We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #43 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

The bar is excellent. I personally prefer downstairs. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caglargurkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Dan J,
Thank you for sharing with me your review, I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, BlueStone Wine Lounge and Market Lane Bar.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,161)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,729 - 1,735 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just spent 3 wonderful nights at this hotel in a king club room.

The weekend started when the bellman opened our taxi door and welcomed us by name. The concierge recommended the merchant restaurant attached to the hotel for our lunch.

The staff in the club lounge were so professional we did not want to leave and finally when I left my wedding ring in the room housekeeping pulled out all stops to find it for me when I called from the taxi when returning for it.

Looking forward to our next stay

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Wayne J,
Thank you for sharing with me your wonderful review. I was so happy to read that you had such a lovely stay with us and you enjoyed your time in the Club InterContinental Lounge. I am also glad that we were able to assist you so when you left your wedding ring in the room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for our 21st wedding anniversary,and and a great time.the service was friendly and professional.We received a complimentary bottle of champagne which was a nice touch.Location was great,as was breakfast.Would definitely reccommend.Wish i could recall the receptionists name as she was so friendly and helpful.bumped into her next morning at breakfast-she remembered our names and the fact it was our anniversary.She enquired about our stay etc which made us feel special.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear Dee330,

Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful review, and may I take this chance to wish you a very happy 21st wedding anniversary!
I will be sure to pass on your great feedback regarding the front office team, I am so glad to read that the team helped to make your stay so special.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I love staying at this hotel when I visit Melbourne for business. It's in a great, central location, in a lovely heritage building. The welcome at reception is warm and friendly, the rooms are comfortably and stylishly appointed, with Elemis toiletries in the bathrooms. Room service is punctual and accurate, with a complimentary newspaper in the morning. This place ticks all the boxes, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fmfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Fmfloyd,
Thank you for sharing with me your wonderful and thorough review. I was so happy to read that you have enjoyed all the the aspects of your previous stays with us so much.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here last weekend and really enjoyed our stay despite a couple of minor issues. I identified myself as an Ambassador member at check in and was provided with the fruit platter (2 apples and a tangerine on a saucer) and the water but was not given an upgrade.

We stayed in the Club Lounge which has a nice ambience, especially at evening drinks, however the supplies were not replenished quickly enough. Often there was very little food available. Quite a few times I had to ask and the staff were always very polite and attended to this immediately (the food was very nice) but having to ask for food to be put out and no offers for coffee refills or having to search for staff to get eggs made at breakfast is something I assume is not the norm, going by previous reviews.

These minor issues aside, the hotel is in a good location, the room and bathroom was very nice with a great, comfy bed and housekeeping can't be faulted. The concierge was very nice and all in all I'll definitely be coming back next time I'm in Melbourne

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Lillias,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your review. Although I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, I was disheartened to read that you experiences some minor issues.
Please be assured that whenever possible our valued InterContinental Ambassador guests will be provided with a room upgrade, however during exceptionally busy time we may not have a room to upgrade members to, and I believe this was the case during your recent stay.
Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience in the Club InterContinental Lounge was less than perfect and please be assured that I will share this feedback with my relevant department heads.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, and the team and I look forward to providing you with the seamless and instinctive five star service that we aim to deliver to all of our guests.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

i just want to express how amazing the IC rialto was the last 2 weeks, my mum and dad who are in their 80s came to Melbourne to experience the Anzac day AFL game and chose the IC as the preferred hotel, my mum is very much 5 star. They have both stayed in amazing hotels all over the world and have nothing but praise for the IC Rialto. My mum who is very fussy said to me today as i was dropping her off at the airport that it was the best hotel experience in her life and thats saying something, trust me! the lounge was fantastic in particular Amy and all the staff absolutely amazing. i can not thank them enough as with elderly parents you worry, however i need not have as they were looked after soooooo well and i can not recommend the Intercontinental Rialto Melbourne highly enough when planning a trip to Melbourne.

it also has one of the best gyms i have seen in a hotel and the pool area is magnificent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DG67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel has it all. I was traveling on business and was impressed with all the services. The restaurant was fantastic for both brunch and dinner. The club lounge is always such a treat. The head Concierge (James?) knows anything and everything. Met a fellow Macedonian porter as well. He ensured my stay was perfect. So much so that I applied for a job the day of checkout! Sad to say I didn't get the job, but boy oh boy I will be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and request a room closer to the elevators. We got the last room and it is a long walk!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear Nathan C,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your glowing review, I will be sure to share your feedback with James and the Concierge team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,632 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 160 in Melbourne
1,981 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,173 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
4,330 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $170 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing