We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious city digs”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Recently stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment at Mantra on Russell. The suite was spacious, comfortable, provided a kitchen with oven a laundry with washer/dryer and ironing board. dining room table, lounge suite, two TVs, stereo, study desk, queen bed, plenty of cupboard space and good bathroom with bench space and shower over bath.
For the same price we have paid for pokey little hotel rooms, this was a real treat for a weekend away. You could easily stay here for a longer time, and self-cater some meals etc in the good kitchen. Room to entertain visitors, a nice pool, and friendly efficient staff and service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi Kangachick

Thanks for taking the time to write and share your recent stay experience - at 66 square metres for a one bedroom apartment and 88 square metres for a two bedroom they do provide ample room for most guest living requirements and indeed very popular with those requiring an extended stay.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,264 - 2,270 of 2,595 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a good property with an excellent location. My studio suite was clean and bright with plenty of room. The mattress and pillows made for two very good nights sleep.
My only criticism is that pool towels were not provided and I had to return to my room to collect a towel. The breakfast buffet offered all of the usual choices.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi TheDollar

Thanks for the great review - if you are ever in need of additional towels our team are always available to deliver them to you, either to your room or the pool area - because we have 4 additional residential floors who share our pool and gym facilities we are unable to provide a supply of towels at poolside.

Thanks and Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra in a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights and loved it. It was perfect. Right in the middle of the city, China Town and restaurants and shops at the door, and a view from the balcony on the 16th floor over all of Melbourne. Rather than a small hotel room with windows that don't open, we had a balcony with large glass doors in the living room and large windows in the bedroom that opened if you wished for fresh air. The air conditioning was easily adjustable for whatever change of temperature Melbourne had to offer.The bedroom was comfortable, the lounge and dining room enabled us to spread out and watch TV. The kitchen had everything you needed to prepare food/make tea or coffee if you wanted to. Bathroom is large, and the apartment has a washing machine, dryer and iron and ironing board. It was cleaned each day and the towels and shampoos etc were renewed each day. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and it was the most comfortable and spacious stay we have had in Melbourne and fantastic value for what we paid. I can hardly wait to go back..if I can get the same deal.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our 1 bedroom apartment on the 16th floor overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minoumex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks for the great review Minoumex - as per your post we do offer a range of one and two bedroom apartments which contain all the necessities to ensure a comfortable stay and if you’re inclined to stay in and self-cater we have a great supermarket and food court located just around the corner.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at the Mantra for four nights in February in a one bedroom apartment. While the building is older it is a great location as you could walk down to Flinders St in 12 minutes as well as the shops and lanes in the same time frame. We did not have a problem with the overall cleanliness of the room and this is the main item we are always concerned with when booking. The hotel is older and the decor may be a bit tired but this does not mean it is not cleaned daily. The gym and pool although smaller were adequate for a vacation workout :). The staff at the front desk were proficient in their jobs and although not chatty that is never a concern of ours. Overall we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hello Joe M

We do enjoy a fantastic location here in the centre of the city with all major retailers, some great tourist attractions and Melbourne’s famous tram network all within easy walking distance.

Safe travels home to Dartmouth, Canada

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my partner for Valentines Day. Quite nice, rooms are nice and contain everything you need. It is great how everything is in walking distance. Appriciated the late checkout at lunch time, nice to have a sleep in.

Room Tip: Ask for room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ena_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi ena_12

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and glad to hear you had an enjoyable Valentine’s Day!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The room was filthy I felt grose just standing in the shower, the mini bar is a joke, they didn't deliver our breakfast that we ordered, the bed was like sleeping on cement and we had the lovely view of a car park.. For the same price we recently stayed at the art series hotel and it was fabulous the mantra on the other hand was an absolute joke and wouldn't recommend to a monkey we will never stay there again !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lohrenjade89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hi Lohrenjade89

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us.

We are reviewing with the team your comments and I can assure you this is not consistent with Mantra standards.

Please feel free to contact me directly at anytime on mike.blank@mantra.com.au if you would like to discuss these matters further and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a business trip. Location is quite strategic (being in the middle of Chinatown), very near restos, fast food shops and 24 hour convenience stores. The room is alright, breakfast quite pricey. Not sure if it's just me but I thought everything in the breakfast buffet was a tad bit salty. Served good flat white though!

The kitchen is well equip with conveniences expected from a serviced apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelley_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Hi shelley_75

It was our pleasure to have you stay and thank you for sharing your experience. If passing our way again in the future I recommend asking one of our friendly reception team on check-in about our great prices for advanced purchase of our Breakfast Buffett (we just add it to your account and provides significant savings versus purchasing on the day) - alternatively can I recommend one of our very competitive package deals available online.

Thanks for choosing us and hope we can be of service again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#55 of 161 in Melbourne
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#83 of 161 in Melbourne
1,582 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $128 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mantra On Russell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing