We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance from a time gone past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegance from a time gone past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Lindrum Hotel used to be the old Walter Lindrum pool hall. The facade of the building has maintained the charm of Melbourne from earlier times. Inside the old wooden floorboards and elegant decor meet to form a relaxing and inviting decor. There is no hustle and bustle of large hotels and the reception staff are quietly welcoming. Rooms are simple, clean and stylish and the personal products offered for gue sets are high quality. Breakfast was included with our stay and it was first class. For a visit to Melbourne, the location on Flinders St was perfect, especially for the tennis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel over tennis.

We agree that we are in the perfect location for access to any of Melbourne’s sporting arenas.

It is a delight to hear that you appreciate the ambience, service and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year for tennis.

Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    308
    63
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
471
53
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is an old historic building now fully reovated by Accor the hotel is small but very comfortable, finding the big brown entry door that is not marked with the hotel name was a bit painful.
Once inside there is a small reception which is nice, staff where very friendly and quickly check in was done.
The room 104 was just right good decore all was spick and span in the room, bathroom was quite good as well.
TV and reception of channels needs attention. There is a small bar area and large pool table on ground floor and with the hotel up in the quiet end of Melbourne was handy for a drink or coffee. Also ground floor has the breckfast area which was nice and had a personnal touch, although i noticed when we came back quite late that most of the breckfast food was out and setup most uncovered. Mmm an easy meal for mice or roaches, and not hyginic in my book hence we did not then have breckfast in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you for your recent in depth feedback in relation to the hotel. It is great to hear that you found the team to be friendly and efficient.

You will be pleased to learn that we are currently looking at updating our TV’s and channels available.

In relation to breakfast and set up we do indeed place our cereals out – we do however cover with cling wrap. Clearly however we need to change the placement as the perception to you as our valued guest was not great. This has been amended.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best Wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Lindrum has been my hotel of choice in Melbourne for a long time. A year ago management was taken over by a large chain and subsequently when I telephoned to book I was patched through to the call centre. This is one of my pet hates, and almost caused me to switch. However the hotel still retains a booking rep in house and I am glad to say the high level of service has been maintained. Recently this extended to securing medical attention for a business colleague and the staff could not have been more helpful and caring during that worrying time.

Room Tip: The rooms are large with high ceilings but not many have views. I prefer to book rooms away from the...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ggass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your continued loyalty- thank you. We endeavour to succeed with our levels of customer service.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoy liaising with Sue our Reservations Manager who recently celebrated ten years service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Best Wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

A view of a concrete wall is my only complaint, but the view of the car park sounds worse. The location was excellent for walking to the Australian Open. After staying at several large hotels on our holiday, the cozy ambience of The Lindrum was most enjoyable. The food at Felt was superb. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Overall, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passwordnotavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,


A pleasure to hear that you enjoyed Hotel Lindrum and particularly the boutique aspect. Also great to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and service.

Unfortunately as we are in the inner city some of our rooms do not have a fantastic outlook. We do however have deluxe rooms at the front of the hotel which have large windows with lots of natural light for future reference.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for the Tennis the last couple of years - the location is ideal for Melbourne Park and the MCG.

This is a gorgeous little hotel that's chic and upmarket but relaxed at the same time with excellent service and reasonable food. The rooms are well appointed and contemporary and there is a nice bar/dining area near reception

Highly recommended.

Only complaint is that it seems to have gone up in price since being bought by Accor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel over tennis and your continued loyalty.

We agree that we are in the perfect location for access to any of Melbourne’s sporting arenas.

It is a delight to hear that you appreciate the ambience, service and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year for tennis.

Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Lindrum for three nights. The location to get around is great. I was there for work and this is only a few hundred metres away.
I normally stay at the Mecure, and will do again in the future.
The staff were fantastic, however the room was not that great. Clean with a view of a carpark, that was noisy all night. The shower was poor at best.
For this money I like a little bit of a view, and a shower that has decent pressure. Overall I enjoyed, but these things make a big difference when using hotels for 60+nights a year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly, thank you for your feedback. It allows us the opportunity to fix any problems that you have encountered.

I apologise that your expectations were not met during your stay with us.
We will test the water pressure in our rooms to ensure that it is up to standard. As a city centre property our studio rooms do have limitations when it comes to the view. We do however have a number of deluxe rooms that have a great view towards the city parkland.

It is a pleasure to learn that you found the staff fantastic. I hope on this basis that you may consider returning in the future.

Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Location of this establishment is fantastic with many great restaurants, theatres, etc. within short walking distance. Parking next door worked out reasonably priced ($16 overnight) with hotel validated discount.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROB6981_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We agree and believe that we are ideally placed both for business and leisure travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Address: 26 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing