We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All boxes ticked but mix up with booking”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #36 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The location of this property was great and the rooms are huge. I was on the 6th floor right next to the gym and pool. The pool and gym is of a great standard but when the door opened and closed it was a bit noisy but not bad. I loved the rooms and would stay again. Right in the heart of the city near China town. I had a few issues with my booking but the staff helped with this and it was resolved. Everything at stay was great besides staff could have been a little bit more friendly and welcoming they didn't say alot.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a view and not next to the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello Jodieds

Thanks for posting your feedback - apologies for the booking mix up and I've copied the team on your comment regarding check in interaction. Glad you loved the rooms and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,125 - 2,131 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Got a fantastic deal and when we arrived we couldn't believe what we got not only. 40% off but a apartment as well.within walking distance to Victoria Market, Flinders Station, Burke street mall. about 50 Asian restaurants and 12 Greek. Would sat again without a second thought.

Room Tip: If you want somewhere with ten min walk to most Melbourne attractions and the best Greek,Chinese, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigger71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thanks for the fantastic review Tigger71 - We do enjoy a great central city location. Keep a regular eye on our website for our frequent specials on rate and inclusions!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

One of the best locations for us. Very close to China Town, Elizabeth Street and Melbourne Central. Great location to stay - close to Woolies, cafes, restaurants, bars & shops.
The room was large, bathroom nice and large. Two TV's one on the lounge and one in the bedroom was a lovely added extra. The housekeeping was a little lax though - didnt really make the beds properly, but she was lovely. Highly recommend Mantra. Staff were really nice too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hi Kathryn T

Thanks for posting your feedback and the comment re bed-making - it's an area we are focusing on at the moment - I like you like the bed to be returned to a fully made state not just a fluff and a straighten!

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very spacious, clean and the bed was very comfy! We will definitely be staying here again. The location is excellent and service was very good. The pool and spa were very nice, clean and warm.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy9919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi mandy9919

Thanks for the great review - delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The team and I look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The view we had from the room was fantastic, the pool was gorgeous and fantastic to stay in for a while like we did, the spa was good, the rooms very spacious, 2 tvs which is great to see something if someone else didn't want to see what you wanted to. Kitchen was spacious, good sized fridge, car park expensive at $30 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, they usually accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawks_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hello hatzina

Appreciate you writing and thanks for sharing your great stay experience. With regards to car parking, our parks are located within the Wilson Parking complex with direct access to the hotel located on level 5. Our rate of $30 per 24 hours allows multiple entry and exit and is a special rate we've negotiated with the parking company - their rates start at $18 per hour, they do however offer a range of other special rates but with entry and exit terms and conditions.

Thanks again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Recently stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment at Mantra on Russell. The suite was spacious, comfortable, provided a kitchen with oven a laundry with washer/dryer and ironing board. dining room table, lounge suite, two TVs, stereo, study desk, queen bed, plenty of cupboard space and good bathroom with bench space and shower over bath.
For the same price we have paid for pokey little hotel rooms, this was a real treat for a weekend away. You could easily stay here for a longer time, and self-cater some meals etc in the good kitchen. Room to entertain visitors, a nice pool, and friendly efficient staff and service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi Kangachick

Thanks for taking the time to write and share your recent stay experience - at 66 square metres for a one bedroom apartment and 88 square metres for a two bedroom they do provide ample room for most guest living requirements and indeed very popular with those requiring an extended stay.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a good property with an excellent location. My studio suite was clean and bright with plenty of room. The mattress and pillows made for two very good nights sleep.
My only criticism is that pool towels were not provided and I had to return to my room to collect a towel. The breakfast buffet offered all of the usual choices.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi TheDollar

Thanks for the great review - if you are ever in need of additional towels our team are always available to deliver them to you, either to your room or the pool area - because we have 4 additional residential floors who share our pool and gym facilities we are unable to provide a supply of towels at poolside.

Thanks and Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,138 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,083 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $123 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. Maintenance Notice: Maintenance work will be carried out on the sauna from 11 December until 22 December 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing