We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They actually look after you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #34 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“They actually look after you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Well what can I say - when booking I prepaid for a great deal and then had to change my travel plans, so I stayed one less night. In my experience hotels usually tell you "tough luck", but not this hotel - they gave me the value as a credit! Now that is service. Quiet hotel, nice breakfast and good pillows

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiekiwi_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear aussiekiwi_boy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    546
    191
    63
    35
See reviews for
241
834
128
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My partner Stewart and I recently stayed at the Intercontinental, our first choice of a getaway in our home town. I initially checked in before my partner & after a bit of a bumpy start with our room not being ready I was warmly welcomed back by Kishor, he always manages to make our stays very enjoyable and relaxing, being on hand to take care of any need we may have. The room that we stayed in was on the 5th floor, was very spacious & comfortable and the bath was divine. I also enjoyed a swim in the pool & time in the sauna which was very awesome, I didn't want to leave lol
The staff in the club lounge were very attentive, warm & friendly, always smiling & ready to help us in any way they could. The club is a good place to just sit back & rest, a good environment & loved the idea of the tables & chairs outside on the landing, it was really nice sitting out there where we could enjoy the view of the hotel, lights and the sculptures are a new touch that were delightful.
It is always nice to be welcomed by staff and to have them know who we are and to personally welcome us back : ) Overall we had a really good stay and we look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable, some of the rooms on the west side have internal balcony's t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear LRollo,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stay at the hotel often on business and would not stay anywhere else. The staff are freindly and greet me like a friend (not surprising the amount of times I stay)
The rooms are an adequate size unless you upgarde and then the room/suites are really spacious. I agree with previous comments about position of the TV - it is Ok if you want to sit in bed........but does not really lend itself to the rest of the room where you normally would sit.
Few gripes is that the WiFi is truely aweful and never works, you might connect, but forget trying to do anything with it - along with every other hotel in Australia the charges for use of the useless WiFi is simply a rip off. I would have thought they would have had this covered since the reno was (fairly) recent. I have never parttaken in breakfast although I must say the mushroom soup with truffle oil is outstanding, Rialto Burger - very average, Club sandwich - very good.
The hotel is at the Dockland end of town so can be away from "the action" at night but the trams sop outside, so getting anywhere is easy and cheap and of course there are always the taxis - be prepared for the moans if you jump in an say "The Casino" - they have usually queued for an hour and its a 5 minute ride, so they moan for the whole of the trip !!
Overall a great and friendly hotel, recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davethepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear davethepom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and you will be pleased to know we have just improved our internet, having installed hubs in every room and doubling our bandwidth. From the first of July it will also be free for IHG Rewards Club Gold and Platinum Elite members. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed on points this time - great experience at checkin - smaller room but still had everything in it we wanted.

Was upsold to Club access which is good =- but not sure if we got the full benefit from it.

Used the pool which was great - and had a nightcap in the Market Bar.

The Bar was full and lots of people were coming in from there nights out - but the bar still insisted on closing at midnight - i would have thought as long as the spend was meeting the cost of the wages (even at penalty and overtime rates) keep it open

I will return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank our001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear our001,

Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to experience Market Lane Bar. In consideration of all our guests, we close the bar at midnight not to disturb those in rooms closest as I’m sure you can understand. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in a Junior Suite for two nights. Exactly what you'd expect from a 5 star property. Nice, large room with good space for desk and sofa. The hotel lobby has a nice feel. Breakfast was included, and was typical hotel buffet. Staff were extremely helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McPatterstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear McPatterstein,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

On a business trip to Melbourne and stayed 3 nights at the Intercontinental. Overall excellent experience. The rooms are spacious, outside balcony on the atrium and spotless. Nice building with character. Perfect location on Collins Str.

Room Tip: Book a room with the outside balcony on the right wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pberckma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear pberckma,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I thank you for taking the time to share your review. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the minute we arrived the service and accommodation were outstanding! The building is beautifully historic and within walking distance of the major shopping area, China Town, CBD, casino area and tram stations. The room was comfortable, even with a roll out! The pool and sauna were good, and the Club Lounge was excellent. Aaron, our concierge, was helpful, knowledgeable, and funny... Appealing to our senses of humour and happy to oblige any wishes (such as birthday muffins with candle at breakfast!). I will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty_kat_65_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Kitty_kat_65_17,

Thank you for sharing your review and may I wish you a belated happy birthday! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,159 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing