We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #36 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was just a quick trip to go and see HH, the Dalai Lama, stayed here in an apartment room on the 16th floor.
Very happy with the room and hotel with it's friendly staff, had a king bed, very comfy, and awesome duck down pillows. Tv in the bedroom and lounge room, fully serviced kitchen AND washing machine /dryer (home away from home).
Chinatown was next door, heaps of restaurants, a few minutes walk to the city center, easy walk to South Gate, Flinders Station etc (where you can catch the free city circuit tram) we were within easy reach of 'everything', Melbourne is an awesome city, we loved it !

Room Tip: Stay in the higher rooms to avoid traffic noise
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for writing deb598 delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and friendly staff - sounds like you had fun so happy to be part of that experience.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,285)
There are newer reviews for Mantra On Russell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,894 - 1,900 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Pro's : Great location; Friendly and informative reception staff; Buffet breakfast enjoyable, Spacious apartment; Effective air conditioning - a real plus as it was vey cold outside; Great water pressure in the shower.

Con's : Unable to fill prior request for a high level with good views - 9th floor disappointing outlook and noisy through the night; Mattress appalling - narrow, could feel the springs digging in and dipped badly; Fittings in bathroom ridiculously low - would suit a five year old; Bath towels worn; Extra cost for coffee to be made for breakfast; On departure a requested charge for minibar usage - we hadn't used - apology was made but disappointed that I needed to explain.

Room Tip: No good suggesting as requests can't be made.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi Chez C

Thanks for sharing your recent stay experience and pleasing to note most aspects of your stay were to your liking. With regards to high floor requests we generally meet around 90% of all requests however given we have 13 accommodation floors available we are not always able to fulfil all requests hence the no-guarantee approach - it's a bit like putting together a large puzzle on a daily basis balancing room types and bedding configurations with lengths of stay.
Also in reference to your coffee charge query - our breakfast buffet does include continuous percolator coffee, our staff however always like to offer the full "cafe" coffee experience which is very popular with guests but does come at an additional cost.

Thanks again for writing and I hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for a shopping trip and had a great stay. We arrived about lunchtime and were given our room straight away. There is a large kitchen and living area, good sized bedroom (we had twin beds) and a large bathroom. Everything was very clean and the beds were so comfortable that we both slept for an unheard of 11 hours on the first night!

It isn't the most modern of apartments décor wise but that didn't worry us. We loved the location - literally around the corner from all the restaurants in Chinatown, a 10 minute walk to Lygon street, short walk to Bourke street mall etc and you could also walk to the MCG or Rod Laver Arena; we got a taxi to Hisense because all our shopping had left us with very sore legs! At $7.70 it was well worth it.

We didn't notice much noise at all either. When you open the sliding door to the balcony you can definitely hear it but as I said above, we slept really well (and I am a light sleeper) on both nights.

I also have to make mention of the staff - all we dealt with were super friendly, helpful and very efficient. After staying at quite a few places with indifferent staff it was a lovely change. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks JustAllie I think you've captured the spirit of our hotel team and location perfectly. We aren't the newest on the block but our team take great pride in ensuring a memorable stay for all our guests.

We appreciate you writing and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Mantra on Russell was all we had hoped for. After a warm welcome from the Reception team, we quickly settled into our "apartment" 1015... As we had previously requested 4 Single Beds (we were a group of 4 girls in town to celebrate a special birthday), we were delighted to see our request had been possible. 2 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bathroom, 1 Cloakroom, Kitchenette & comfortable Lounge/Dining room was spacious and comfortable for our 4 days stay. An added bonus was the Balcony over looking Russell Street and the view beyond. The Mantra is located on Russell Street, handy to the Mall and a quick stroll up the hill to catch the City Circle Tram. We walked to Lygon Street and Queen Victoria Markets easily.
Congratulations to the hard working team, especially the Housekeeping crew. Although the bathroom cupboards are starting to "swell and show their age", the suite was lovely and clean. Well done. Also a big thanks for the extra doona's for the "Queenslanders" and towels. Much appreciated.
One hiccup for me was the "nightclub/rave" that warmed up each night around 11.00pm with the noise thump, thump, thump' till the wee hours. Others in the group didn't get woken, so perhaps I'm a light sleeper. Earplugs would be my recommendation.
Our package included Full Breakfast which was beautifully presented in the Buffet style. The lovely ladies were ever helpful and always greeted us with a warm smile.
For great value, well located, clean & spacious accommodation with a warm welcome, please do yourself a favour and book this property!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Codidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks Codidy - really appreciate the feedback - great to share with our Housekeeping team. Certainly looks like you managed to pack in a lot of fun over the four days!

It would be our pleasure to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

ok so we got a special deal, but both the monetary value and also importantly the staff, were great! Arrived off the Sydney overnight train at 8:15 and in my room before 9! Staff could not have been more helpful. Room finishes just a little tired (we had an upgrade to a 1BR suite) but it did not affect anything really and it was beautifully clean. LOADS of space, a really comfy bed, kitchen as well, and lounge area. Gym was well used. Looked out over Lt Bourke St and Chinese cuisine, 200m to Greek in Lonsdale, and a 10min walk to Lygon St. Public transport almost at the door, NSE or W. I was there to work, and plenty of desk/table space and then joined by my better half - had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mousey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi mousey84

Thanks for the great review - we appreciate you writing and delighted to hear you had a great time. The team were also delighted to receive your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I really liked the location of this hotel, very close to transport and great restaurants. It's very clean and tidy, fantastic reception staff and the one bedroom apartment we stayed in, was very spacious and comfortable.
I was not impressed with the buffet breakfast AT ALL! For $26 per person, it was terrible. I had the last scraping of Bircher muesli, an hour later STILL had not been replenished. Guests were queuing up for atleast 5-10mins waiting for plates and bread. The fruit, yogurt, juices and pastries were not topped up once in the hour we were there and the coffee tasted like cigarette ash. Oh and there were 2 staff members literally running to try and keep up with the demands of the guests. This is not a good look- management need to hire more staff at peak times!
Overall, I would stay here again and recommend to others, however skip Id advise skipping the breakfast to avoid the chaos.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisstylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi Krisstylee

Thanks for taking the time to post - I've shared your breakfast experience with the team and fully agree it was not up to our usual standard - on that particular day we had double the normal uptake and clearly were caught completely unprepared - and for that I apologise. On a positive note it was great to see all other aspects of your stay were to your liking.

If you are staying again in the future please feel free to contact me directly so I can put right your original breakfast dining experience.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in a one bdrm apt....was okay. Was very centrally located. I could walk everywhere. The staff was very accommodating, breakfast was okay. Was a bit out dated and could use an update. The front desk was very helpful on where to eat, withing walking distance. They provided me with maps to walk to go shopping as my husband was golfing all day. I did find the Casino down the street. The walk along the waterway down was nice too. A LOT of shopping to be done. Make sure to have good walking shoes as I had flip flops. But was nice just strolling along.

Room Tip: This hotel is located right on a very busy street....do not get a room facing the road that it is on...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pineapple2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hello pineapple2u - Thanks for posting your feedback it's always appreciated and as you noted we do enjoy a fantastic location in the city centre.

Great to see you had fun with the shopping and although noting your location as Hawaii if we can be of service again in the future it would be our pleasure.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,884 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,110 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,101 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $124 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mantra On Russell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing