We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish interContinental Hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish interContinental Hotel with a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and really liked the style and design of this hotel as well as the location.
I was in town to attend a trades how, which took place in the convention center.even though there are closer hotels this was just perfect. It was only a 15 minute walk and had the advantage, that it was on the busy Collins street, close to some nice bars, right next to the Rialto Towers and therefore next to a great restaurant "Vue de Monde". Also as I don't Like to stay in. Use hotels such as the Crown with it's casino,this hotel was a comfortable place, from which you weren't too far away.

The Club lounge staff were very friendly and delivered a great and efficient service during my breakfast visits. I didn't check out the evening drinks and snacks as I was out, but I'm sure they would have been great too.

I must say, since InterContinenta took over this property it has developed itself into a great place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck050877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear ck050877,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your thoughtful and enthusiastic review. I was so happy to read of your wonderful experience during your recent stay and that you had such a special experience in the Club InterContinental Lounge.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    554
    196
    63
    36
See reviews for
245
845
129
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Booked the hotel last minute, tried to book online but had an error regarding the IATA code on the web. Tried to book direct with the hotel but no one answered the phone. Eventually got through and was put through I assume to the US. Never received a confirmation email. Arrived at the hotel to be told the rate which included breakfast was for 1 person, not according to the website that I looked at. This was eventually sorted and the receptionist apologised for keeping us waiting. Went out for a few hours, came back to turn the TV on to watch the news, no remote. After waiting more than 20 mins went for a swim. Came back, still no remote called reception was informed they would send another one up! Went out for dinner, on our way out asked reception to send the remote to our room. Also asked housekeeping to turn down our bed and replenish tea bags, never stayed in a 5 star hotel before that this wasn't an automatic procedure.Came back still no remote, no turn down service and no tea bags. My husband went back to reception and asked again. 20 minutes later he called for the 4th time, was hoping to watch a movie but by the time we eventually got the remote 10.10pm had gone past it. Never had a TV guide in the room. Have stayed in several 5 star CBD hotels and have always had fantastic experiences, would rate this hotel as 3 star. Today was a better experience, breakfast was excellent and all staff were friendly....shame yesterday left a bad impression.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FifiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear FifiMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me the feedback from your recent stay. I was so disheartened to read that your stay was less than perfect and may I apologise in advance for any inconvenience that you experienced.
I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again and would like you to please contact me directly.
I will message you my email address and I encourage you to please make contact.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

As an Ambassador Club member we had an upgrade to a very large room. Had all the amenities you would expect in this class of hotel.
Due to the construction of the hotel (mostly rooms face into the internal courtyard / reception) you don't actually have a "view". Our room did look to the outside of the building but we were still unable to see the sky.
Bed was very comfortable with good choice of pillows and our room was extremely quiet. Breakfast was on the expensive side at around $44 so we chose not to eat there. Gym and pool were nice. Check in and out was very smooth and all staff very friendly and professional. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear AustraliaKangaroo,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was so happy to read that you had such a wonderful time with us.
I would like to take this opportunity to advise that our full buffet breakfast is $38 per person in Alluvial Restaurant, our main restaurant on the Flinders Lane level of the hotel, and we consider this to be competitive with other five star hotels in Melbourne.
I will still be sure to pass your feedback onto our food and beverage manager for consideration.
The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at the intercontinental Rialto on 10th feb 2012,from the valet parking to the check in staff,buffet breakfast,and the free bottle of wine for my birthday,was totaly the best hotel we have stayed in across the world.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Jane G,
Thank you for sharing with me your wonderful feedback about your recent stay and may I also say happy birthday to you!
The kind words that you shared truly made my day and I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

A romantic weekend, last minute booking. Wow. From the moment we pulled up, all staff were just wonderful. The room was really clever for a multi storey inner city hotel. The bars/restaurants were great, but there are many amazing Melbourne restaurants very close as well. The pool is open til 10 which was an added bonus. Breakfast was something else. You'd think all these five star hotel breakfast buffets would all be good but this one had some lovely touches that made it worth coming back for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavingsoonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear LeavingsoonMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful review. It made me so happy to read that you had such a great romantic stay. We are indeed very lucky to have some wonderful Melbourne restaurants very close to the hotel in addition to the restaurant, bar and wine lounge that we have inside the hotel.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

we stayed at the Intercontinental on 23 December 2011 and had a great experience. Like other intercontinental we have stayed in the service was very efficient and courteous. Whilst a little out of the shopping precinct it was an easy walk to the Bourke Street mall which is close to the geographical centre of shopping in Melbourne. It was also within easy walking distance of the Crown complex and Southbank also. If you are not a walker the location is easily accessible by tram as is the rest of Melbourne City from this location. By the way the breakfast was fantastic and we highly recommend. For work ot pleasure we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear pmh3,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful review. It made me so happy to read that you had such a great experience during your stay in December and that you enjoyed your breakfast in Alluvial Restaurant also.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Intercontinental Rialto a number of times. It has a wonderful feel about it and the staff their make you feel welcome and are helpful with any questions. The rooms that I have stayed in are well layed out, comfortable and technology is good. Whether its business or holidays its well located in the city and you are close to everything. In a day and age that is security conscious I am always surprised that teh Rialto Melbourne does not have card security in their lifts. You walk into the building, walk 15 metres to lift, walk in and push a button to any floor you want. OK I know that thats a bit simple but I have not been into a 5 star hotel in recent years that does not have lift card security. A small warning, if you check in on the weekend they bill your card for the whole amount of the first night and the story goes when you check out they credit this and you pay your whole bill ( this is a weekend thing I am told). They did that to me with the problem being that amount was not credited from my card and the check out total amount is also on my card. They have double dipped. After a number of calls with the hotel they said it was the banks fault and that I would need to dispute the charge with the bank to get the credit. So I have and will need to wait 90 days for the amount to be credited. The hotel agrees I have been charged twice but in the end they flicked all the hard work to me to sort out. Bottom line when you check in on a weekend and they say they will debit your card for the first night expect to be sorting it out with your bank when they say its all too hard. I enjoy having a drink in teh bar just off the lobby but for breakfast I highly recommend The Merchant which is owned by Guy Grossi and is located in the Rialto building, they do great deserts at night and the menu looks excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrumanWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear TrumanWA,
Thank you very much for your review and your honest feedback. As outlined in our previous correspondence, we do sincerely apologise for the difficulties that you have experienced with your credit card. May I also assure you that your feedback has been most valuable to us in assessing our systems.
We have since revised our procedures in light of your experience and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,252 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing