We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$120
$95
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$161
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,352)
Filter reviews
2,352 results
Traveler rating
1,347
646
231
80
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,347
646
231
80
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungealluvial restaurantambassador membermarket lanecollins streetjunior suitebeautiful hotelnatural lightrain showerstar hotelheritage buildinghigh teaan upgradevalet parkingbuffet breakfastcrown casinosouthern cross station
Filter
Updating list...
2,102 - 2,107 of 2,352 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2011

fantastic hotel doorman welcomes you just like he should, bags arrived to the room before i even checked in - Fantastic

Staff do care about you which is good - i am not ambassador member - still VIP experiance given

Toilets - drain problems maybe as building converted to the hotel - but rooms very clean

Restaurant fantastic same as location - hotel expensive overall

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILMNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 19, 2011

Dear ILMNB,

Thank you for being so kind as to post your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the fantastic service that we pride ourselves on delivering to all of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto again soon.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Stayed for seven nights and whilst comfortable, it never set the heather on fire.
Lovely spacious room and the Bose sound system was excellent. Bed not as comfortable as others thought but this is a personal thing.
Toiletries excellent quality (Elemis) and shower good.
Internetaccess very expensive!

Room Tip: Buy some chocolates from the shop next door
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 13, 2011

Dear Brigham,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. I am so sorry that you feel that the hotel was pretentious. We strive to be an authentic and yet sophisticated hotel and to also deliver that to our guests through our service. I would be interested to learn from your experience and would like to invite you to contact me personally at joerg.boeckeler@ihg.com so that I may understand more about your experience and what you feel was pretentious. We are very open to learning and developing as a hotel and a team and i look forward to hearing from you on this matter. I am however so glad that you enjoyed the Bose docking station, Elemis products and our fantastic rain fall showers.

Kind Regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Room was comfortable and spacious, staff were always courteous and friendly. Guest relations manager personally delivered a bottle of sparkling wine for us with a card to congratulate us on our anniversary which was a lovely touch. Location was great with a tram just a few metres up the road. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends or family and would definitely stay here again. Breakfast in Alluvial was fantastic also.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeyahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts after your recent stay. I am so glad that we were able to make such a special occasion memorable for you and that you enjoyed Breakfast in Alluvial restaurant also.
We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto in the future.

Kind Regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed at the Rialto for 2 nights last month. On entering the hotel I felt it looked rather like a prison with its interior corridors and lack of natural light.. However, the quality of service more than compensated for my inital negative perception.
The stay was remarkable. The staff, particularly Kisher Narayanamurthi, Guest Relations, made our stay very special and memorable. We expessed an interest in the hotel's bee keeping project and were introduced to the enthusiastic chef, Nick Reade, who told us all about this green initiative.
Apart from the lack of natural daylight in the room, I can not fault my stay and feel that the staff make this hotel special.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at the hotel. The hotel has had quite a colourful history, although not a prison the hotel was once wool and wheat stores during the prosperous times after the gold rush, it the later years it was also used as an artists retreat.
We are so glad that our team was able to share with your their passion for beekeeping and please be assured that both Kishor and Nick will be congratulated for helping to make your stay so special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

Kind Regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Perfectly located and great service. The type of service you don't need to ask for - they seem to know what you need. Great location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joek1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thank you for your feedback and kind words about the service you received in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

Kind Regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews