We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel was lovely and my husband and I stayed in a suite right after flying in from the US. The sent us sweets since we were on our honeymoon, and the breakfast was amazing. My only complaint would be the mattress seemed a little flimsy, but other than that, nice stay!

Room Tip: Skip the suites on the first floor. We had a view of a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. Congratulations on your recent wedding.

Apologies about the mattress – we are actually in the process of upgrading all of our beds.

If you ever decide to return to Australia we would love to welcome you back.


Best wishes,



Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 944 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Location:
Great location close to restaurants; in walking distance to parks and public transport

Rooms:
big rooms with high ceilings, however bathrooms in need of renovation

Amenities:
free WiFi, safe, tea in the room, free newspaper to the room

Service:
the employees could be a bit more friendly

Others:
- late check outs after a certain time cost AUD 30/hour
- great breakfast places around the corner, as such no need to eat in the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment.
I apologise that you found the team unfriendly. We are really disappointed to hear that this was the case.

We need to do better.
We agree that we are in the perfect location to experience the many great restaurants in the area- but we are sorry that you didn’t have an opportunity to experience our own food and beverage offering.

On a separate note we are in the process of completing a rooms refurbishment which is due for completion in January.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DianaMc228
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Lindrum for a long weekend in September.
It was within easy walking distance to some great restaurants and bars, Federation Sq and the MCG.
Service is professional, but not over the top. Rooms are a good size, although as ours faced onto a multi-storey car park it was quite dark.
TV's are a little older and on the smaller size, but we were barely in the room to watch TV.
The Billiards table down stairs is lovely.
Overall it was a good solid hotel for a weekend in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us in September.
Our location is perfect for attending any event at the many local sporting arenas so we appreciate the mention.

It is a pleasure to learn that your enjoyed the level of service provided. In relation to the TV’s they are in the process of being replaced along with new beds and a rooms refresh overall.

The billiard table is an original feature from when the hotel was a billiard hall. It is also where the name of the hotel comes from after the famous billiard player Walter Lindrum.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next weekend visit to Melbourne.

Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great hotel who welcomed me of a 2 am flight - and a fabulous room at the front. Eating on a Sunday evening meant going out and plenty of restaurants within 20 minutes. A great alternative to the chain hotels

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front with the arched windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amhurst99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing us ! We agree that our deluxe rooms at the front of the hotel are fabulous!

As a true boutique hotel we agree we are a great alternative to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

One of the new breed of boutique hotels - which I am very enamoured with at the moment. Fronts the very busy Flinders street (tricky for cars during the afternoon clearway period but taxis unfazed by this). Gorgeous huge front door which was a bit tough to open for a lightweight like me (more on size issues later). Inside it's all atmosphere: comfortable and warm foyer-bar with the restaurant to one side. Further in, there's a cosy lounge area and also a pool table room.

There's a lift to get up to any of the 4 floors of rooms but there's also a lovely restored wooden staircase for when you're luggage free. The corridors are wooden floor with carpet down the middle for quietness.

The staff are professional and warm. The rooms are huge and comfortable. I understand that there's some renovations going on (the lift was clearly undergoing refurbishment); and part of my superior room (thanks for the upgrade) seemed to be in need of a 'reno' (the bit where they put the fridge and glasses and so on). But the rest was understated and warm in style. Loved the chaise for that brief recuperating rest between work and dinner.

Security note - there was no extra lock thing on the door; the one that prevents the door coming open. I hadn't realised that such an absence would make me pause but it did.

Okay - here's my other size beef: it was a really tricky stretch to hang my clothes in the wardrobe - way above my reach; and similarly with the hooks in the bathroom for the robe (yummy soft robe btw); and as for adjusting the shower from the pulsing type shower head to the rain one - forget it!

I really liked this hotel and hope I can get back there and try their restaurant too (breakfast was delicious; perfect eggs, perfect toast and good coffee).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your in-depth valuable feedback in relation to your stay with us. It is great to hear that you are a lover of boutique hotels as we are truly aiming to please you.

In relation to the door, I agree it is a fantastic feature and we spend a lot of time adjusting the door closer to try to ensure that it is not too difficult to open. I apologise that you had trouble with this.

Also I apologise that it was difficult for you to hang your clothes due to hangers being out of your reach and other issues such as positioning of shower taps and the bathrobe hook. We will certainly take the time to review.

You will be pleased to learn that we are currently in the process of refreshing our rooms. We plan for all of our rooms to be completed by January 2014.

Once again thank you for your detailed review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very nice stay on new years eve. Great view of the fireworks form room window. Food and cocktails very nice. Would recommend as it is in a great central location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay on New Years Eve. It is hard to believe that we are in October with New Year’s Eve only weeks away.

Hopefully we can tempt you back to celebrate at Hotel Lindrum again this year?

Best wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
886 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,229 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
8,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $156 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing