We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Melbourne Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #25 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Melbourne Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Rooms are well appointed, our room was spacious + bed and pillows very comfortable. Bathroom a bit small but shower and amenities very good. All staff very friendly, helpful and professional. Nothing was too much trouble. Buffet breakfast has a variety of choices with eggs made to order. Only downside, we requested daily newspaper which we didn't receive. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the corridor which was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita-Marie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Rita-Marie Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with your newspaper and will raise this with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    495
    174
    59
    28
See reviews for
218
779
120
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boyne Island, QLD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Was located centrally for us, we went to SeaWorld (walking distance), and caught a taxi up to the eating district, close to many shops. Had a lovely time. Windows faced inwards, pretty. Unfortunately I couldnt sit out there though, all sealed off. Lovely view. Enjoyed the Spa/Sauna/heated pool in the evenings, had a lovely view of the city from the top

Room Tip: if you want a view of the city, gotta ask for it. Half the rooms enjoy a view of the inside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russian_Jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Russian_Jag,

Thank you for sharing your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately due to health and safety regulations not all our rooms have balcony access, however when booking an executive room you may request one with access and we will do our best to accommodate this subject to availability. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed another night of blissful rest at The Intercontinental. Loved the new touch of an email sent several days prior to my arrival giving details of the hotel, how to get there and general information including a very handy weather forecast for the duration of the booking

Room was spotless as always, staff very welcoming, room service prompt and delivered with a smile and my dinner was so so tasty!

Plenty of desk space to work from, quality toiletries in the bathroom and sumptuous pillows and bed. Always a good night's sleep

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Mades66,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your kind review. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was a second stay at the IC Melbourne. We were upgraded to the Ambassador Level on the 9th Floor - the view is OK but the balcony doors are locked so can't take full advantage. We received complimentary fruit and newspaper and late check as per Ambassador membership. The breakfast was nothing special and found the service lacking. Enjoyed drinks in the bar but again the service wasn't quite as professional as my previous visit. Was surprised by how nice the roof top pool and spa were- often find indoor pools too chlorinated. The area is lovely with a timber deck and good quality pool lounges. Had the area to myself and really enjoyed the swim on a cold, wet Melbourne day. Overall a good experience, recommended location and will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthOperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear PerthOperator,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next year. Due to health and safety regulations not all our rooms have balcony access, however when booking an executive room you may request one with access and we will do our best to accommodate this subject to availability.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a great few days in Melbourne last week at the Intercon. Good location, quiet hotel. The concierge was awesome recommending us places to eat and drink. Spa on site was amazing. Love the coloured lights on the inside of the hotel changing colour all night

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor on the Rialto side facing inwards, was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuyWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear TravelGuyWgtn,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Check-In at the IC was swift, courteous, polite and our vehicle was whisked away for their valet parking at $50 per night - which seems quite steep to me. Especially when there is no self-parking option available. There is a distinct lack of on-street parking in the immediate area and the nearby parking garages do not seem much less expensive with confusing pricing structures. The Crown Casino is about 10 minutes walk and you could park there for about $15 per night.


We initially booked a "Club Room" and were upgraded at check-in to a "Premier Club Room" due to my Ambassador Status. This room was very large and very nice with a decent Coffee Machine and huge windows looking out onto the street. There was a bit of noise from the street due to this however. I did note that there was an entire "Ambassador Level" in the other tower and I wondered what I was missing! The hotel itself is a beautiful old heritage listed building.


We had to prompt them for some Ambassador benefits such as complimentary mineral water and fruit plate to be provided in the room which really shouldn't be up to me to do in a hotel of this calibre. It should be automatic. However, we made use of the late check-out until 4pm despite having our key disabled during the day of check-out necessitating a trip to reception. We were given a "gift" glass of quality red wine in the bar but strangely the voucher was only for 1 when there was 2 of us staying. No matter. Wireless Internet Connection was later discovered to be complimentary for Ambassadors however, I was not informed at check-in of this fact.


The breakfast in the Club was excellent, albeit not as extensive in choices as the buffet downstairs. Eggs were cooked to order and the Benedict was very good! Minor complaint being that the club lounges and low tables were quite difficult to comfortably eat in and so we went to the full buffet downstairs the following day where there are proper tables.


The Club for pre-dinner drinks and nibbles starting at 5.30pm was excellent and the service was pretty good. They seem to prefer that they serve you at the table rather than helping yourself which is the go at the Adelaide IC. One thing I will say is that there is no BUNDABERG RUM available in the Club. I found this very strange and the rum supplied was simply undrinkable. This should definitely be rectified! On a positive note the tasting plate was excellent - much better than IC Adelaide. I found the staff in the Club to be quite friendly and courteous also.


All in All, I think that this hotel is truly 5 star, in a very good location with a nice heated indoor pool and spa. The staff I encountered were all friendly and helpful which is sadly uncommon these days in some hotels. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach8um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Beach8um,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take full advantage of your Ambassador privileges. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay. The hotel is really beautiful. Our room was very comfy and well appointed and service was of a very high standard throughout the hotel.

The buffet breakfast was amazing the first day but the second morning it was a bit busy (by no means at capacity) and as a result the quality suffered significantly with food running out and the omelettes taking longer etc. Still enjoyable.

Our room was no ready when we arrived and it was about 45 minutes after the stated check in time before we were allowed to check in, we were provided with drink vouchers to compensate for this however it was still a little frustrating.

The biggest disappointment however was the lack of ambassador benefits that were offered. First and foremost I did not receive my guaranteed room upgrade. I had purchased a king deluxe room and was told at check in that they could not give me an upgrade this time. There was no actual explanation offered for this and I was quite disappointed. Furthermore I did not receive many of the other promised ambassador inclusions. There was no fresh fruit provided on my arrival, no gift provided in the room, no newspaper delivered daily. The ambassador perks extended to free wifi and late checkout (neither of which I needed). This was very annoying and I am awaiting a response from the hotel regarding this as I feel like the ambassador membership basically provided me with nothing.

The hotel is a little bit on the outskirts of the touristy parts of the cbd, however this was definitely known when booking so no surprises there. Otherwise the hotel was fine, however ambassador members please be advised that, based on my experience, not many of your membership benefits (if any) will be honored at this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonSydney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Simon H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very sorry to hear you do not feel you received your Ambassador benefits and would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with you further if the issue has not yet been resolved. I have sent you my personal contact details and look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,325 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,619 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#27 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing