We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, kitchenette was a bonus.”
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
Ranked #34 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I was staying for a few days, the bed was really comfy, a very quiet room as requested. Very clean and tidy, and the kitchenette was really handy. The place was a great inner-city hotel pretty much the same as most of the Mantras I've stayed at. The location puts it in the middle of the Chinatown area, also with great coffee shops in each of the surrounding side streets. There's a 24 hour diner place across the road, and it's a great place for restaurants. It's also only a ten minute walk to the Melbourne Museum, and not so far from all of the other big attractions. There are supermarkets nearby and it's close enough to the theatre area and the river to walk (if you don't mind a long walk). But there is also transport nearby, every form from tram to bus to train. The airport bus service also drops here of course and the concierge can organise them to pickup as well if you give them enough notice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,251 - 2,257 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is a good hotel, central to ChinaTown and CBD attractions. Staff were generally friendly and our apartment was ideal, although not particularly clean - marks on bathroom door and other spots never cleaned off before and while we were there. We had to ask for the shower door to be fixed and the bathroom basin was starting to get blocked, but these were fixed quickly.
Two major gripes - windows are not double-glazed so street noise can be disturbing (we were on 12th floor), but worse some kind of nightclub produced an annoying beat from 11pm until 5am keeping most of us awake. This really needs to be addressed. Also there is no late check-out available for those in apartments, despite my sister having a terrible migraine and my elderly mother needinga room for four extra hours- they had to sit in the hallway. We would have paid for the use of the apartment until we needed to check out at 3pm - not an option.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExSplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Dear ExSplorer,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I have reviewed together with my team to refine how we ensure that all of our guests have fantastic stay.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and the friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We (family of 3) stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. (1 br full kitchen + studio room). Excellent value $296pn booked direct by phone with hotel. Was pleasantly surprised to be given the dual key - 2 bathrooms, 3 TV's for three of us!

I had requested a higher level room after reading reports of noise from outside in previous reviews. We were given a room on the 13th floor, which was reasonably quiet most of the night. I could still hear shouting from street below at times & rubbish bins being emptied. We were not there on a friday or saturday night when I imagine noise would be more of an issue.

Rooms were large, modern & clean. Bed was too firm for my liking. Main kitchen was well appointed with a large fridge. Extra cutlery/crockery (only 2 settings) would be better for families, otherwise you need to bring these from the studio room.

The hotel is in a terrific location - walkable to theatres, shops, free city tram & restaurants.

Staff were welcoming & helpful at all times.

Overall a great stay. I would have rated this hotel 5 circles had it not been for the hard bed & noise issues. It's a shame this hotel doesn't have double glazed windows. (and softer beds!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMLGM, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear Mikey36,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
Given our location we are at times subjected to the street noise, however as our accommodation starts from the 6th floor this helps with any noise concerns. In regards to your mattress, we are in the process of replacing the majority and should have most replaced by the end of the year.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Kind Regards
Regan Shawcross
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Easy to find, street parking for arrival but have dollar coins ready for the metres. Stayed on same floor as pool in nice 2 bed/dual key apartment. Well presented room, great to have 3 flat screens to watch after long day of sight seeing/shopping as this kept all the family happy. Beds okay. Room clean, needed more towels after a visit to the pool. These were delivered in lightning speed after a quick call to house keeping. We stayed on a Friday & Saturday night & found we got little sleep on the first night due to constantly banging doors. This went on until at least 2am, must have dosed off after that so cant be sure. It was either neighboring apartments or a steady stream of people using the pool which should have been closed from 9pm. If this was the case perhaps management could lock the area allowing which may have fixed the constant banging doors problem. The Saturday night was a lot quieter. Very handy location, walked all over from there. Caught the free loop tram to get to Docklands & DFO & easy access to china town with a great Woolworths nearby. The parking was pricey at $30 but at least seemed really secure. Would be great place to stay if you got a bargain but we paid what I thought was a lot at $430 per night. Would have been nice to have some view of city but we were on the 6th floor, had a great wrap around balcony but not furnished so could only stand on & only looking at other tall buildings. Staff were helpful & friendly at all times.

Room Tip: Don't stay on same level as pool, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trellios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Visited Mantra 2 years ago , the staff were friendly and the hotel was centrally located giving great access to bars clubs reastaurants shopping etc in Melbourne however the room was very average to poor , very small , the bathroom wasnt roomy enough and the beds werent very comfortable , apart from the staff and location it wasnt to my liking .

The most liked of all in Mantra was the pool which was fantastic , we visited in autumn - winter and the pool was large and heated with a sufficient training room and great sauna , the spa which adjoins the pool is large and access to it at night is somewhat easy even if its late (if ur up for a naughty late night swim )

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Embrace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Dear Embrace01,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I have reviewed together with my team to ensure that we mitigate some of the issues you experienced.
I do apologise that you were negatively impacted during your stay and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to show you the fantastic hotel and friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were lucky enough to get the Mantra on Russell as a Mystery Hotel and felt very lucky. We were put into a one room apartment which was luxurious, clean and very roomy. Bathroom was large and the shampoos etc were high quality, I had a great bubble bath. We walked out off our feet and did plan on eating out but decided to order room service. Because we had an apartment, we had a very nice dining room and it was like eating in our own private dining room. Food was great too and we had a romantic evening in. Location is reat - convenient to everything. We will be returning when we get the chance.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORALGABLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed @ Mantra on Russell for a weekend getaway (we live in the outer suburbs of Melbourne). We booked via wotif and service on arrival was great. Simple and with a smile. We arrived in our single bedroom apartment which was well presented, fairly modern and both clean and comfortable. The room was also quiet which was great because we both needed some well deserved sleep.

We actually came from work, leaving the car there and taking the train in - arriving at Melbourne Central and walking to the hotel from there. It was only a few minute stroll from the station. We found ourselves visiting QV nearby and Melbourne Central a few times during the weekend for food and supplies as the apartment had everything you needed to be comfortable + more! The bed was fairly comfortable, but I would have liked a king option (being a 6ft+ guy). Mantra on Russell is mostly central in the city which was good - though my wife and I have no problems walking the city - we went to Crown towers Gold class cinemas and wandered around our beloved Melbourne city. We slept in on the Saturday and stayed in the room most of the day, so we used the do not disturb sign which was observed by cleaning staff - though we received a phone call to ask whether we needed anything. As we didn't essentially we were not disturbed the entire time we stayed there (except for the polite phone call). It was a gloomy Melbourne weekend, but we made the most of it, only venturing out for food and a few (indoor) attractions. We almost took advantage of room service as the price was reasonable, but opted for a walk to QV instead.

We stayed Friday and Saturday night and checkout on Sunday was simple - hand in your keys and confirm no mini-bar purchases and off we went. It was great to arrive and leave without fuss and every time we came and went to and from the lobby during the weekend we were always greeted with a smile and a friendly hello.

It's not flash or fancy, but its certainly not drab. It's comfortable and I'd certainly consider staying again - or recommending it to anyone that is interested in visiting the beautiful City of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixfootscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,132 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
2,025 reviews
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#58 of 161 in Melbourne
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $131 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service. Undercover parking is available at a cost. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing