We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fantastic hotel in a beautifully refurbished historical building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #28 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, NZ
1 review
“Fantastic hotel in a beautifully refurbished historical building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were really friendly. The hotel is located in a historic building and has been beautifully finished. There is a great pool and sauna on the top floor. The only issue we had was that the room was a bit too hot at night, and we weren't able to open the windows into the atrium.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZTraveller000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    512
    181
    61
    29
See reviews for
227
793
122
551
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
169 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

The Intercontinental at Rialto is a standard corporate hotel. Rooms are comfortable and the service is that impersonal corporate style that is a bit lacking in soul. Location is not at the best end of Collins Street for restaurants, but is close to the convention centre and the casino. There is nothing much to complain about but nothing to delight either.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Ever since I read about the refurbushment of this hotel in 2008, I thought that I would like to try it out. As a perennial Hyatt and Hilton stayer, I had little previous opportunity to try Rialto. Anyway, we needed to come to Melbourne for the weekend, and we thought we would give it a try. We booked a King Deluxe room. The rate was over AUD300.

Arrival was fine, although there is no front of house area to park the car while you check in - you have to find a park on the street. Check in was fine, although there was no offer to take our bags to our room. The hotel is a refurbished building built in 1891. I'm no architect, but some of the refurbishing left much to be desired. Like the many different floor levels - I had to be careful not to trip when transitioning from one level to another - some of the changes in level are very subtle, and at the same time manoeuvre my luggage up and down steps (not many ramps - I'd hate it if I was in a wheel chair).

The room. Not any bigger than most rooms we have stayed in (36m2). It seems many of the rooms look into a covered atrium, so the natural light wasn't good - no street noise though (and at least there was low probablility of morning sun penetrating the black out curtains). The bathroom was narrow, but had a very large, room length surface to place your things (joy - please take note other hotels). The make up mirror with built in light was a good touch. Then our disappointment. No bath. Should have read the room descriptions. A King Premium room for about AUD65 extra (granted, it's a bigger room) gets the bath. Still for a AUD300+ per night room, you would think a bath would be included (I love a good soak). On the positive side, the shower was nice with two options, a wall mounted hand held spray or an overhead rainfall feature. That didn't make up for the lack of bath though. Next, no slippers (OK, full disclosure, I have a thing for them). We had read that part of the room description - but they seemed to have gone for a walk in (and out of) our room. The bed was very comfortable though (as opposed to the last hotel we stayed at, with a memory foam topper pad which we sort of sunk into and had to fight the memory if you change sleeping position). Next - no toothbrush. We often dispense with travelling with these as most hotels have them supplied (well, maybe not the Werribee Soffitel - that should have been a lesson to us). Rialto? Nothing either, although on calling concierge, a toothbrush was duly sent up. Next - no free wifi or internet connection. Hello. AUD300+ per night and you want us to pay $30 daily rate for a connection? The reason why there is a 24 hours McDonalds across the road became chrystal clear. And if you read the hotel web site, it says "Wireless data connection *Initial fee $0". No explanation about what the "*" was all about. No matter, this is surely misleading, and a bit of a show stopper in my view.

While we're on the topic of excessive charges, you would have wondered what happened to our car while we were checking in. Well, we had a 1 hour parking spot, so that was no problem. On check in, we were advised that valet parking was available at AUD50 per night. No thanks. I'm sure the valet chap is very nice, but at most hotels we have stayed at, this is never any more than $20-$30 (sometime free). As it turned out street parking was free after 6:00 (IIRC), and free (IIRC) on Sunday. It reminded me of a restaurant in Sydney that has valet type parking, which is free if you have a meal there, but otherwise $50 an hour. You gotta love the world of choices, don't you?

Well, that's it. Small things, I know, but irritating, nevertheless, especially when considered in light of what is on offer by the competition. This was a pretty ordinary stay in what they themselves say is "one of the city’s leading world-class hotels". World class? I don't think so (have you tried the Connaught London, Park Hyatt Tokyo or George V in Paris?). Well, guys, I have to say that if given the choice, at these rates, and with these amenities, I will be staying at one of the other leading world class hotels in the city from now on.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BS
Level Contributor
229 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Even this hotel is refurbished and looks very good and is now named Intercontinental 5***** it is not worth to stay compared to the costs and what you get as service.
I was IHG Priority Club Ambassador and a platinum card holder. They have the regulation NOT to give access to these kind of frequent guests. This is very upnormal in this hotel.
They have not service attitude and due to this reason I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mba4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

In the very competitive Melbourne hotel scene, the Intercontinental is ahead of the rest like so many Intercontinentals around the world.
The first impression upon arrival was of professional staff perfectly groomed and trained, particularly the very impressive Lance.
This impression carried on through to our beautifully appointed room with five star toiletries as well.
The architecture here is stunning in a modern hotel converted to capture the best of an iconic Melbourne heritage building.
I thoroughly recommend spending a little more and enjoying the club lounge with inclusions that make it well worth your while.
Looking down internally over the superb Alluvial restaurant is another architectural highlight.
Thanks again to a wonderful hotel whose staff made a thoroughly enjoyable stay really memorable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whereisjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
424 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

I’ve visited the Intercontinental Melbourne twice previously, and although I very much enjoyed my stay on both occasions I had found the staff did not go the ‘extra mile’ which sets hotels in its class apart. However on my most recent visit I’m very pleased to say my expectations were surpassed.

Pros:
- The hotel and its rooms are very well appointed and finished to a high quality contemporary standard. The bed is exceptionally comfortable as are the pillows.
- The service at the Intercontinental Club Lounge is the best I have experienced; evening canapés are of a good standard, and the staff are very attentive.
- As an IC Ambassador Club member I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to an Iconic Suite. At 123 sqm it’s a great size, with large lounge with office area, including separate washroom off the lounge, large bedroom, very large bathroom with separate shower and bath (both with jets), and walk-in wardrobe – and 3 LCD TVs in all. I’d highly recommend it for a spot of luxury or that special occasion.
- The typical InterContinental touches (e.g. one-button for "instant service" on the phone, Elemis toiletries, Bose DVD/CD Player with iPod dock, the next day's weather report on your pillow).

Cons:
- The view: the majority of the guest rooms only have an indoors view of the hotel lobby - and whilst pleasant - the drawback is they receive little natural light. A number of the premium rooms overlook Collins Street, however there really isn’t much of an outlook. I do however believe the hotel makes up for it in other ways.
- The turndown service is on request only; rather trivial but bothersome for a good 5-star.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Only had time for a quick break so a city stay overnight at the Intercontinental. Check in was smooth and reception staff very friendly and efficient. Room a bit on the small side but quiet and clean and a great shower. Breakfast was a strange experience - restaurant manager asked us to wait despite a large number of empty (and set) tables and he was a little abrupt. Food was good and plentiful though. Had a nice time but it isn't in my top Melbourne hotel experiences.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nairina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,821 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing