We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #47 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Hotel has an ambiance which is truly impressive and is further complimented by its staff at all levels of service. They always had a ready smile. The Breakfasts were absolutely sumptuous and the Restaurants were equally impressive, The attention to detail in all aspects of service further complimented our very memorable 5 night stay. We will most definitely return and also recommend The Intercontinental to our friends.
Thank you

George and Lola

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Geolola,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful review, in particular your lovely comments about the hotel team, I will be sure to share these kind words with them.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,770 - 1,776 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

Despite being a last minute booking, all the staff - from the doorman to reception, to cleaners, to the restaurant staff were professional and polite.
The facilities were immaculate and the extra care the staff took to recognise our special visit was thoroughly appreciated.
Before I had been, I may have been sceptical about the level of service but now that I have been there, they are a cut above the rest.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Veronica S,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your kind review. It warmed my heart to read that you had such a wonderful stay and we were able to help make your occasion so special.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel is like a home away from home. All the staff from the door to the reception to the bars and breakfast made us feel truly welcome. Nothing was too much effort, breakfast was delicious and the staff were extremely attentive, and remembered us each morning. The rooms are spacious and well appointed.

We have traveled extensively through out the world staying at many 5 star properties and this is certainly one of the very best.

There is no other option when staying in Melbourne cant wait to return.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Jennifer B,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your very kind review. It made me so happy to read that you enjoyed your visit so much, that you felt so very welcome and that you rate us among the best hotels that you have visited!
Please be assured that I will share your great feedback with the hotel team too.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The intercontinental Rialto of Melbourne is a wonderful hotel. The staff is so friendly, especially the 2 James concierges. The rooms are roomy enough to move around and are super quiet even though we were on the first floor. The breakfast is lovely and the servers could not do enough for us. The location is amazing, smack in the middle of downtown on beautiful Collins street. We would love to return to this hotel given the opportunity to visit Melbourne again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank jekPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear jekPgh,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful review. I was particularly pleased to read your lovely comments about the hotel team, in particular the Concierge team - I will be sure to share these kind words with them too.
We hope to welcome you back to Melbourne, and to the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

What a fantastic stay. Everything from the front door inwards was top notch to me. The design and layout of the restaurant and the whole hotel itself was artistic, modern and packed with character. If work is paying again next time ill be back in a heart beat! =) Good breakfast, mild cleanliness issues ie dust on the shower head and all over the safe etc.

Room Tip: Room on 4th floor was faultless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Caglargurkan,
Thank you for sharing with me your thoughts on your recent stay.
Thank you also for your feedback on the dust on your shower head and the in room safe, I will be sure to share this feedback with the relevant department head.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

The bar is excellent. I personally prefer downstairs. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caglargurkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Dan J,
Thank you for sharing with me your review, I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, BlueStone Wine Lounge and Market Lane Bar.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just spent 3 wonderful nights at this hotel in a king club room.

The weekend started when the bellman opened our taxi door and welcomed us by name. The concierge recommended the merchant restaurant attached to the hotel for our lunch.

The staff in the club lounge were so professional we did not want to leave and finally when I left my wedding ring in the room housekeeping pulled out all stops to find it for me when I called from the taxi when returning for it.

Looking forward to our next stay

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Wayne J,
Thank you for sharing with me your wonderful review. I was so happy to read that you had such a lovely stay with us and you enjoyed your time in the Club InterContinental Lounge. I am also glad that we were able to assist you so when you left your wedding ring in the room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,030 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,828 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,462 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
892 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $141 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing