very picky with our dining selections.Loved Blair,Nathan,Adam and the rest.We would recommend to anyone.We hope to be back in 2010 for the tennis tournament.

Linda and Teddy

Austin,Texas

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austin_TexasLkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

There are many positives at this hotel, but I felt strong enough with a major negative to (after years of reading reviews) creating a tripadvisor account and posting.

There is no wireless internet in the rooms - but the real problem is that even when you are connected via Ethernet cable, the connection is worse than the old 2400 baud modems. It's so slow, that there's virtually no point in trying to use the internet.

This may not be a big deal for some, but I know for the young wireless generation, we plan our journeys via the internet - and a terribly slow connection is as good as no connection.

We complained to the staff, who shrugged and stated that "the internet is generally slower in Australia".

This is a major problem for a $220/nt hotel, and we hope they address it.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RobertGrunnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,472 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,028 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,868 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,069 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#4 of 160 in Melbourne
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 26 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing