We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$130
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$87
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$96
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$195
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$290
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveler rating
90
391
468
264
219
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
391
468
264
219
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern cross stationairport busetihad stadiumwould stay againtram stopskybustransport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Don't be fooled by the pictures of the spacious rooms! You need to take the steps, carry your luggage to go in to the hotel, it looked more like a DORMITORY than a hotel, everything is soooo old, the furniture,beds,carpet, dusty curtain.....There is no hair dryer in the bathroom,you have to borrow from the front desk. The fire alarm went off during our stay, fire enginees came and the lady who worked at the front desk said there was a smoke probably due to the wires, no kidding!!! I also asked her about the room service, she said this is a three stars ( more like 1 star ) hotel and there is no room service, but they cleaned it anyway..

Room Tip: No recommendation
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ing18940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Ing18940,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us in July, I was disappointed to see we had fallen short of your expectations on several points.

We have several room types throughout the 1926 built building and whilst some of the rooms are conservative in size there are rooms that offer more space, we have tried to ensure that our photos always have room names paired with them to ensure people come with the appropriate expectations, we apologise if this wasn't the case.

I can confirm that the fire during your stay was caused by a guest smoking in their room and the attendance of the brigade ensured the building was evacuated and then checked for everyone's safety.

Most 3 star economy hotels vary in their offerings and in our case it is correct we do not offer room service, we do have limited food and beverage options available during posted times and these items can be brought back to your room to consume, alternatively our reception can assist in recommending dining options or ordering takeaway.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
41
Reviewed August 20, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Room was just plain old and falling apart! Soon as I walked in I could see patches of the floor with no carpet because it was worn through. The toilet paper roll holder was only just hanging from the wall. I was paranoid it would fall off and I'd be charged for that too. The room was just grubby and unappealing. I spent the night freezing as the dodgy old heater in the window was broken and the bathroom window was fixed open. Would never go near this hotel again! easily the worst shower I'd ever had. I stayed at a hostel the night before and it was like a resort compared to this crap.
It was INSANELY overpriced $167 for that, must be some kind of sick joke.
Also have photos of test tags that were due to be done again over a year ago!

Room Tip: JUST DONT GO THERE. It's a rip off and filthy and there are plenty of cheap hostels around that you'll actually enjoy your stay in
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 887dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear 887dash,

We appreciate you sharing your concerns with your recent stay at the hotel. I apologise that we fell short of your expectations and that there were aspects of the room that were below standard. Should you encounter this in the future I encourage you to contact reception for assistance, they can organise to have the items rectified, assist with a room move, or if you are truly dissatisfied in most circumstances we are more than happy to assist in finding you accommodation elsewhere that is more suited to your needs.

As a point of information the window unit is in fact an air conditioner and the heater is the unit along the wall, a list of these items and how to operate them is found inside the hotel services directory located on the desk in the room. In addition our 24 hour reception are available to assist with instructions or even to provide an extras blanket!


Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

First the pluses -
Excellent location on the Main King Street very near to Tram Station, markets, CBD, Etihad Station.
Neat and clean rooms and bathrooms with in room tea and coffee making facility.
Continental Breakfast is included in the room tariff.
Free Luggage Room facility.

The minuses -
Most rooms do not have a view, they are closed and some of the window panes allow the cold wind to come inside making the already old heating system all the more dysfunctional.
The rooms are not cleaned daily.
The design of room floors is a like a maze. You are sure to get lost in finding your room.
There is no ramp provided at the entrance from King Street to allow elderly, people with heavy luggage to reach the lobby level comfortably.
The floor at several places creaks.

Overall, an okay experience, owing to its good location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask them to give you rooms facing the King Street
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear sumitpant79,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay, we are glad you felt there was value for money and you saw many positives in the hotel. As a point of interest the 9 stairs out the front are graded at a steepness that if we were to provide a ramp it would be an occupational health and safety hazard, and due to the facade being heritage listed we can not alter the entrance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel was well placed for the 5 nights I stayed in Melbourne to attend an event at the conference centre. The room finish was poor but the bed was great, television worked, and the bathroom was large and clean with great water pressure. This hotel is ideal if you are out and about and only return to sleep but if you were going to spend long periods in the rooms you may find the room the lack of view from the windows a bit daunting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youthful_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Youthfull_Heart,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay in one of our Superior rooms. I'm glad you enjoyed the room and found our location convenient to the conference center. We never tire of hearing how great our location is!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews