We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon luxury in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #43 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had researched all the Melbourne hotels prior to our wedding day in the hope of finding an exceptional treat for the two nights before we flew out on our honeymoon. The Intercontinental delivered in spades! The building itself sets an impressive scene and we were lucky enough to stay in done of the 'turrets' overlooking Collins street. From the staff at the front desk on our arrival to the Chief Concierge James, our stay was impeccable not to mention the most comfortable bed we have probably ever slept in! Room service was prompt, hot and of five star quality and delivered with a smile.
Perfect for a city escape with International appeal.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Signature Suite which looks over Collins Street, it was excellent, - the Senior Sui...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear guygeezer,

Firstly congratulations on your nuptuils and thank you for taking the time to share your kind review.
I am delighted to hear that we were able to make your wedding night a special one and I hope that we have the opportunity to celebrate your 1 year wedding anniversary with you as well!

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before and it really is an amazing experience. We had a few problems with our booking on checking in, but this was sorted out quickly. My husband is an Ambassador member so we stay at the IHG brand were ever possible. It was a lovely touch to get a drink voucher for the Rialto bar.

The staff really do seem to be professional and enjoy what they do. We had a double twin with access to the Club Intercontinental. The staff in there were very helpful, our children were made to feel welcome and comfortable too. It maybe a bit formal for younger children as it really is a relaxation area away from the noise and hustle and bustle of Melbourne. Pre dinner drinks and canapés were really tasty and brought out by the chef.

The breakfast has so many options and even has fruit skewers which I thought was a wonderful touch for the children.

This hotels location is great. But, what really makes it is the understated elegance and service. I can't wait to come back to Melbourne just to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear JanieG,

As a valued Ambassador to the InterContinental Hotels and Resorts Brand thank you for taking the time to share your kind review.

I was delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and that your children enjoyed the breakfast fruit skewers!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this exceptional hotel for 3 nights & my friend & I were thoroughly impressed with the outstanding service that we received.

We had an Intercontinental Club Room & it was very well appointed, with everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

The sumptuous buffet breakfast was one of the best I have experienced & the Club Lounge was absolutely fabulous. We especially enjoyed the pre- dinner drinks and canapés.

Our beds were unbelievably comfortable & just what we needed after an exhausting day of shopping.

This hotel is well located on Collins St, close to many trendy bars and first class restaurants.

The staff were all amazing. Of particular note were Kishor Narayanamurthi, the charming Welsh doorman, Lily & the other ladies in the Club Lounge who were attentive to our needs and made our stay so memorable.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for value for money & a first class hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear WorldTraveller2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

I am glad that you took the opportunity to utilised our exclusive club lounge and took the time to enjoy the pre-dinner drinks and canapés after a big day of shopping.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne and the hotel again soon

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Loved this hotel. Location, rooms, service & breakfast to die for. Not often you find a place you can make your own fresh juice & plenty of Chou e for food as well. Late night eats were also able to be had in bar near reception. Nice ambience & pleasant staff. Room was large & all amenities provided.
Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: King executive room the way to go.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz_Perth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Liz_Perth_WA,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your most recent stay with us.

As a recent addition to our breakfast buffet I am delighted to hear that your enjoyed the fresh juice bar.

I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a fantastic way to spend an afternoon with friends! We were soon sipping on an Espresso Martini, YUM! Then out came the food, delicious sandwiches, followed by hot savouries, the feta and olive muffins were to die for. A mango sorbet palate cleanser, before scones, vanilla panna cotta, chocolate macadamia slice, pavlova and pistachio macaroon yum yum! The Cafe Freddo was delicious as was the Cafe Latte. Saskia talked us through each each of our different courses, what a delight she was! I can't wait for my next visit to Melbourne to go back again. I'm happy to recommend this experence to family and friends. Thank you Saskia and InterContinental for such a lovely afternoon

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear ChristineA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of your recent High Coffee experience.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the delicious food on offer and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

On a mission for must needed catch up; we were warmly welcomed as we stepped into the cozy atmosphere of the Market Bar. My friend mentioned she had ordered us a High Coffee?! (a new take on an old favorite, High Tea) We were soon sipping on coffee martinis - cheers! The afternoon feast was off to a great start. Thoroughly enjoyed the sandwiches, hot savory selection, yummy mango palate cleanser sorbet, scones with delicious jams (loved the pear and vanilla) a cafe freddo followed by a gorgeous selection of desserts followed by the choice of tea or coffee.
A great afternoon out, friendly service + the waitress was happy to cater for my allergies. (which isn't always the case.)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katosh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Katosh22,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review on your high coffee experience in Market Lane Bar.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience and your coffee Martinis!

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you and your friend back for high coffee again soon.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As I type this I am laid in a luxurious room with all mod cons and a well stocked mini bar to boot. But.... Outside my window it sounds like a footy stadium and it is well past midnight and the staff just don't care.

The design of this hotel is a flaw, with rooms facing inward to a bar and function area. With only thin glass in the floor to ceiling window, the noise is horrific from below from the many functions and drunk bar patrons this hotel seems to tolerate.

The duty managers are dreadful when you raise a compliant. I had a two and a half hour battle with two inept duty managers who did nothing but patronise and condescend - even get aggressive - whilst achieving nothing. The Footy stadium noise went on from before ten until way after midnight despite several complaints, and the staff were just hostile or robotic when dealing with the complaint. Drunk noisy people are paying customers too, so they win over the remaining guests.

This is priced as a premium hotel but I have had a more comfortable a respectful stay across the road at The Oaks.

Do yourself a favour if you want a decent stay, and don't come here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carcharodon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Carcharodon33,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations on this day especially with the service received from my colleagues. As we consistently continue to monitor and improve the service we deliver to our guests your feedback, both positive and negative, will help us for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,630 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,737 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
8,168 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,328 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $171 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing