We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of booking on Wotif....smallest rooms on the planet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beware of booking on Wotif....smallest rooms on the planet”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

When is a bargain not a bargain - when youy pay $300 bucks for a room smaller than my bathroom at home. In 30 years of business and personal travel, not sure Ive stayed in a smaller room. Dont mind if you advertise as the s"smallest room we have" ... but when you dont - I think thats a little dodgy....So BEWARE the "WEEKEND SPECIAL" because the "stylish room" is far from that. The Hyatt and other 5 stars advertise on wotif and dont play those games...so at least be honest with your advertsiing Intercontinental.!! As for the rest of the hotel, well that just took the shine of everything else.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank cadooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear cadooo,
I was very sad to learn about your dissatisfaction relating to your wotif booking and the room allocated to you at the hotel. I have just visited wotif.com to familiarise myself with the room description used on there and although I do not find this to be misleading at all I have passed your comments on to the marketing team in order for them to review this.

Please do contact me at Joerg.boeckeler@ihg.com so that I may learn more about your booking and try and help find a resolution to your dissatisfaction in this instance.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    554
    194
    63
    36
See reviews for
243
844
129
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Is this the Best Hotel in Melbourne? Well it's certainly up there !! My wife Denise and myself stayed here for 2 nights in a King Club room . The room is fabulous overlooking the courtyard! Love the electric curtains ... Very spacious and well decorated throughout !! We had a Rain shower and a bath !! All the usual extras that you expect from a hotel in this class !! Access to the Club lounge is always a bonus where one can gave breakfast afternoon tea and complimentary drinks and canapes in the evening .The staff as always are exemplary !! We had a superb lunch next door at Guy Grossus latest venture The Merchant !! The hotel is close enough for a stroll to Southbank and all it has to offer there !! A tram just outside will take you "uptown " just 5 mins by tram up Collins street !! All in all a beautiful relaxing 2 nights .. thank you Intercontinental and all the staff

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear 8David,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. I am so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. The whole hotel looks forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto and we will certainly continue to strive to be the best hotel in Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was my 6th stay at the Intercontinental Melborne.

I have always returned becuase of the great service and location of the hotel.

Unfortunatley I feel that this hotel has definately taken a backward step and my expereince since the first time I stayed there was not the same.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy019760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear Jimmy019760,
I am so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. As you have stayed with us 5 times previously you must have enjoyed the hotel in the past and I am saddened to hear that your experience on this stay was different. I would be very grateful if you could please contact me either via direct message or email at Joerg.boeckeler@ihg.com and please elaborate on your experience so that i may better understand.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed here for one night on a work trip to Melbourne. After catching a late flight, I was greeted by a veryfriendly staff member who checked me in quickly, without any fuss. The concierge was most helpful and carried my bags for me. The room was most comfortable and lighting and heating was perfect. the room was spotless and included everything I needed for the night and more. The bed was so comfortable I fell asleep right away and slept soundly right through until morning. This is my favorite hotel in Australia for work travel. Location is great as it's right in the CBD. Can't recommend this place highly enough! I will certainly be staying here for any future visits to Melbourne, be it for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroovyCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear GroovyCaroline,
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. It makes me so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto when you are next in Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Recently stayed at the Rialto and had a wonderful experience. Kishor the Guest Relations Manager could not do enough for us during our stay. He organised gluten free plates for evening canapes and also gluten free bread at breakfast time for me in the club room. Superb hotel with its modern decor, fantastic suites and brilliant staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyInCairnsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear MartyInCairnsOz,
Thank you so much for your kind review. Kishor is indeed an asset to the hotel and helps make the Club Lounge such a special place. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed in a suite which was big and well appointed. That the windows are all internal makes for a dark room.
We had a problem on book in due to the way we had booked on the Internet and ended up having to pay more than we planned for the room.
A hint to others, don't bother with the executive lounge. The seats are really uncomfortable, the food average. Attempting breakfast was a challenge such that on the 2nd morning we went to the restaurant for breakfast.
Nice architecture and good location - we walked to south bank restaurants for lunch and dinner.
I liked the hotel but for our next visit we will try another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betweenmeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed at the Intercontinental for ten days late April and was amazed at the fantastic level of service given by all the staff especially the con-ci-erge and the club room staff. Kishor and Tutu were exemplar for all people working in the hospitality industry.
Great stay. Enjoyed the room and the food also.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyjeanehelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Dear Sandyjeanehelm,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you received such a great level of service from our team. Kishor and Tutu are certainly assets to this hotel and as a matter of fact both have been instrumental in making Club InterContinental a really special place. Please do be assured also that I have thanked them for making your time at the hotel so wonderful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto again soon.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,245 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,458 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
771 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing