We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

A relaxing stay with professional staff. Quality service and personal attention which added to the feeling of money well spent. Friendly, classy atmosphere with well equipped rooms. Rooms facing the central area can be noisy due to a lack of sound proof glass.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Divermin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was relaxing and that you found the hotels atmosphere friendly.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel some time soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    554
    196
    63
    36
See reviews for
246
845
129
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

A. It disappointed with stay. Whilst some staff very nice it did not have the oomph of some other Intercontinentals and places stayed in Tasmania. Check in initially ok- we were a bit early and told they would phone when room ready. Did not do this and allocated what seemed a very small and out of the way disabled room ( though did take bags there). As gold club members expected at least to be consulted. Concierge good and restaurant ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darwintravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Darwintravellor,

Thank you for taking the time share your valuable feedback as an IHG Gold Club Rewards Member.

I am disappointed to note the difficulties which you experienced during your stay with us and I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your feedback further. I have sent you my personal contact details and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baranduda, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel.

The best bits about this hotel; the service, the location (close to spencer st, flinders st, etihad stadium, shopping, restaurants, etc), the options for food & drinks within the hotel, the beds (divine!!) & the impressive styling, appearance & facilities of the hotel.

Although still excellent in our eyes, we would have liked a bath and shower in our room (not a big deal - we did not request). And the rooms are not huge, but it's what you get when staying in a historic building.

Loved it! Would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Shans82,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am delighted to hear that the location of the hotel was convenient for you and that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

As Platinum Ambassadors living out of town, we have made this ICH our occasional city base. While it is quite expensive, in the quieter, southern part of Mebourne CBD and lacks views, we do enjoy the room upgrade, consistently good service and late checkout. We book a club room and get an upgrade to one of their better club rooms in the front of the building; usually they allocate us the same one, as we have previously expressed our satisfaction with it.
Our stay in August was typically good. We travelled as a couple. Staff were professional, although this time we did not feel the personal approach. In fact, the room was set up and turned down for a single occupant. It was not available until 4.30 pm due to the late check-out policy, a relatively minor matter as we agreed to pass the time having afternoon tea in the club lounge. Although they are proud of their coffee machine's versatility, it does not make a good coffee.
This place seems geared for the professional client, and does this well. It offers good service, but sometimes lacks the wow factor that many other Intercontinentals offer for this price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgeso3809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear georgeso51,

As a valued Platinum Ambassador we appreciate the time taken to share your review and I am pleased to note that you enjoy the ongoing benefits of your Ambassador membership.

I am disappointed to note that you did not feel the usually personal approach on this visit and I will be sure to share this feedback with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a very nice, new, clean and classy hotel. It had a great feel and the staff was wonderful. The location is good, the ones on the river are more convenient to that night life but the Intercontinental is a very short walk in the city to a lot of the cooler alley ways and Restaurants. They have a fairly good spa, it's really more of a small day spa run by another company in the hotel but it was a nice small setup with good service (no steam, sauna type setup, just massage/facial/nails...). The breakfast was great, and the wine bar in the middle of the atrium lobby was really cool and fun. There is a server there named Saskia (I remember her well, super cute and named after Rembrandt's wife) who was really wonderful. She recommended good wine flights, provided perfect service, was endearingly friendly and warm... people like that make a hotel. Btw, we started at the Langham in Melbourne based on reviews but moved here, it was a much nicer experience. The Langham is not bad, but the Intercontinental is really nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear txzaza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed Saskia’s warm and friendly nature and I will be sure to share this feedback with her.

I hope on your next trip to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Travelled to Melbourne to catch up with famly. Stayed one night. Have been here before and the service was consistent. Staff are friendly, rooms very comfortable. Enjoyed a lovely buffet breakfast and an afternoon snack in the wine lounge. Great club sandwich! Location wise it is not as convenient as some of the other five star hotels in the "Paris" end of Collins Street where we also stay. Also some of the nearby streets are not those you would walk alone at night. However taxis are not that expensive and there is a tram stop nearby. Looking forward to oming back and seeing what the club room will be like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Jana195,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you found your room very comfortable and the hotel staff friendly.

I hope that on your next visit to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in start of July 2013. It was my wife's first trip to Melbourne in 7 years and it was a good decision to stay there. Great and friendly service. The guys at the entrance were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zaib-Naeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Frankf,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with me and I am pleased to hear that you found our Front Desk staff extremely helpful and efficient.

Thank you also for sharing your observations of the Valet Service and I will be sure to share these with the team.

I hope in the future we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,260 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing