We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #36 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent a weekend with Chez. Had a great room on the 18th floor facing Little Bourke a bit noisy at night but isn't that why we stay there. A great location close to everything. Visited the library for the first time, it is a hidden gem. Caught the city circle tram down to the footy straight to the door at Etihad (pub crawl home). Staff were helpful. Parking was $30 a night which is a bit rich given it was a weekend. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonAcko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thanks GordonAcko great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. For a weekend Parking Tip our rate covers multiple entries and exits and provides direct hotel lift access and secured options on our dedicated level (5). As we share facilities with Wilsons Parking we are also happy for guests to choose to park directly with the parking company on their levels and take advantage of their published weekend rates which may better suit an individual’s parking requirements.

Thanks again for writing.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,050 - 2,056 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Myself and a family member stayed for 8 nights in a one bedroom apartment to attend the Comedy Festival. It was a great place to stay- we were able to walk to all the venues and being so close to Chinatown was a bonus. We stayed on the 15th floor, with a balcony looking over the CBD. The apartment was perfect for us- clean, well presented, with a kitchen and laundry (loved that!) Would happily recommend the Mantra on Russell- the staff were friendly, we had no issues checking in or out, had a great trip- no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hi Kell26

We appreciate you choosing us for your 8 night stay and as you mentioned having a full laundry available can be handy! Also thanks for taking the time to write and glad we could be part of your Comedy Festival experience.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went in totally blind when booking this hotel, so when we arrived we were pretty impressed with the location and the room configuration. We had 2 adults and 3 teenage kids. It was a bit tight with the cot bed but comfortable enough. The rooms were clean but had a few small maintenance issues. Parking & unloading the car was a bit of a challenge but the central location made up for it.

All in all a very good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disco3QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi Disco3QLD

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do enjoy a fantastic location in the heart of the city with easy walking access to great retail, entertainment and eating precincts. A tip for a future stay - before you check in you can drive your car to level five of the carpark, buzz reception via the intercom and you'll be able to unload your car directly into our hotel lifts.

Thanks again for staying and for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We recently spend a long weekend visiting Melbourne and spent 2 nights at the Mantra on Russell. Its a fabulous place to stay with the rooms being totally self contained 1 bedroom apartments with a sofa bed in the living area. Would be perfect for a longer stay also. The rooms were very clean and well presented. Staff were helpful. The hotel is located next to Chinatown, and has the MCG, Bourke St, Federation Sq and the Aquarium all in walking distance plus a lot more. Our room looked onto Chinatown and we were surprised that our room was so quiet. We will definitely stay here again next we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hi Helen C - Thanks for posting your recent stay experience and delighted to hear you had a great stay. We looked forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

March 2013: This is the third time we have stayed at the Mantra on Russell. We stayed in 1 bedroom apartment, spacious clean, fully equipped kitchen and washing machine & dryer. Terrific location, great service and friendly helpful staff. Picked up a special rate online, cheaper than booking via Mantra website.
The carpark is expensive if you pay the hotel rates at the weekend. We arranged with front desk staff to park a car on Sunday afternoon and they advised us that they would charge the parking cost to our room. Hotel charges $30 a day, secure parking on 5th floor accessible with room card. We found out later that the carpark next door is not managed by the hotel. Carpark have a special daily $10 weekend rate. The carpark one block down has an $8 daily weekend rate. When I asked the staff why they hadn’t advised us of the carpark weekend rate they told us that it was not up to them to tell visitors that they didn’t’ manage the carpark and the rates varied at the weekend. It was up to us to check the rate advertised above the car park on Saturday or Sunday morning. Apart form the carpark issue everything else was terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony when you are making the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TG134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Theresa134

Thanks for posting a great review - we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. A quick note on parking rates our $30 a day rate covers you for unlimited exits and entries per day and is very competitive for week days and those requiring multiple trips in and out and flexibility around time, security and direct hotel access. You can certainly get cheaper weekend rates directly from Wilsons providing for one entry/exit and with time restrictions. I guess you could say there are options for all requirements which is great for our guests.

Thanks again for writing and we look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were lucky enough to be upgraded to an interconnecting suite, providing us with a bigger living space and an extra bathroom - perfect for two couples.

The rooms were spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the linen was excellent.

The best aspect of our stay was the staff who were just so genuinely friendly and helpful!

This hotel is an awesome CBD location - we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go, and it was super central to the theatre where we were seeing a show.

Thanks Mantra!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank You Deborah73 - we do enjoy a fantastic city location and are always looking for ways to ensure our guests have a fabulous stay. I appreciate being able to share your feedback with the team and look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have just spent two nights here and was so surprised at the size of the appartment. It was clean and well laid out we were in 1308. The view was not great but that didn't worry me at all. Booked on line a few weeks earlier on special, so got a great bargain. Staff were friendly and helpful.
There was one stain on carpet near bed which looked like blood, but this was the only negative I could think of.
Sharon W

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allycat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello allycat46

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent stay with us - at 66sqm our One Bedroom apartments are a great size and as you say can be really competitively priced. With regards to the carpet stain unfortunately its red wine and we've been unable to remove it - it will however be replaced under refurbishment.

We look forward to having you stay again with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,132 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
2,020 reviews
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#58 of 161 in Melbourne
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $131 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mantra On Russell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing