We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #37 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel made my husband and I feel like a king and queen. From the very funny and informative doorman Cliff, to the staff in the club lounge. Nothing was to much trouble for any of them. The building is heritage and rustic but the furnishings are modern and beautiful. We stayed in a junior suite which was huge. Great bathroom. TV in the mirror of the bathroom so you can lay in the spa bath and watch a movie. My husband commented that if he owned a hotel he would pilfer Cliff the doorman and make sure he payed him well so he wouldn't lose him.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a junior club suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpalRodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear OpalRodger,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us.

Cliff is certainly one in a million and we are very lucky to have him as part of our team. I will ensure that your kind feedback is passed onto him. I know he will be thrilled.

I hope that on your next trip to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershuasen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    567
    196
    64
    39
See reviews for
252
855
129
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The stay was very good especially thanks to the very nice service and attentiveness of Kishor. He is very focussed and knows what the guests want and like and has his eyes everywhere. He really makes the difference. The food and drinks in the Club lounge has improved a lot and we enjoyed the Club lounge very much.

Room Tip: 514 with two queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Andreas K,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

We are certainty lucky to have a colleague like Kishor as part of the team and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to him.

I hope on your next visit to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

While the hotel is lovely, there were a couple of things that let it down from being a total 5 star experience. My husband and I recently stayed at the Rialto for 3 nights in a deluxe room on the 5th floor. On our arrival on Thursday afternoon, I noticed a dirty wine glass on the floor outside our room and sadly when we checked out on Sunday morning it was still there! How many staff - cleaners, engineers, valet etc. had all walked past it and no one thought it was their job to remove it? Our room was also not fully restocked each day, appears tea bags and toiletries were rationed. The reception staff were efficient and the concierge exceptional! Our bathroom flooded on our second night and this was attended to very quickly. Our king sized bed appeared to be just 2 singles, pushed together, not terribly comfortable, but the choice of pillows was very welcomed. We enjoyed our breakfast and the location of the hotel, but, perhaps for the money would look to other options next time in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room that does not face internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear VickiP,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations during your stay especially in relation to the cleanliness of our corridors. Your review will be used to consider improvements and I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Having stayed on a weekly basis for the past 18 months, Melbourne IC The Rialto has been almost a second home to me. The staff is always very welcoming and warm, before and after I was a Platinum Ambassador.

Kishor Narayanamurthi, the Manager has been so helpful, professional and very reliable. He is always quick and willing to help me with my room reservations, making all my stay in Melbourne so comfortable, and worry free. I cannot thank him enough for all the help he has provided to date. I can always rely on Kishor.

Even the doorman, Cliff is always so warm, helpful and welcoming. Even our driver sing praises about him. It’s such a pleasure to walk out of the hotel in the morning, to greet and have a chat with Cliff.

The reception staff and the concierge have been very welcoming and helpful as well.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. Great room service, continuous replenishment of water bottles & fruits, turn down service, Nespresso machines, gym etc.

Overall, the atmosphere of the hotel is so warm and welcoming. Thank you very much to all the staff, especially Kishor for making my stays so comfortable, it’s like a home away from home. I will definitely come back and also recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cass L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear CassL,

As an Platinum Ambassador I thank you for your loyalty to the InterContinental Hotels and Resorts Brand and in particular, our hotel.

Myself and the team always enjoy welcoming you back and I am glad to hear that you find my colleagues welcoming and helpful. We are certainly delighted to have both Cliff and Kishor as part of our team and I will be sure to share your complimentary feedback with them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

It is definitely interesting property
Well restored and architecturally rather good example of adaptation of old into the new.
Place is trying hard to live to the expectations, but when Ambassador floor to which i was upgraded have small tired rooms,with badly designed bathrooms (with blocked sink - which was fixed promptly i must say) and big TV on the wrong wall, small cupboard with sliding doors doing what sliding doors doing so well - not sliding smoothly, its a difficult task.
Good concierge service, helpful and courteous. Front desk - lots to desire. Small foyer, having few people make it crowded.
I would not normally write about price but charging those days $25 a day for wireless is a bit steep in may opinion
Average city hotel.

Room Tip: look for an alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerzybrodzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear jerzybrodzki,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share feedback on your recent stay with us.
I am very sorry to hear that that the service you received from our Front Desk was less than satisfactory. I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you further and have messaged you my details.

I would also like to take the opportunity to let you know that from 2014 all our IHG Reward Club members will be eligible to access free Internet within the hotel. The best part is that it’s free to join.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our most recent trip to Melbourne. The front desk and concierge people here were wonderful. They went that extra mile to help you and point you in the right direction. They knew who you were, which is a nice touch. The room was lovely and the children had a ball here.
The location is perfect we walked to just about everywhere we wanted to go. I personally think this hotel has it all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Megan h,

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto and thank you for sharing your kind feedback with me.

I will be sure to pass this information onto our Front Desk and Concierge teams and I hope sometime in the near future we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Intercontinental The Rialto Melbourne in a Deluxe room and was extremely impressed.

This is a great, historic property that has been given a contemporary make over but still has that classic charm. The room was bright and welcoming and contained all the mod cons: large flat screen TV, Bose sound system and automated curtain operation (loved). The bathroom was spacious and well appointed.

The king size bed was quite comfortable, though a little firmer than the cloud-like mattresses that you come to expect at a property of this standard. Bedding was of a very high standard.

The location is quite central to the CBD, close to the Bourke street shopping mall, some great cafés and a short stroll to Southbank.

The service was professional, particularly on arrival. A little average on departure.

Shame that I had such a busy work schedule and couldn't enjoy it more. Absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5cott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear 5cott,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with me.

I was a disappointed that your departure experience did not meet our usual 5-star standards however, I was relieved that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

I hope that next time you are in Melbourne we might have the opportunity to host you for a leisure visit so that you have the opportunity to enjoy the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing