We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #47 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We were so impressed with this hotel from the moment we stepped in the lobby. It's a beautiful heritage building with gorgeous bars and restaurants surrounding the lobby area, which is stunning as you walk in the door. The Merchant restaurant which is attached to the hotel is fantastic, you must try it.

The location is fantastic and central. The rooms were spacious and had everything you could want. Our only two slight remarks would be the room was quite warm, even though we turned the thermostat right down, it kept it at a fairly warm temperature and also, no wireless. Being from Canada but living in Australia now it's so hard to understand why Australia is so far behind in offering this service to guests. Even the most inexpensive hotels offer this throughout Canada. Other than that, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,015 - 2,021 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

Paid over $1000 to stay in their top room for our anniversary. Locked out of room 5 times. Couldn't use pool. Room dirty. Cleaner walked in unannounced. Woken at 6am by alarm. Disappointing

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garyp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Lovely refurbished old building. At the quieter end of Collins so a nice location.

But we were put in a room which adjoined another room. The other room had young squealy girls staying in who had obviously had a boost night on the town. They may as well have been in our room for the noise heard through the locked door between our rooms was awful so much that I requested a room change at 1am. Thankfully they obliged and we moved rooms and all our belongings in our pajamas. Now although they were happy to move us there was no apology or anything to make up for the problem.

Also we had a swim in the pool. It is gorgeous up there on the top floor but it seemed the cleaner had forgotten about the window ledge between the pool and external window because it was littered with dead flies, bandaids, hair elastics and hair. Really guests shouldn't leave these things there in the first place but the hotel really must clean it up if they do.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinedeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

My sister and I stayed her for 1 night in July with our 2 little girls and it was something we were looking forward to very much.
We arrived a little early and were told our room would be ready shortly, which we thought was great, and just to go and have a coffee until we were called.
When we got to our room we realised it had 2 single beds, even though we booked a room with 2 double beds. It was also confirmed on arrival and also that there was 4 of us staying???
Anyway we let them know and after quite a while we were told the room type we booked was not available for some reason and they would have to try and figure something out.
So we were in limbo but we had a show to go to in the afternoon so we just left our bags and headed off for a couple of hours. Reception told us we would be upgraded to a "suite" when we got back so we told our girls and we were pleased that they had done that for us.
When we got back and into our "suite" we realised it was just the room that we originally booked. There was no explanation at all. We were tired so we just settled into our room and got on with it.
That night at about 11.30 I could hear a lot of noise outside our room and then some people fiddling with our door lock. I started to get nervous especially as we had 2 little girls with us.
Some rather intoxicated people managed to use their key to enter the room , turn on our lights and walk over to our beds. They were so loud they could not hear me screaming at them to get out of our room.
Once they realised what had happened, they apologised and quickly got out. I could hear them saying they had the right room number but were on the wrong floor. They were laughing saying "How could our key open someone else's door?" I wondered the same thing.
Anyway after numerous calls the next day to the manager to talk to him about what happened we were fobbed off until checking out, when he came to speak to us to verify what had happened. He did know about it as the people who came into our room spoke to him the next morning about it. I wondered why not 1 person had apologised to us before now.
After a lot of disscussion he stated that "We must have left our door open!" That's when I started to get a little angry. We were told if we ever were coming to Melbourne again just to give them a ring and we would be compensated with a lovely room.
Well I have since rang 3 times and left 3 messages with reception to speak to the on duty manager, and explained exactly what it was about and no-one has ever bothered to call me back.
During our stay our keys failed to work 2 times also and had to get new ones.
I really liked the feel of this hotel and breakfast was lovely but I won't be staying again.

Kat

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank katwallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Truly an impressive hotel, with an excellent service - minded crew.Surely great food,nice structure with a wonderful look. Good one for business meetings.Rooms are fine, totally a worthy hotel for stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JibinJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Check in was great, welcome smiles and took our bags to the room even though we turned up 11am and check in wasnt until 2pm. All down hill from there, we had a king room overlooking the atrium, only one bathrobe & no bath in a king room ($300+ per night) [--] A late finishing wedding party ensured the noise reverberated thoughout the hotel until after midnight which was hardly pleasant. The following day after returning from our day out we enter our 5 star hotel room and find it has not been made up, a call to reception to inform them doesn't even draw an apology - pathetic service to say the least. Upon checkout I check the bill & find I have been over charged for tram tickets, icing on the cake - don't bother staying here unless you want to be left feeling like you have been ripped off!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bmac56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were really friendly. The hotel is located in a historic building and has been beautifully finished. There is a great pool and sauna on the top floor. The only issue we had was that the room was a bit too hot at night, and we weren't able to open the windows into the atrium.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTraveller000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,028 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,828 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,460 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
891 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $141 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing