We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Hotel”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd time staying here and will definitely come back again, the staff are very helpful and the facilities are excellent. The location is ideal situated near the town centre and within easy reach of the airport also.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nhshifty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Nhshifty73,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the hotel and you found my colleagues to be helpful.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    554
    194
    63
    36
See reviews for
243
844
129
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stay in this hotel on a regular basis for work. I find the staff very accomodating (e.g. late check in). The rooms are decent in size and clean. It's got no charm and is a business place but it does the job: comfortable bed and quiet The curtains auto open/close functionality didn't work but that's ok you can still close them. Continental Breakfast is nice

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphaele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Raphaele N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you find the hotel to meet all your needs whilst you are staying in Melbourne.

I would welcome you to visit our history display next to the Merchant restaurant next time you stay. It has some wonderful information about the beginnings of the Winfield and The Rialto buildings in which we are now housed. I hope that it might show you some of the old world charm that our buildings have. It’s important to us that you feel at home when you stay and this may help you feel more connected to your destination.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I always stay at an Intercontinental where possible, as an Ambassador member the service is second to none, the rooms are spacious and well appointed.
The staff are always on hand and ready to help at the drop of a hat, I have stayed here many times and will do every time I visit Melbourne.
Recommended

Room Tip: A senior suite is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaidetraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Adelaidetraveller21,

As an InterContinental Hotel and Resorts Ambassador Member thank you for taking the opportunity to share your kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you find that my colleagues are always willing to assist you and are on hand for your requests. It is important to us that we make your stay as comfortable as possible.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the InterContinental Rialto for 3 nights. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the lovely Clifford until the time we left and were farewelled by Clifford you could not wipe the smiles off our faces. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Michael from Boston and Kostas are a credit to this hotel and we appreciated their friendly banter and tips on what to do and see.
Our rooms were lovely and the bedding was extremely comfortable.
The architecture of this building is amazing and we all loved the mix of the old and new.
InterContinental Rialto, you have won my heart.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Owner at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Leigh H,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your kind review on Trip Advisor,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad that you had the opportunity to meet Cliff. He is certainly a great asset to our team and I will be sure to recognise him for his efforts.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

What a beautiful, stunning hotel. Five stars all the way.

Perfect service from all staff and the rooms are beautiful and every need thought of. The hotel exterior and interior is amazing and you can feel the history.

Room was large and well furnished. The shower was amazing. Did not eat at hotel so cannot comment on that but imagine it was delish.

The staff cannot do enough for you and the location is great. Yes it is going to cost you more than other hotels to stay here, but sometimes it is worth it to treat yourself and experience luxury.

By far the best hotel I have ever stayed in Melbourne. STUNNING!!


Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sydneysider1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Sydneysider1000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I am glad that my colleagues made you feel as if nothing was too much trouble.

I hope on your next visit to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
544 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The architecture of this building is quirky and interesting. However the service...from the moment you wander into the motel, the service is outstanding. The staff, the room, the dining area... there is nothing one could find fault with. NOT that I was looking! I often join conferences at the Saxon's building across from this and I have always wondered what this hotel was like. So , satisfying my curiosity I booked into it. After experiencing it's unparalled service, I will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystalline4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Crystalline4u,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share the kind feedback from your recent stay with us at the hotel.

I am so delighted to hear that after wondering what the hotel was like for some time you choose to stay with us. I hope that your conference was successful and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a one night stay in this lovely hotel while in Melbourne recently. The staff were polite, courteous and helpful. The room was lovely and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom had all the complimentary items you could wish for and was a good size. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was superb! Lovely place to stay and well positioned. There were leisure facilities available but we didn't have time to use them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Lynne L,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with me.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found my colleagues to be polite, courteous and helpful. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast in the restaurant and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,245 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,459 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
771 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing