We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra On Russell
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
The Exford Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Carlton Club(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quest on Bourke(Melbourne)
View Hotel
QT Melbourne(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rydges Melbourne Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,729)
Filter reviews
2,729 results
Traveler rating
1,272
1,064
264
80
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,272
1,064
264
80
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationone bedroom apartmentclose to china townstreet noisegreat place to staycentral locationfull kitchenbuffet breakfastbourke st mallfree wifithe heart of the cityroom servicegood sizethe air conditioningwashing machinegreat roomcar parking
Filter
Updating list...
2,168 - 2,173 of 2,729 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed with my wife and teenage daughter in a one bedroom apartment. The room was spacious and comfortable. My daughter described the roll-away bed she was sleeping on as “hospital looking bed”. She did sleep well, although I think this bed is getting close to its use-by-date. The room decor could also be described as being a bit dated, however this is personal taste and purely cosmetic.

I requested a high level room and lucky enough one was available. The room faced Russel street and the city view was superb. Although we were on the 17th floor, the room was not completely immune to noise… but hey, this is the city. Note, this did not effect our sleep quality.

Other points include:

• The indoor heated pool and spa, gym and sauna are all great hotel facilities.
• The reception staff were all very helpful, friendly and professional.
• I liked the fresh iced water in the lobby is a nice detail.
• The location is handy for Chinatown, the Greek precinct and Lygon Street Italian restaurants.
• The free city tram is 2 blocks away, an easy few minutes walk straight up Russell street.

For the price, facilities, location and most importantly, the friendly staff, you can’t go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TichSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a great 4 nights at The Mantra and were extremely pleased we stayed here. The facilities were well maintained, the staff ever helpful and the location superb for shopping and dining. We enjoyed using the pool and spa, the weather in Melbourne was wintery so it was very relaxing to warm up this way.
I have stayed at a number of properties in Melbourne and this is my new favourite!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirstiepurdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Mantra on Russell certainly ticked all of the boxes for a weekend of relaxation, food and sport - yes all of these combined can be relaxing!!! Great location to top end of the city pubs, and of course iconic Chinatown where everyone's budget and palate is catered for. Spacious rooms, balcony and kitchenette decked out with quality fittings. Easy walk through the Gardens to the MCG. Good gym facilities, and the pool deck is worth a visit - large pool, spa and sauna. Buffet breakfast a worthwhile choice as an added extra This place has something for everyone! .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jenattard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Good location, at cbd chinatown .
clean, friendly service.
Good value for money.
Spacious living room with full equipped kitchen.
House keeping thoughtful 5 out of the 7 days we stayed.
Washed our dishes n even arrange our soft toys.: )

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank chinhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A great hotel for a weekend in town. Centrally located, just around the corner from heaps of restaurants, Theaters, China Town and just a short work up Russell street (10 minute stroll) to Lygon Street Carlton and 100s of restaurants/cafes there and Old Melbourne Gaol..
/We stayed on 5th floor - reasonable view (office blocks few trees etc) I imagine higher floors would have better views. Well appointed kitchen, we didn't need this, but would be good if staying for a few nights.
The breakfast was great value, they will poach eggs on request and I imagine any other type that's not in the bainmarie.
Little bag of nuts available on reception desk to take for a snack. Very nice touch.
Helpful staff. Stored bags after late checkout for pickup later in the day.
(Finger marks on sliding glass door to balcony and a few scuffed marks on Balcony wall, but all else very clean)

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room in one of the top floors - just to get a better view of Melbourne.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viv H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews