We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #34 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

Booked a night at the Mantra on Russell due to it's great locaction and good value ($200 including parking and breakfast). Check-in was quick and easy and the room was in great condition including a fantastic balcony (as requested). Ensuite was a little small and I'm not a big fan of the all-in-one bath and shower.

We opted to get breakfast in our room the next morning (rather than eat at the restaurant). This wasn't a problem and it arrived on time and everything was correct. Food was very good for a room service breakfast including a fantastic fruit salad and great poached eggs.

Check out was complicated slightly by an error with the breakfast charge but this was resolved relatively quickly.

Overall this is a great hotel and I have already booked our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manorlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    662
    163
    56
    26
See reviews for
406
490
73
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

I came down from Sydney for the night and my overall opinion of the Hotel was very good. I wouldn’t go so far as others to suggest it was a 5 star experience though. My room was on the 6th floor and noise wasn’t an issue until 9am when a hammer drill started up, I had been up for a while so it wasn’t a problem. The room was clean and tidy, everything worked and being able to check in earlier than advertised and leave luggage after checking out to explore the city wasn’t a problem for staff at all. The pool temp could have been a bit warmer and not having a way of stopping anyone from getting in the lift and going up to your floor needs to be looked at also, but otherwise all good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

My partner and I wanted a short getaway to relax, and while it may strange that we chose a hotel in the heart of the city, it was the best decision ever. Mantra on Russell was the perfect place. Clean, welcoming and providing all the creature comforts of a hotel we had the most relaxing day away. It was so quiet, you didn't feel you were in the middle of Chinatown. The staff were lovely, and parking is really easy.
And at $139 a night, it was a true winner.
Highly recommend for a Melbourne weekend, or business.
Pool, spa and gym looked great, but didn't have time to try it out.
Only complaint: not many Foxtel Channels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kermi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed here recently, as even though I am a Melbourne resident, scorching temperatures three nights straight sent us to the Mantra for some air con and pool action. Based on these requirements, I was very happy. The air con worked really well, the staff were all very professional and the pool was perfect. The room was immaculate and the bed comfortable. The location is great but can get a little loud as it's in the heart of Chinatown - not unbearable but a consideration if you're a light sleeper. Would definitely stay at the Mantra again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

The location of this hotel is great - right next to China Town, a bustling colourful part of Melbourne. It's also within crawling distance of Swanston and Bourke streets, ie. shopping, restaurants, people, bars, cafes, buskers, tram stops. Despite the central location the room is beautifully quiet. You can shut out light and noise and get a good night's sleep.
We stayed in a studio room on the 15th floor with a balcony. Aside from a bit of dust on the bedside table (that was only apparent when you turn the light on), it was clean, modern, nicely decorated (no awful pastels) and peaceful, with everything you could want, including real coffee and a plungeur, a stereo system and nice bathroom products. A complimentary bottle of water is provided which immediately gives the hotel a sense of generousity.
Staff are warm, friendly and efficient and made my 7 year old daughter feel comfortable. The pool is an indoor pool - coolish but ok when you got used to it and big enough, though the sun loungers were outside and only accessible through the gym and towels were not provided.
The bar is a relaxing, contemporary space with huge windows so the ambience of Russell st comes through and has lovely comfy places to sit and have a drink. Buffet breakfast was also fine. Parking is available next door for a $20 fee. Go to the 5th floor and enter directly into the hotel.
For the price I consider it extremely good value and don't think I'd want to stay anywhere else. The Adelphi for example is much more expensive and trendy but didn't have nearly as good a feeling as Mantra on Russell.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

We took our two children for an overnight stay at this hotel and took the option of a special advertised package including a family pass to the aquarium, popcorn, the use of a playstation console and games and boxed breakfasts.

We made use of the carparking facilities. If you have a larger car such as a 4wd - forget it! You will struggle to get in and out of the matchbox sized spot they have allocated.

Check in was slow, staff seemed fairly disinterested. They were not aware of the details of the package we had purchased and struggled to get everything advertised together for us. The popcorn never showed up as they said they didn't have any. We left them to get the other items together while we parked the car and took our bags to our room.

Our room was on the top floor and was difficult to find. It was finally reached by negotiating a very narrow and steep flight of stairs which our children struggled to carry their bags up. The room looked quite promising. It was large and modern and had a view out onto Russell Street with floor to ceiling windows. There was one bedroom with shared ensuite/bathroom but no single beds to be seen! The hotels answer was that children shared the pull out sofa bed. My son and daughter were less than impressed at the idea of having to sleep together. Upon closer inspection the room was quite dirty. The bathroom had a leaking shower and toilet.

We collected the playstation console, aquarium pass and the breakfast boxes were delivered. We left the room to eat out in the CBD and returned late at night to sleep. The room, with its large windows was absolutely FREEZING. No amount of extra blankets could have kept us warm enough. We were glad to check out and wouldn't choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blackwater165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, February 12, 2016
Dear Blackwater165,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I have reviewed together with my team to refine how we ensure that all of our guests have fantastic stay.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and the friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

Our experiance with Mantra has hit a customer sevice low. My wife traveled to Melbourne on a business trip, and was booked at the Mantra for her stay. They fraudulently put charges for her stay on our credit card. My wife's employer was to be direct billed for the accomodations. More than $3,000 dollars U.S. was put our personal credit card. When questioned about fraudulent charges they have out right lied about making the charges intially and about refunding our money. I can not recommend this place to stay for any foreign travellers. Once they have your money good luck getting it back, especially when it is their error.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank osok308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, February 12, 2016
Dear osok308,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I apologise that we didn't deliver a positive guest experience. I have reviewed together with my team to ensure that we identified where we can improve and have reviewed our procedures.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#38 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Property: Mantra On Russell
Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing