We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great family choice, perfect location, great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #38 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great family choice, perfect location, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Family of five stayed in two br adjoining apartment. Perfect set up late rooms and bathrooms. Good sized kitchen and very clean. Maybe a little dated and could've used extra pillows in main br but overall it was great. Loved the pool, gym and sauna. Breakfast was perfect, eggs cooked to ur liking and plenty of choices. Location is perfect, next to china town and the Greek restaurants along lonsdale street.
Overall a great place for a family to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonmegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks jonmegs delighted to hear you had a great stay - we'd priced our "Dual Keys" (One Bedroom plus Studio Apartment) at our 2 Bedroom apartment pricing over this school holiday period (normally sold at a premium) it's proved very popular for these holidays so we'll definitely be doing that again.

Thanks again for the fantastic review and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    499
    127
    45
    21
See reviews for
282
359
60
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tassie tourers
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here several times now and find it great. Well located in Chinatown area and near most theatres. Always neat and clean with helpful staff and nice facilities and a few little touches like good toiletries, chilled lemon water in the foyer..trying to add that bit extra. Recommend this one as a great choice, not top top of the line but the best value I have founf in Melbourne and faultless.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tassiestourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello tassietourers

Welcome back and thanks for your continued support and fine words it's appreciated. Let me know when you’re next dropping by so I can say hi personally.

Thanks again for writing!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Whether you're in town for a sporting event, arts, culture hit or just a getaway and some shopping it's all within walking distance of here. The rooms are very spacious and well furnished so that you feel like you're at home. The breakfast each morning was good value, and the staff here as at reception were mostly friendly and accommodating (it was AFL grand final weekend so extremely busy). Good value, clean and full of creature comforts, with Chinatown literally around the corner we will certainly be heading back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jak1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Jak1611 thanks for taking the time to write and delighted to hear you had a great stay over Grand Final weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Mantra on Russell for $234 for a one bedroom apartment with a balcony room 1813. The apartment served its purpose - a place to get ready before hitting the town, and to catch some zzz's before going home. The not so great things -
• Improvements could be made with the decor, it is tasteful yet very dated.
• The twin king bed sunk in the middle.
• The bath was over the shower.
• A couple of chairs on the balcony would be a great addition.
• Most apartments these days provide a mp3 or iPod dock - this would be another 'great addition'.
• Parking is quite expensive as the mantra uses Wilson car parking. It cost us $20 from 6.30pm till 10am the following day and this is the cheaper weekend rates. Mantra can only provide a daily $30 multi entry deal.
The good parts about our stay were the view, cleanliness & customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Lena S

Thanks for posting we are working through renovation plans so always appreciate suggestions. With regards to parking our $30 rate covers 24 hours and unlimited entry and exit. We are also clients of Wilson Parking so are happy for guests to park either via us or them directly to secure the deal with the best rate fit.

Thanks again for your feedback and look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
226 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you are looking for a large room then this hotel is hard to beat. I had a 1 bedroom apartment with a good size bathroom, separate bedroom, kitchenette and a living room with couch, a small desk and TV. The hotel is convenient to the city and right next to China town. I found rates at the Mantra much lower than the name brand hotel chains. I had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was also pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city for the best view. The flower drum Chinese restaurant is probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks nodrama1 I like your no nonsense approach to review writing and appreciate your candid post.

Great to have you over to stay and perhaps we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at a lot if 5 star motels over a few years for work and pleasure but this hotel was outstanding on its service nothing was a problem
Check in was very quick only took less 5 mins room service was quick parking was easy no hassle
We missed breaky on Sunday arrived a few minutes too late however the hostess told us to take a seat and brought out A big plate of everything for both my husband and I and coffee which was appreciated.
Location is central for everything we needed.over all this hotel from its large rooms to its outstanding service was a great place to stay in Melbourne as we have tried a few in Melbourne over past 12 months I will chose to stay only at mantra on Russell again,the hotel manager has the highest standard for customer service as was seen on checkout
Thank you to all staff who made our stay perfect !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becsloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you Becsloane - you've put the biggest collective smile on the hotel teams faces today with your review. They all work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a fantastic stay - we don't always get it completely right but it's magic when we do!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Travel agent had booked m stay for the wrong night; however hotel staff sorted this out quickly. Room was very large and comfortable. Only negative was it was a bit noisy during night when a party in china town was on. The location is very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison-act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Harrison-act

Great to hear we got your booking sorted for you and that you found our accommodation to your liking. Being in the inner city we do have higher ambient noise levels particular on the weekends with our proximity to China Town however always feel free to contact our staff if you detect late night buskers as our team have them moved on extremely quickly as it breeches city ordinance.

Again thanks for the great review and we look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#51 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#65 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#81 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Property: Mantra On Russell
Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing