We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #34 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed one night. It was lovely. The softest and most decadent bed. Shower was wonderful. Staff were attentive. My only criticism was that there was NO BUTTER available during the breakfast buffet. I was told that they don't stock butter....ummmm a lot of people were looking for butter instead of meadowlea spread! Also there was some dishes left out side rooms when we checked in and they were still there the next day (4pm check in and 11 am check out)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reculvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reculvers

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share the kind feedback on your recent stay with us.
I note your disappointment relating to the missing butter on our breakfast buffet. We do offer butter as an alternative to margarine however it is located in the refrigerated section so ensure it is kept at an optimum temperature. Be sure to ask one my food and beverage colleagues next time you stay with us, they will be more than happy to assist. It is important to us that you have all your requirements for an enjoyable breakfast experience with us.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    548
    192
    63
    35
See reviews for
241
836
128
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week for business. Had to wait till afternoon to check in, as hotel was running at full occupancy, but was offered access to the pool deck for a shower / freshen-up.
Breakfast quality was good but range limited .
Echo sentiments from previous reviewers on the day shades / heavy night drapes that have to be kept drawn shut as rooms across the courtyard can look directly into yours.
Concierge service is fantastic - efficient and polite . front desk helpful.
Location is excellent for access to CBD, MCEC and Crown complex.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank superdin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Superdin0,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your feedback of your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to note that you found the services provided by my colleagues at the front desk and concierge to be efficient and helpful.

I hope that on your next visit to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed for one night, and this hotel is worthy of its 5 star rating. Very friendly service, helpful and cheerful. The rooms were outstanding and beds very comfortable. Only one disappointment, at breakfast only margarine instead of butter, BUTTER IS BETTER!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilw193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Thebiggestcheese,
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your kind review. I was delighted to note that you found the service my colleagues provided friendly and helpful, I will be sure to share this feedback with the team. I note your disappointment regarding the butter at breakfast, we do offer butter as an alternative to margarine however it is located in the refrigerated section. Be sure to ask one my food and beverage colleagues next time you stay with us, they will be more than happy to assist. It is important to us that you have all your requirements for an enjoyable breakfast experience and you are right, butter is better!

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have been staying at the Intercontinental for business for over a year now and I just wanted to express how professional and friendly all the staff are in particular Kishor where nothing is too much trouble. My check in is always quick and professional and the hotel is first class and in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Phil H,

Thank you for taking the time to share you kind review with me. I am delighted to hear that you've enjoyed your recent stays with us and found my colleagues professional and friendly. It’s something that our staff take great pride in, so we value your feedback. We are certainly lucky to have Kishor as part of the team and I will be sure to recognise him for his efforts and making you feel welcome. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I am a seasoned traveller usually staying at 5-star properties. This one should be rated 2 or 3-stars (at best) and that's mostly because of the excellent concierge service. Most of the problems are intrinsic to the design of the building and rooms.The rooms are all facing a central atrium which even on the brightest of days brings little light into the room. More importantly, there is no privacy since each room face another a mere 50 yards away and there are no sheer curtains so one must keep the heavy drapes closed at all times. The room is arranged poorly with the TV at 90 degrees to the bed. It can’t be pulled out and the angle adjusted. The WiFi bandwidth is woefully inadequate, i.e. very slow connections to the web. The gym is under-resourced with only 3 treadmills, 1 elliptical, 1 bicycle and a few universal stations – making waits inevitable. The dining room service was slow despite being only a few diners present on a Monday evening and the food was mediocre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobvigersk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Bobvigersk,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations during your recent stay. Your feedback is of great importance to us and will allow us to monitor and improve our services and facilities in the future.

I was happy to note that the services provided by our concierge team were excellent and I will be sure to pass on your comments to them personally.

I hope that in the future we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in a premium king room which was elegant and spacious, with high ceilings, quality appointments, impressive desk, button driven curtains and much more. We were greeted at the door by Cliff, who made you feel welcome like no-where before. He exuded class and professionalism, friendliness and grace. This continued with every member of staff being there when you needed, always willing to help. Check in was streamlined, quick, simple, and professional. If your lucky, your restaurant experience at the Alluvial will allow you to meet Ash who is friendly and knows his stuff. A great experience on all levels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear gr1234,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and in particular the service provided by Cliff and Ash. I will be sure to share your feedback with them personally.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

First I stayed 3 nights in this historic type hotel. I was so impressed I came back to another 2 stays while visiting Melbourne. It was the best service I have ever had in a large city hotel.
Check in - wonderful. Ash in dining room - wonderful. My family and I had made a difficult request in the dining room and the staff there were very, very accommodating and we were very impressed.
Facility was very clean and modern within a historic building which made it even more attracitive.
The gym / pool area was up on 10th floor with wonderful views out to the ocean.
The beds were soooooo comfortable.
Room very lovely.
Breakfast really tasty.
I will certainly stay in the hotel again when in Melbourne

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Mary B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback. I am delighted to note that Ash in the restaurant was able to provide you with exception service. I will be sure to share this feedback with him personally.

I hope on your next visit back to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,840 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing