We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #36 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Apartment”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Mantra on Russell, great location, close to everything you could need in the city. 2 bedroom apartment is huge! All the facilities you expect. The front desk staff were all polite and very helpful. Breakfast buffet enough to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ren73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello ren73

Thanks for the fantastic review we do enjoy a great city location - our 2 bedroom apartments at 88 sqm are some of the biggest available! - Appreciate you taking the time to write and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    866
    212
    69
    39
See reviews for
573
687
95
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great position walk to the Comedy theatre, and China town. We had the standard room with a balcony. 2 single beds pushed together to make a queen, ok, reasonably comfy. The balcony was grubby and unfurnished which is a waste of space as it was un appealing to use. The usual small room with a kitchette and seperate bathroom with a slimline bath.
Clean and tidy, but looking tired to me. $397 aud, for a room, breakfast and secure parking on a Saturday night.
One night stay for the convienience is all i could recommend. Perhaps a family may find value for money in a 2 bedroom suite. . There is a pool and friendly reception staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookingfor7stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi Lookingfor7stars

Appreciate you taking the time to write and thanks for the feedback. We do enjoy a great location in the inner city! I've also passed your balcony comment to our maintenance team for inclusion in their programmed works schedule. Thanks also for the "friendly reception staff" comment which I've passed on to our Front Office team.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had a fabulous few days at the Mantra. So local with great restaurants and shopping at your doorstep. Very good, friendly service. Everything was extremely comfortable. I would be happy to stay there again. Can highly recommend the Mantra.

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for writing Lisa M and great to hear you had a "fabulous stay". The team and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eumundi
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

4th time I have stayed this year ,on 17th floor facing russell st with veranda and it was great

close to heaps of restauraunts and even tried a tram for first time in 25 years will be back good car service to and from the airport

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello Bob

Thanks for the great review - we appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experience.

You may not be aware we also have a reward programme in place for regular guests so we look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay sometime in the future!

Thanks Again

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Really dirty, tired rooms.
Had blood on sheets, holes in towels and so much scum on the shower screen you could right your name in it!
The "queen" bed was two singles pushed together which is normally acceptable but these were so bowed they didn't join in the middle.
They changed my room which was better as had a real bed but the carpets were still dirty and rooms tired. Would never stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi SD1973

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and that we failed significantly in the area of Housekeeping.

We are reviewing with the team your comments and I can assure you this is not consistent with Mantra standards.

Please feel free to contact me directly at anytime on mike.blank@mantra.com.au if you would like to discuss these matters further and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Mantra on Russell because it was close to where i had to do business in Melbourne. I was a bit suspicious about this hotel because it is not part of one of these big international hotel chains I am used to. It turned out to be a very pleasant surprise.

My room was in fact a small apartment. It had a separate bedroom with it own flat screen TV, a living room, and a kitchen (cooktop, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine). Very spacious for a hotel in the middle of the CBD. Everything was very comfortable.

The hotel is located in Melbourne's Chinatown. There are many small picturesque streets, bars, and restaurants around. Nearby I discovered a very typical Vietnamese beef noodle soup joint, as well a Malaysian restaurant. Major attractions of Melbourne are within walking distance. I didn't know Melbourne until then. After an hour-walk around the hotel I got to realize how beautiful the Melbourne's city center is. So the location of the hotel is very central. There a train station not far away where you can hop on a train to Melbourne's suburbs, for example some of its beaches.

The hotel gym is just next to the indoor swimming pool. You can watch people swimming while exercising. The gym and swimming pool are enclosed by glass walls. So it very bright and you can see outside. There is an terrace which must be very pleasant when it's warm. Overall a very nice place to exercise and relax.

The hotel staff was very friendly. The buffet breakfast was very standard.

I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello Michael

Thanks for choosing Mantra on Russell - we do have a great city location and offer a range of studio, one and two bedroom apartments. We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Mantra on Russell again last week after some week. Never dissapointing! It might not be the most modern hotel in the cbd - but the fantastic service is worth coming back for. The team at the front desk are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ena_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello ena_12

Great to hear we again delivered to your expectations. We are continuously working with the team to ensure all aspects of your stay experience are top-notch. You'll also be interested to hear that whilst the hotel remains in great condition we do have a full refurbishment planned for mid 2013 which we are very excited about!

Thanks again for writing.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
1,731 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Property: Mantra On Russell
Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing