We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #43 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Only had time for a quick break so a city stay overnight at the Intercontinental. Check in was smooth and reception staff very friendly and efficient. Room a bit on the small side but quiet and clean and a great shower. Breakfast was a strange experience - restaurant manager asked us to wait despite a large number of empty (and set) tables and he was a little abrupt. Food was good and plentiful though. Had a nice time but it isn't in my top Melbourne hotel experiences.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nairina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,981 - 1,987 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

A superb centally located hotel with a very modern take. It has a very high level of furnishing. The room was of a reasonable size for one but might present a challenge for more people. As with most hotels, there are various room options and for longer stays you should ensure you are satisfied with your allocation. There are many outstanding bars, restaurants and clubs within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We were smiling all weekend long and had an amazing stay. The people were incredibly nice and the hotel was beautiful. We enjoyed the giant bath and giant bed and ate at several amazing restaurants that were just down the road. I can't remember a more enjoyable hotel stay anywhere else in the world. Incredible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miccafrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Best place to stay in melbourne

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Visited Melbourne over the weekend of my 30th birthday. My husband had previously stayed here and loved it but wasn't sure if I would like the masculine decor and style of the hotel. We decided to give it a go anyway and booked a Club Room. Check in was a breeze and service was great, however there was no one to assist with carrying the bags from the taxi to check in and we had to wait for assistance at the door. We were initially checked into a room on the third floor facing Collins Street - which was a double-edged sword! The room was great, however the sound-proofing poor and we could hear everything that happened on ground level perfectly. If you have a problem with noise I would recommend requesting a room elsewhere in the building, as the tramline down the street and the passing traffic made this room seem somewhat less perfect than what it could have been. We requested a change to a quieter room, which proved to be much better. The bed and pillows were soft and we had a great nights sleep. Room for improvement though would be the Instant Service service, which was a little less than instant - we had to call several times in order to receive confirmation that changing rooms was okay. The Club Lounge was handy - we had breakfast on both days here, as well as an afternoon and pre-dinner drinks. The service was fantastic and the food good for a lounge. We also had drinks in the bar which was also great (I got the impression though that it would be better during the week, when more business travellers were likely to be around as the bar kind of needed more people in it to really give it a great atmosphere). And despite my husbands reservations I loved the decor - particularly when the atrium area (above the lobby and restaurants and bar) was lit up at night. Overall I would definitely stay here again - if you are travelling for business and have the budget I would also have no hesitations in recommending this hotel to you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladidoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This was our first stay at the Rialto and I couldn’t fault the hotel. We had 3 nights in a King room that was quite, clean and nicely appointed.
We had diner one night in the restaurant and it was one of the nicest “hotel restaurant” meals I have had in a long while.
We found the reception staff and concierge very helpful and friendly and the location is perfect for most things in Melbourne.
We used the free city circle tram a few times, walked into the CBD and walked to Etihad Stadium for an Aussie Rules match.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne who likes a little luxury and likes to be close to everything

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_the_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This hotel exemplifies the fusion of old and new that Melbourne does so well!
Room was small but beautifully appointed with french doors and balcony looking over bar, restaurant and foyer. Bed was very comfortable and outside noise non-existent. Staff were attentive and a call for a bucket of ice was delivered in almost record time.
Valet parking was efficient and friendly upon arrival although the car is parked securely off-site. When my husband required an item from our car the staff member was attentive and pleasant whilst he accompanied him to retreive it (only a 2 min walk away from the hotel). Check in was friendly, simple and efficeint. Just the way it should be.
A quick dip in the pool the morning after our arrival impressed with cleanliness and facilities.
Two small negatives were evident the day we checked out:
1. 1/2 hour wait for breakfast as restaurant was completly full. (it was a long weekend and very busy). Staff were to be commended as they retained their composure and professionalism during a very hectic morning.
2. 20 min delay in valet parking having car ready due to mass exodus from hotel at end of long weekend (surprisingly checkout was still very quick and friendly).
Overall I loved this hotel. It has recently been refurbished and it's clever architecure, modern australian colours and clever use of natural materials is gorgeous - no floral chintz to be found anywhere :)
I adored our little balcony where we sat and had a quiet pre-dinner drink and "people watched". Be aware that this can have the reverse effect and if you leave your xurtaons open people can see into your room due to how the rooms face into an atrium style "laneway" and I loved how the lighting throughout the hotel reflected the time of day stating with red for sunrise, yellow for the middle of the day a beautiful blue hue for night. Despite a couple of small glitches I can't wait to stay at this hotel again as I believe it epitomises modern Melbourne.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gidgey-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,630 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,737 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
8,169 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,328 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $171 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing