We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Intercontinental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #43 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Yes again Intercontinental has proven itself a true leader in the hotel world.

We stayed in a Club Room for two nights, and it was a wonderful stay. The room was large and very well appointed with huge windows on three walls. One side of the room looked out onto Collins Street, and the other two looked over the hotel entrance, and onto the huge and very impressive atrium. The room was very well designed, with a huge bed, and a large and bright bathroom.

The Club Lounge served excellent evening cocktails and canapés, and this was matched by an equally delicious breakfast. The service from the staff in the Club Lounge was very professional and personable.

The building itself is very impressive, and the architecture gives the place a real sense of character and charm.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRoamingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear FiveStarTraveler1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with me your kind review. I am so glad to read that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our Club InterContinental lounge so much.

I will certainly share your feedback with the team in the Club InterContinental lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,160)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,872 - 1,878 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel rests on the fact that most people don't stay for long - the rooms are nice and the location is good. If you stay longer and you want service you can see that the hotel has become complacent.
The continental breakfast is 32 aud - rip off - and the staff son't recognise you! I had breakast there for 8 days in a row and each time I was asked by the same person if I'd been there before! If you're a long stay guest, every three days you get a free small mineral water bottle and a piece of fruit - something that most (rather cheaper) hotels would do every day. Worse still they push interim bills under your door in the middle of the night, waking you up! Do you get the impression they are just after your money? Internet is not free (again most decent hotels provide this as a matter of course) - 99 dollars for 5 days internet! Don't use the laundry service - it's cheaper to buy new clothes!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank servicechampion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear servicechampion2,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay. I was saddened to read that you did not experience the seamless service levels that we strive to provide our guests with. Please be advised that I will be discussing your comments with the relevant department heads as you did raise some very interesting points.

You may be pleased to know that after guest feedback such as yours we will implement half an hour of free Internet usage in Market Lane Bar per guest per day as of 1/9/11 in addition to the complimentary Internet access provided in the Club InterContinental Lounge.

I was particularly disturbed to read that you weren’t recognized as a long stay guest at the hotel. We are very focused on providing a seamless service delivery and it is highly regrettable that this was not your experience.

Thank you once again for sharing with me your valuable feedback, I would be delighted to discuss your experience with you further in person and should you be retuning to the hotel in the future please do contact me personally. My email address is --------------

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at the Rialto, in a Club King room, it was amazing! The room is huge and has a lounge area and desk also, it is very spacious. The bed is so comfy and the pillows, which are extra long, are so luxurious. We did find the room quite warm at night, even though we stayed in winter & tried turning the air-con to a cooler setting, it was still a bit too warm.
What stood out to us above all things at this hotel is the level of service, it really is outstanding !! The staff are professional as well as being very friendly and approachable, not at all stuffy !
The Club Lounge is great, they serve breakfast, hot & cold, as well as drinks throughout the day and afternoon tea. They also have complimentary drinks & canapes, including wine & spirits in the evening. The hotel is on Collins St and is very central to everything , the trams run up & down right outside the door. Haigh's chocolate store is just outside the entrance too, which was hard to resist when coming back to the hotel after a day out !
Overall, we loved our stay & will definitely be coming back to the Rialto next time we are in Melbourne, which I hope isn't too far away !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear holidayforever

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your review of your recent stay. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your experience in the Club InterContinental lounge as we have recently made some improvements to the food and beverage offering and we wholeheartedly appreciate your feedback. I was also particularly pleased to read your comments regarding the hotel team and I cannot tell you how happy it makes me to read such positive observations.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Had a 'great indoors' package which meant great value for money. Included valet parking, buffet breakfast for 2, and 3 pm checkout next day. We were upgraded from Queensize bed to Kingsize on arrival.
Had late night snack via room service which was of high restaurant quality. Buffet breakfast is one of the best I have had with choice of cooked on spot of eggs any way you wanted, great selection of fresh fruit and bakery items. Been coming to this hotel every few years for last 10 years with no disappointments.
Bed so comfortable and room so quiet we slept in.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade if not offerred. Go for a package to get value for money.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggav1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear Biggav1965

Thank you for taking the time to share with us the feedback about your recent stay. It was great to read that you had such a wonderful stay and thoroughly enjoyed our ‘great indoors’ package. We continually strive for improvement of both our product offering and service so we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to see these improvements.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have just spent two nights at the Intecontinental Melbourne for a weekend with teenage kids to visit the Tutankahmun exhibition. The location of the hotel is great with trams stopping outside the hotel in Collins Street or it is within walking distance of many of Melbournes attractions. As usual with IC hotels the service was excellent. One of the highlights of this hotel is the quality of sleep. It is extremely quiet and the curtains that cover the windows to the internal attrium give total darkness. don't forget to treat yourself to a magnificent buffet breakfast to complete your stay. Thank you to the wonderful staff of the IC Rialto Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_fossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear steve_fossil,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with me your thoughts regarding your recent stay i have taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with the team. Thank you also for the great feedback regarding the quality of sleep and buffet breakfast in Alluvial Restaurant that you enjoyed so much.

The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

It was our second visit to this hotel and even after a few years I must say that the service and hospitality was consistant. It is close to the city, yet not too close. The service was great. The prices were value for money. I would always stay at the Rialto when I visit Melbourne. I would have liked the breakfast included in the price of the room though. I think in that way the customer feels that they are getting more for their money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranjana_ranjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear ranjana_ranjana,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy to read that you found the service in the hotel consistently great as we strive to ensure that guests receive reliably fantastic service from all members of the hotel team and that we also continue to improve. When you next stay please visit our website to view the most favourable rates available. From there you may also select rooms with or without breakfast and also view the various packages we have on offer to enhance your experience which can be great value.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I found the staff extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The room was immaculate and the epitome of 5 star.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear james b,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review of your recent stay. It made me so happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,632 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 160 in Melbourne
1,981 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,168 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
4,330 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $170 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing